We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location alone makes it worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sport Hotel Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sport Hotel Village to your Saves list
Sport Hotel Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. General s/n, Soldeu AD 100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Soldeu
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location alone makes it worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was my second visit to Sport Hotel Village in two years and it's still one of the best hotels in soldeu. The location of this hotel, which is actually built around the ski lift, makes it easy as pie to wake up and go skiing. The rooms aren't the biggest but are comfortable and some have a great view of the ski slopes ( mine was the construction site next door unfortunately ). The food is nice, nothing special, last year we paid to have dinner every night in the hotel and this year we chose to eat in restaurants around town which was the best decision we made. All in all a perfectly good hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    81
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
90
83
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

All though this is a very comfortable hotel of high standard, it is never the less its location which really earnes it top marks. We were five couples travelling together to ski the Grandvalira area, and having been there several times before and tried a couple of hotels in Canillo, we this time decided to try out Soldeu and Sport Hotel Village as our "base camp". Considering the improvement in location - having quick access to the centre of the Grand Valira area - the change was a huge success. The hotel's common areas and amenities are very good, and the huge spa is worth a visit - even though it is a bit on the expensive side. The rooms are nice, without reflcting the same standard as the rest of the hotel - choose a room facing the slopes, definitely worth the extra cost. We mostly dined out, but the one dinner we had at the hotel was nice - but not memorable. There is a gourmet restaurant at the hotel but we decided on other restaurants outside the hotel - which were very nice. The breakfast was of a very hign standard with lots and lots of choices. The best thing about this hotel though, is - as mentioned - its location. This is "ski in and Gondola out", i.e. the Gondola is placed in the same building complex as the hotel. There is also an absolutely excellent ski rental in the same complex - which offer practically any type and quality of ski that you, and the different snow conditions, might crave. To make a long story short - we are definitely returning to Grand Valira Next winter - this time 6 or 7 couples, and we will without a doubt be staying at Sport Hotel Village.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the slopes. PS. Very varying size of the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel, all the ingredients for a great skiing holiday.
Welcoming lounge and bar area, nice bedrooms which although they could do with a update are comfortable with good housekeeping service. Worth paying extra for a room with a balcony overlooking the pistes where we relaxed in the early March sunshine this year after a day on the slopes. The lockers, ski hire shop and slopes are literally directly outside the hotel. Buffet food is consistently good, and we are not buffet fans! However the variety and quality of food is excellent with fish and meat available to be cooked to order on request by the chef. Wine is reasonably priced. The service throughout the hotel is excellent.
The spa at the neighbouring Hermitage is excellent and although expensive worth it as a treat. We did not use it this year as the weather was so good but after a cold day on the slopes it does come into its own with the range of saunas, sanariums, steam rooms rooms and the amazing pool.
Just 1 request which so many people make, please give us complementary jugs of water on the table! This would make so much difference.
Having skied in many different resorts we keep returning to Soldeu and the Sport Village. The ski area is huge and varied with something for all levels and the standard of instruction very high. We have enjoyed great ski conditions and blue skies and sunshine in early March most years.
Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a balcony overlooking the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I did not expect to be writing a positive review for the Sport Village Hotel. We had booked a Jacuzzi Balcony room and mistakenly had believed we would be getting a Jacuzzi on our balcony. It was in fact a small balcony and a separate Jacuzzi bath in the bathroom. Our first impressions were not great as the furniture was shabby and the wood in the bathroom splintered due to a leaky shower. I complained to reception and was told that if I wanted 5 star quality I should book into a 5 star hotel. I feel that basics like clean and well furnished rooms should be expected from a 4 star + hotel. Despite this we actually really enjoyed the hotel and would likely return there. The views are fantastic in the mountain facing rooms and there is minimum hassle with it being a ski in/out hotel. The lockers for equipment are very close to the hotel. Being in Andorra towards the end of season meant that many of the bars and restaurants outwith the hotel were closed, however, as a fussy eater I was pleased at the choice for breakfast and evening meals. The rooms can be noisy if below the common areas and are very hot at times. It is not possible to control the temperature within the room. We travelled through Thomsons but were assigned a Crystals rep Emma who really went out of her way to make the holiday as good as it could be and she also offered social skiing for those not looking to take lessons.

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We came to Andorra to ski for a few days and this hotel was the perfect choice.
The hotel is great, same as the perfect location. If the purpose of your trip is winter sports, then I doubt there is a hotel with a better location. The Sports Village is a ski in/out hotel. I don't think there is any other hotel with this benefit. Lockers for the equipment are included and you can even buy the ski passes at the reception.
The hotel offers an excellent buffet breakfast and it's worth taking it, even though the service is not the best. We also tried the restaurant during the evening and they also offer a buffet dinner. Same as with breakfast, the quality is great and it offers many options.
I only got disappointed at the check-out when we asked if we could keep the room until the afternoon as we were going skiing and only leaving the hotel at 4 pm. I know this is a big request, but considering the hotel was empty I though it wouldn't be a problem. Unfortunately the hotel didn't allowed us to keep the room (only paying EUR 75) but instead they offered us a room to take a shower once back from skiing. This was very kind but still don't understand why giving us a clean room just for a shower instead of letting us stay at our room and avoid packing/unpacking and moving our luggage around during the morning and afternoon.
Anyways, this didn't affect our stay and overall it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms ocverlooking the mountains are worth to try
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there last week, did not find the reception staff very helpful, room was large but on main road so very noisy all night long. Wifi only available in public areas mainly reception area this area was always cold to sit in. Dining room large but food was not always topped up, so you maybe had some food on your plate but by the time you waited on a main dish being cooked the food on the plate was cold. One waiter who seemed to be a manager was very rude to my husband when he tried to order a drink. Spa is lovely but rather expensive at 32 euros per person per visit. Have stayed at other hotels in the area and I would not hurry back there, for the money I'd stay else where.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We selected this hotel because it was indicated as the closest to the ski lift. We were not disappointed. The hotel itself was really good , spacious with big rooms and nice facilities.
But skiing logistics and organisation was absolutely great. Ski lift is next to ski rental and next door to ski lockers. You can reach all the facilities right from the hotel by the elevator.
One of the best places for skiing vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sport Hotel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel Village

Address: Ctra. General s/n, Soldeu AD 100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soldeu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sport Hotel Village 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern slopes of the Envalira Valley, SPORT HOTEL VILLAGE offers 148 rooms with private bath (25 jacuzzi), phone, satellite TV and a safety deposit box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sport Hotel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Soldeu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sport Hotel Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.