We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Overdue Review!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sport Hotel Village

Save Saved
You added Sport Hotel Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sport Hotel Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. General s/n, Soldeu AD 100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Soldeu
Dartford, Kent, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Long Overdue Review!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

As the title suggests, this should have been written a long time ago. I've just returned from my 7th visit in 9 years to the Sporthotel Village. From this attendance then, you can assume that the hotel is fairly good - but here are the main points:-

Location - Best in resort! Right on top of the Soldeu gondola and central to everything in the town. The building looks straight out over the mountain and provides magnificent views from both the rear and side elevations. The ski lockers are located to the side of the hotel (down some fairly steep stairs - why do they do that??) and you will therefore have to walk no further than a 100m or so from the lockers to the gondola.

Property - The Village has traditional, Catalan style architecture with impressive wood carvings and an even more impressive central atrium. A rigorous regime by the staff ensures that the public areas are well maintained at all times.

Bedrooms - Possibly a weak point at the moment - the bedrooms have always been generally good, very warm with good decor etc. However, on my visit this year, I noted that the bedroom furniture was looking a little worn, the doors and door frames (especially the bathroom) were swollen at the bottom - therefore, a little attention may be required in the near future. On a personal note, I really wish that the hotel would replace the sheets & blankets with duvets! I would also advise against a room overlooking the street - can be noisy when the late night revellers get kicked out of the bars at 3am!

Staff - Generally pleasant and helpful, always willing to give a smile and an 'Hola'.

Food / Drink - It's no secret that, whilst Andorra is a duty free principality, the prices of drinks in the bars have risen significantly over the years, to the point that you will probably be paying the same as if you were in a popular European resort for a summer break. This is generally due to the introduction of the Euro, with Andorra piggy-backing on the rises throughout the rest of the Euro-state without actually being a member (and a tax has been introduced for food & drink - strange for a tax-free country!). However, nothing prepared me for the €12.90 bill that I received for a gin & tonic at the hotel bar - That's over £10 for one drink!!! Now, I realise that the measures are 6cl, thereby being nearly 2.5 times a standard British measure, but even so - it was enough to ensure that I didnt order any more drinks from the hotel bar!
The food in The Village is buffet style for both breakfast & dinner and, whilst there is plenty to ensure that you will not go hungry, the food on offer has definitely gone downhill over the years - it is certainly not of the quality that you would expect from a 4+ star hotel. This is a real shame as it used to be of a much better range and quality than currently offered, and no amount of 'show-cooking' will disguise a poor cut of meat etc.

There is a 5 star hotel owned by the same hotel chain (Sport Hermitage) right next door, if you want a touch of luxury, a la carte dining etc, but this will cost you at least an additional 40% on top of The Village price. However, it is still worth visiting the Spa attached to the Hermitage (underground access from The Village) as it is the most fantastic relaxation time that you will get on this type of holiday - rates are discounted for Village guests, usually on a Monday & Tuesday.

In summary, I will probably continue staying at The Village, but only through the fact that there is little alternative in the 4+ star arena with The Village's location & convenience. However, they must look to maintain the high profile that they have built for themselves in previous years by not allowing standards to slip too far - otherwise guests may just start to look for another hotel (in another ski resort / country, potentially!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    75
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
78
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar, null, Gibraltar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel and we would love to revisit sometime soon. Our bedroom view was amazing as it faced the slopes and we could see a panoramic view of the white mountains and pine trees covered in snow. I couldn't have asked for a more spectacular view! The hotel in general is very clean, the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. The overall impression is of a very high standard and cosy hotel. The restaurant service was excellent, there was a large variety of food and the staff were very much on top of things. We definitely recommend this hotel to all travellers who which to visit Soldeu, Andorra.

