We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sport Hotel Village

Save Saved
You added Sport Hotel Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 3 more sites!
Sport Hotel Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. General s/n, Soldeu AD 100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Soldeu
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I keep coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed here three times for skiing over the years and still come back. I know some of the reviews say it is getting tired and the food is not as good as it was. They are probably right. But so convenienet for the ski lifts. So comfortable in teh rooms. So comfortable chairs in the many lounges. So convenient for the spa next door - one of the best ever. I can't fault it after a day pounding the pistes.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for a view of the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    75
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
78
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I consider myself very fussy when it comes to hotels and holidays so I had reservations especially because it was our first time skiing. We hired a car at the airport which was easy and convenient. It took 2 to 3 hours a straight forward journey. Very clean hotel, lovely atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff, really spacious reception area with bar, relaxing to sit in the evening. Some reviews said the decor needed a revamp and staff were grumpy but we did not find this at all ! We were asked where we would like to sit in the restaurant. Amazing choice of food from the buffet with different dishes every night (had to pay for drinks with the evening meal). English breakfast (buffet) was fantastic with drinks included.

Our room was a split level room (duplex), novelty for the children and very very warm. We were on the side of the hotel looking up the road and the slopes and didn't have any noise problems at all.

Our children are 11 and 15, the only major disadvantage was the pool /spa which was only open to 15 yr olds up ! However there was an amazing pool with lots of added extras in Caldea (20 mins in car -easy to get to) we went at 5pm which was quiet, it became much busier as the evening went on. This pool was very expensive but worth it.

The ski slopes were brilliant for beginners and the experienced, excellent location. The ski lifts were underneath the hotel where you also hire your ski gear. I wouldnt recommend pre booking the ski gear as it took just as long as everyone who hadn't pre booked. One tip; this time of year the local shops had huge savings on ski wear, wish we had known before ! No need to leave the slopes all day as they had lovely restaurants /cafes for rest and food.

There was only one street including one small supermarket a couple of ski shops and a couple of bars, it was all very quiet but we didn't need to leave the hotel for anything apart from the pool. Thoroughly recommend this hotel and ski resort.

Room Tip: The duplex room was a nice change from a normal hotel room, with steep stairs to a balcony bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent a week skiing with 2 families in this hotel end of March 2013. Family rooms were spacious with plenty room for 4. Recreational areas comfortable and plentiful. Very clean throughout. Buffet breakfast and dinner excellent. Plenty of variety and very fresh. Friendly staff ready to make life easy. Very close to Gondola (2mins).

Only real problem we encountered was that there were not many activities for older children (we had 4 between 10 and 14). Children were not allowed use the swimming pool (this was flagged before we booked it). Especially hard for 13 year olds who were charged adult prices but had to be 14 to use pool.

Solution : Hotel Piolets at the end of the street have a pool with access to non residents 6euro for children (4pm-7pm) and 15 euro per adult.

Room Tip: Suites are generally on the lower floors and if booking for 2 adults and 2 children it is possible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Sport Village on a number of occasions over several years as we learnt to ski at the absolutely excellent Soldeu Ski School.

Pros:
Spacious and comfortable bar/lounge areas overlooking piste run into Soldeu, finishes at the bottom of a lift that will either return you to the gondola or a short walk to the ski lockers near the front door of the hotel. (The Gondola leaves from the hotel complex but the ski lockers do take you on a very short walk outside.)
Pleasant relaxed atmosphere with some gentle entertainment (excellent lounge pianist on occasion).
Outstanding position, it has the shortest walk to the gondola of any hotel in town.
Easy walk to the rest of the village for apre ski.
Spotlessly clean on every occasion we have been there.
Pleasant wood and stone building and décor.
Good choice of generally good food served buffet style, something for virtually everyone and plentiful.
Rooms a good size and comfortable (if anything can be a bit too warm but easily rectified by opening the door to the balcony if you have chosen a room facing the pistes.)

