We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for the slopes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Himalaia Soldeu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Himalaia Soldeu to your Saves list
Himalaia Soldeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. Canillo Soldeu, s.n, Soldeu AD100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Soldeu
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent location for the slopes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Hotel with character and great service. Great location, rooms comfortable and cozy. Food excellent. Going back next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    86
    65
    13
    7
See reviews for
78
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

As described in the hotel welcome booklet this is a base camp. It is convenient in it's location. It is basic but if it is a roof, bed and bar (base) you are looking for then this hotel will suffice. We had a roadside room with balcony and yes with the door open it was noisy but close the door and all is quiet. The rooms are warm with no air conditioning. Our room was cleaned daily and the staff were friendly. We ate the breakfast at the hotel which was buffett style and had a wide range of food from fried breakfast, cereals, toast, meats and cheeses, etc. We found this met our needs. The WiFi internet connection is slow and intermittent unless you sit where the hotel computers are then it is fine. You can park at the hotel at a cost of 12 euros a night. We ate at the Bruxelles Hotel across the road of an evening as it was one of two or three places open and the food was delicious there.

Room Tip: If you like quiet go for a rear room in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This hotel was fantastic, the rooms are large and airy, towel change how often you want. 2 jaccuzis, a compact gym (if you don't want the walks) and a sauna, all well maintained and clean. There are laid on guided walks (which are graded), with transport FREE from the hotel EVERY day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negative was if you get the promised Buffet - brilliant, lots of well cooked choice, if you get the fixed menu(due to low figures in the hotel) they seem to loose the plot, the food was barely edible some nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Nice hotel. We maintained and very quiet despite being in a fairly noisy area. I believe the rooms on the back have more noise. Good soundproofing on the front rooms though. Wifi is free but only works in reception.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I have been on skiing holidays to Soldeu/El Tarter for the past 9 years. We stayed on a 7 night holiday and if you want a good nights sleep after a hard days sking and even after a few apres drinks you will not sleep well in this hotel.
Our room was on the second floor and every night we woke around 2-3am the morning (sometimes later) to different natonailtys shouting at the top of their voices for a good half an hour. We read previous reviews and thought that perhaps there was a slight exaggeration trust me there was not.
In addition the food was average although this alone would not put me off booking this hotel again as there is very little choice in Soldeu.
The reception staff were very hit and miss one of the receptionists was lovely the other one beggered belief her rudeness left my mouth open, I have never come accross someone soo rude in my life.
The hotel is in a great position and we love Soldeu and had a fantastic holiday but they seriously need to sort out the noise factor if this hotel is to achieve its 4 star rating. lets be right skiing is expensive and I am not against people enjoying themselves we were a party of 10 with teenagers but if sleep is a important factor when your handing over your credit card please think again. I hope this helps anyone thinking of booking this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This was our 8th trip to Andorra having previously stayed at the Nordic/del clos apartments at El Tarter. On this occasion we decided to try a hotel closer to the nightlife of Soldeu to avoid the bus trip up to resort having found El tarter to be lacking in bars (the hotel Nordic being fantastic all round)

I will try not to compare the Himalaya with the Nordic despite these both being listed as 4 Stars otherwise the Himalaya may as well give up and close now as they fall short in almost every area. This is not a 4 star!!

Firstly the positives, the location is superb, a 2 minute walk to the ski rental and gondola and the hotel was very clean with reasonable sized rooms. The location in the centre of resort means that some noise is to be expected and the double glazing is good, however even with all radiators off the room was very hot with bar related and traffic noise very loud into the early hrs with the window open.

The room itself was basic and in need of a refurb, 80’s decoration, average quality beds and furniture and bog standard bathroom with a cotton bud wedged in the hair dryer to keep it in its holder due to a broken surround. No kettle or tea making facilities at all with the fridge not working also.

The lounge in the hotel appears of good quality with a fairly slow but free Wi Fi connection available for checking your e-mails etc.

Reception was hit and miss, on arrival at 4pm we were told our room was not ready and would be another hour, however receptionist was pleasant and efficient. One receptionist/manager however (you know who you are, female with long hair and glasses) as per a previous review I read I can confirm was a complete b**ch. Never smiled, never made eye contact and appeared to be unhappy about the effort required to breathe, let alone help a customer. 1 Room in our party had a broken toilet for 4 Days with no apology or solution, our safe code was deactivated due to their error resulting in virtually all money being locked inside (safe costing 6 euros despite being listed as free in their room literature). Despite this taking 1 minute to fix, this had to be requested 3 times with ’10 minutes’ becoming several hours, handy when your heading out. Never a ‘good morning’ or a ‘Hello’ from any of the staff that I can remember.

Food was another area this hotel needs to improve. Breakfast was fine with the usual choices of bacon, eggs, continental meats, pastries etc. Evening meal however was a let down and clearly done on the cheap. Meats were either tasteless or fatty clearly the cheapest cuts with only limited choices of chips and potatoes etc and luke warm at best. If a good meal is a priority for you, do not stay here. I would compare it with what I imagine a 2/3 star all inclusive would offer.

Soldeu and the Grandvalira itself were as usual very good. Snow was great for the time of year, lift queue’s none existent, pistes well maintained and those using ski school finding it good as usual.

Would I stay at the hotel again, despite the negative comments above if it was much cheaper than the rest then yes, purely for its great location and the skiing with the hotel an ‘adequate’ base. For all its negatives a few thousand spent on a refurb, improvement in the food and sacking of one receptionist and this would be a good hotel. If the nightlife of the bars is not you priority though I suggest you try elsewhere such as the Nordic previously mentioned which is what all 4 stars should be aiming towards (no I don’t work for them!)

No more ski boots for a year, yippee.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Lovely hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Food good with enough choice to please all tastes. Rooms spacious and clean. Lots of comfy chairs and sofas to sit and relax. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Himalaia Soldeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalaia Soldeu

Address: Ctra. Canillo Soldeu, s.n, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Himalaia Soldeu 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Himalaia Soldeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaia Soldeu Hotel Soldeu
Himalaia Hotel Soldeu
Soldeu Himalaia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalaia Soldeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.