Room Tip: I would advise you to request a room that faces the mountains as you will surely not be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a good hotel, located above the main cable car station.
This was our third visit to Soldeu and we stayed here on February 24th for 1 week in room 1203. This hotel is part of the Sport group of hotels and is priced between the Sport Hotel and the Sport Hermitage hotels. We travelled with Neilson and paid £745 pp with an extra £42 pp for a room with a balcony and a view of the slopes, this supplement is well worth paying unless you want a view of the main road. I would however not pay any more than £850 for this hotel.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and of a reasonable size. The rooms do however show signs of some wear and tear, but I find that this is normally the case with ski hotels.
Our room overlooked the main cable car and was directly in front on the main slopes, one of the best views in the hotel.
You will be allowed one free entry into the Spa before 3 pm either on Monday or Tuesday, after that I think it was 35 Euros per person, to use the facility you will need a pair of flip flops before they will allow you in.
Breakfast is in the main dining room and is the usual affair of cereals, fruit, cheeses and cooked meats. The cook will however make you an omelette if you ask.
Dinner is buffet style, if you don’t have kids go as late as you can (after 8:30pm) as it can be chaotic at times. Again the usual variety of food including a chef that will cook pasta of your choice.
After dinner is a relaxing affair in the main lounge, usually with someone playing the piano.
The nearest ski hire place is Ski Calbo which is at the main cable car station, you can either hire a locker for 5 people for about 50 Euros for a week (I think), or use the free hotels ski lockers which are located opposite the hotels main entrance and half way down slope to the hotel car park.
Depending on numbers you may be asked to share the locker with other hotel guests.
If you find the food here not to your liking, try the restaurant at the Bruxelles Hotel you won’t be disappointed.
Finally I would like to say that I would stay at this hotel again, it is certainly one of the best in Soldeu.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The location was great, the hotel was very nice. The room was neat & clean & the view of the mountains was fantastic.
We had the same problem as others having to negotiate our evening meal time - we arrived late on a Sunday so missed out on being allocated a table - although no one at reception bothered to explain how the evening seating worked.
The hot buffet food was at times cold, even though it had only just been brought out from the kitchen.
The bar service was also incredibly slow despite there being very few guests in the lounge.
The only other problem was a shower door that leaked & so soaked the whole bathroom by the time 3 people had showered - not great having to stand in a puddle holding a hairdryer!
Despite these issues - we had a great time & would still recommend this hotel for the location alone!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, Herts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just returned from a 6 day Half Term holiday with our 17 year-old daughter, staying at the Sport Hotel Village. This is one of three "Sport Hotels" and falls in the middle price-wise. However, it is the closest to the gondolla that takes you up to the ski areas opposite, being part of the little complex that houses "The Villager" pub, a ski shop, ski rental place and lockers, etc with the car park below. All very convenient and linked by stairs and lifts. So you get the gondola up in the morning, then ski back to the base of the building at the end of your day and get the lift back up to the locker area. (BTW, you get a locker allocated with your room and is just beside and below the hotel with a convenient passage down to the gondola level. The room is heated but the lockers themselves are not).

Our welcome was warm and room keys and ski passes were ready on our arrival around 4:00pm on the Sunday. We'd gone for the 'Duplex' room so our daughter had the use of twin beds on a spacious mezzanine style extra floor above us - so a nice bit of privacy for all. The bathroom was a good size and everythng was spotless. It did look out over the street so you could hear some quiet road noise at night/early morning but nothing from the bars as reported elsewhere except on the Friday night....but we were so exhausted from the skiing it was not a problem! All in all, the room (1311) was great.

As reported elsewhere, the dining arrangements are a bit strange and we were told the same thing first night - despite being told we did not have to book, the best they could muster when we arrived when they opened at 7:30 was about 9:00, despite the place being fairly empty. It transpires that they keep the same tables for each room when you use them. If you sit at table 48 on your first night, it is yours for the week. Very odd way to do it given a lot of people eat out when not on a dinner rate and there are many empty tables every night. (So we just booked after breakfast each day if we thought we'd eat in, which we did 3 nights).