Cons:
Drinks not included with evening meal, wines good but a little pricey.
No drink making facilities in the rooms (I would recommend a room with a balcony and use it to keep drinks cold, these can be bought from one of the 3 small food shops in town.)
No swimming pool, or spa on site. I believe that there is a pool area in the neighbouring sister hotel the Hermitage, I haven't explored these facilities but understand that the spa is excellent and that the pool area may be better designed for lounging than serious swimming. I believe that arrangements can be made for guests to use these facilities (at extra cost). There are also excellent swimming pools accessible by bus in Canillo and Andorra La Vella.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are good if you have a little cash to spare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We generally try and fit a Ski week in at about the start of March and love staying at the Sport Village but don't confuse it with the Sport Hotel although it is the same ownership for it is not so well positioned. I think the food is amazingly good; there is an ambitious menu which includes fish and sometimes lobster or langoustine and a large variety of meats, vegetables and puddings. The wine is a bit pricey and the lowest cost was 16 Euros a bottle. This is not an old hotel but well finished in polished panelled wood of the high quality that you find in the Alps and Pyrenees. The staff are not local: some are from Spain whilst a good core are from Argentina. The main language is Spanish but one gets by on English. I think the staff understand the meaning of good service and go out of their way to please. We find that if there is a problem they rush to put things right. The hotel looks out over the ski-ing slopes and you need to pay a bit more to bag one of these rooms that face the mountains. I don't find it cheap but one could go a long way to find better value and I shall go having an annual visit if my pension allows it. We came back last night (17th March 2013 having spent a wonderful week and the snow was superb. Although it is not connected to the hotel your lift pass, normally close on £200 a week, is free if you are over 70 in age.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a mountain facing room with a little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

With an unbeatable location right next to the Gondola and overlooking the lower pistes the is a very pleasant hotel and spotlessly clean throughout. The staff were generally very helpful and friendly with only the reception staff a little aloof. Our standard room was of a reasonable size, very comfortable with a little balcony with superb views over the piste and along the valley, again very clean.

We were on a half board package, and although we could not fault the quality and variety of the breakfast buffet, dinner left a little to be desired. Readers of teepees will know my hatred of buffets and my opinion has not been changed by our stay here. Masses of choice and different dishes daily but too much food going cold and congealed, too much mystery meat, sorry fat, and of course the usual scrum with the usual continental lack of queuing etiquette and the usual bloody kids milling about spilling beans on your trousers. I honestly cant see any other way to feed the numbers involved but if we were to return it would be on b and b and dinner at the many other restaurants in easy reach where they cook what you want and bring it to your table like civilised people. Rant over, this is a very pleasant well run hotel that we would certainly use again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Clandon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 3rd March 2013 for 1 week, booked via Direct Ski (great on-line tour operator and much cheaper than any other) with another couple. We really liked the hotel, good food nice rooms and although some of the staff were a tad grumpy we had read previous reviews and were not that surprised - it seems to be a common trait in Andorra though you CAN find some great customer service!

The only downside to the stay was the hugely expensive small bottles of water (they ran out of large ones) in the restaurant. We asked for tap water and were first told that it wasn't recommended (some of us had been happily drinking tap water in our rooms) and then when we asked why were there no warnings in the rooms about not drinking tap water in the bedrooms we were told that it was not restaurant policy to provide tap water. 4 euros 20 for a tiny bottle of water! Not impressed at all, particularly as in the shop down the road we bought a pack of 6 - 1.5 litre bottles for about 5 euros.

The skiing is really good in Andorra and I would suggest that if you fancy something different, give it a try, and if you choose Soldeu, I would strongly recommend this hotel, the location could not be better, there is a chair and a bubble right below the hotel. Just don't drink the water!

Lastly, there is a huge spa, shared by several hotels in the same group. It's good but not the best I have been to. We were allowed in free 1 day during our stay BUT we had to buy flip flops to get in at 12.50 Euros a pair (most expensive flip flops I have ever bought). So if you want to visit the spa, take your own flip flops. With the saving you make you will be able to splash out on almost a litre or water with dinner instead!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a piste facing room or a side view higher than the 2nd floor as then if you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sport Hotel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel Village

Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Soldeu
Address: Ctra. General s/n, Soldeu AD 100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
#2 Family Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sport Hotel Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern slopes of the Envalira Valley, SPORT HOTEL VILLAGE offers 148 rooms with private bath (25 jacuzzi), phone, satellite TV and a safety deposit box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Sport Hotel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sport Hotel Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.