We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - spa could be improved!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalaia Soldeu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Himalaia Soldeu to your Saves list
Himalaia Soldeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. Canillo Soldeu, s.n, Soldeu AD100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Soldeu
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel - spa could be improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay - this hotel was perfect for our needs. The location is great, (very close to the gondola) and we loved our cosy room. We had breakfast included and it was varied and pretty nice (except the baked beans were always cold - please heat them up!!), The fact that wifi and ski lockers are free (10 euro deposit) is also good and reception staff were friendly.

My only complaint is regarding the spa, for the following reasons:
1. It's ridiculous that you have to pay 2 euros every time you use it - I've never encountered this in a hotel before.
2. The sauna was out of order the whole time we were there.
3. Every time we went it was full of screaming kids who totally ruined the "relaxing environment", running around and leaving the steam room door open - there should be "quiet" signs or someone keeping the kids under control!
4. The payment system is also bad - you pay first at reception and then a lady comes round the spa area asking for your room number to check if you've paid. Again, this defeats the whole relaxation vibe, especially when she opens the door to the steam room (letting all the steam out - it takes ages to get warm again!) demanding to know your room number.

Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to others as it's great value for the price you pay.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and didn't hear any of the noise that other travellers seem to have c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    85
    65
    13
    7
See reviews for
78
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A large group of family and friends stayed at this hotel in February 2014 and had a wonderful time. The hotel is situated about 100m from the ski lifts and feels extremely further in your ski boots. There are a lot of good bars to visit within 100m (Aspen, Fat Alberts, The Harp) to drink and eat at. The staff were, to me, always pleasant and willing to help. Our family room (217) was a very good size and we were able to relax comfortable there. The beds were made every day. We had a couple of problems in the room, the first being condensation on the windows which caused water to fall onto the floor. Also the shower is situated in the middle of the bathroom wall and the protective cover only covered half the bath ending up with lots of sprayed water on the floor to clean after. The restaurant was fine, could be like a stampede at times with trying to find a table. The food was ok at meal times. We found a lot of the cooked food to be just warm. There was about just enough variety for everyones taste. In the bar area at certain times, especially evening meal times, there needed to be more than one person working behind the bar as you could wait as long as 15 minutes to be served. The area in the bar was excellent. They had a variety of sofa's, chairs to sit and chat about the days events. They had a good children's soft play area, amusements and internet facilities. The jacuzzi and steam room were very good place to relax after a long day skiing. Overall, in my mind, this is a good hotel and i would go back. I enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed in the hotel in March while on a ski trip. The hotel's location is great - about 50 m from the ski lifts. All the facilities needed for a ski trip are there, the staff is quite friendly. The big problem was price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went to Andorra and stayed in Hotel Himalaia for a week in January. This is the second time we have been to Andorra and stayed in the same hotel as we loved our holiday last time around.

The hotel was great, the food was ok with a lots of variety but the room unfortunately was not perfect. The window was broken on arrival when we reported it, the hotel handyman put a temporary fix to the window preventing it from opening which was never fixed again even after repeated request to change the room or fix the window.

We also travelled with Neilson. We felt cheated by their hard sale. As this is the 6th week on the slope we were advised to upgrade our ski equipment from GREEN to RED which we did. When we went to the ski hire shop the staff haven't heard about the difference between RED or BLUE ski especially for children. Apparently according to Neilson the RED skies are newer and good. However the RED ski did not look any different from the BLUE which some of our party went with. BEWARE!!!

Overall it was a great ski holiday thou.

Plus: Great Location - close to main gondola, hire shops and pubs; ok food with variety; friendly staff
Minus: Noisy neighbours with no consideration for others and lack of sound proof.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My family and myself stayed at this hotel for a week between 9-16/2/2014
The staff at the front desk were amazing, but their manager was rude and unpleasant.
We were not aware of the fact that you needed a swimming cap in the Jacuzzi. The manageress of the place came over to us and started yelling at us ordering us to get out very impolitely instead of offering us an option to buy a cap at the front desk, or showing any service like attitude.
The food was horrible, very poor tasteless soups every evening in the restaurant. Macarena the waitress was the only ray of light there.
We do not recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just back from a week skiing in Soldeu having stayed at the Himalaia. The hotel is very well kept, ideally located for the ski lifts (as the crow flies) and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Unfortunately three key points spoiled our stay: 1 - Being served raw chicken on one occasion and food on the hotplate being cold every evening despite bringing this to the attention of the staff by submitting a formal written complaint, 2 - Cold showers if you weren't back at the hotel by 4pm, 3 - Noise from the pub below (we were on the 4th floor). In addition to this the Wi-Fi is very intermittent and the trawl through the car park and up the road to the slopes can be a bit of a slog.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Travelled as a couple for 1 week from the 26th Jan and found the Himalaia to be perfect for our weeks skiing. We were the first to check in and were surprised to be given a very large room, patio doors with balcony and mountain view. The room also had a sofa bed and a kitchenette area complete with microwave. Our room was 114 and on the first floor, only downside to this was that our room was directly above the dining room. From 7-10am and then 7-10pm all you can here is scrapping chairs by the diners underneath. Also at the end of the corridor a staircase leads to the back of the Harp and Aspen bars so expect to fall asleep each night to the Irish singing. I didn't sleep well during the holiday so this is the only negative for me.

The breakfast was very good, full English items, toast, omelettes, cereal, fruit

Dinner was ok, always something to have even for fussy people. We ate out on one night at Fat Alberts and it was superb.

Spa area, really just a couple of jacuzzis and a steam room, this was down from our room. In reception it advised there was a small charge but we just walked in on several occasions and were not asked to pay!

Ski lockers are free just £10 deposit, not heated but that didn't bother us. They are £50 to hire at the gondola, hardly seems worth it for the one minute walk with your skis!

Skiing conditions were brilliant and good après ski scene :-)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Himalaia Soldeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalaia Soldeu

Address: Ctra. Canillo Soldeu, s.n, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Himalaia Soldeu 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Himalaia Soldeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaia Soldeu Hotel Soldeu
Himalaia Hotel Soldeu
Soldeu Himalaia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalaia Soldeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.