The food is excellent - breakfast has everything you'd want, including sparkling wine if you so wish, so we started the day with full stomachs (and sober!). Dinner is a pretty up-market buffet affair with a chef cooking fish and meats to order at a hot grill, plus another chef serving pasta and sauces to order. With umpteen salads, meats, cheeses, sushi, hot meals, vegetarian meals, paella and vegetables we had plenty to choose from. Desserts were varied but the highlight for my ladies was obviously the chocolate fountain!

We thought the service was very good all round - plates were cleared quickly, coffee brought to us at the table in the morning, etc but a tad slow in the bar one night - but otherwise prompt and very pleasant. (When my wife's wine was served in a glass with some light lipstick smears on it they were truly mortified - Not only did they replace it straight away but our next two glasses were complimentary as well. Can't say fairer than that).

"The Villager" pub (part of the hotel) was a bit of a disappointment though - the service and beer/wine was good but the 'tapas' was no such thing - all deep fried, breadcrumb-coated, mass produced, salty mush. Didn't try the mains, sorry - might be better.

There are certainly cheaper places to stay but we will be back. The combination of location, facilities, quality of food, service, attitude and surroundings all add up to more than the sum of the parts.

FYI, we flew to Barcelona and drove up to Soldeu. The hotel recommended the longer route via Ponts because it is reliable and easy to follow. It also avoids any possible nasty conditions over on the French side, which can apparently be awful. The trip was indeed very easy and pleasant and we crossed easily into Andorra on the Sunday afternoon and back into Spain on the Saturday morning coming back. However, the border crossing back into Spain when we drove UP to Soldeau on the Sunday about 3:00pm had a HUGE tailback so be warned if you intend to return via Spain on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Ask for one as high as possible to avoid any road noise if at the back. (I assume you pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Totally love this hotel and have visited it many times with friends and family on ski trips. You cannot beat this location in Soldeu, as you ski right into the Hotel. The dinners are buffet style with a great selection. There is a very spacious lobby with lots of seating, overlooking the mountain. The Village bar is excellent and great fun for Apres Ski. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just come back from the Sport Village Hotel after spending a week skiing.
Our arrival at the hotel started very positive. We were welcomed to the hotel by a very proffesional and helpful gentleman on reception. Our luggage was taken to our room which was standard but clean. We had driven for 15 hours and was ready to eat. When we got to the restuarant, which I have to say is freezing,we were were told that we could not eat untill 9.30pm.The restuarant was empty and it is a buffett service so I could not understand why they were trying to send us away for an hour and half. They have two sittings 7.30 and 9.30. We had 2 young children with us so 9.30pm to eat is a no go! After some arguing we were allowed to go in at 8pm.
Not a great start.
The hotel is really not cheap so having to put up with the following, didnt go down to well.
-Very flat pillows.
-Being asked in restaurant 3/4 times at each meal for room number.
-Being kept awake all night because of the music in pub below our room - No apology from receptionist. Very poor attitude.
-Sitting in lounge for an hour before any one came to take drink order - Lack of staff
-Not having plates removed from dinner table - Lack of staff
-Being locked out of our room because the reception had checked us out on wrong day - No apology.
-Not having our room cleaned on day before leaving.
This is my 5th time in Andorra and usually stay at the Nordic, El Tarter. We booked late and the Nordic was full and the village still had availability.
I can now see why the Nordic was full - it is lovely, a location that cannot be beaten (amazing), great food and lovely atmosphere and a lot cheaper than the village. I now no why the Village stil had rooms - It is cold, short staffed and very expensive. I will defintely not be going back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1110. This is a room directly above the pub and facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sport Hotel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel Village

Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Soldeu
Address: Ctra. General s/n, Soldeu AD 100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soldeu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sport Hotel Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern slopes of the Envalira Valley, SPORT HOTEL VILLAGE offers 148 rooms with private bath (25 jacuzzi), phone, satellite TV and a safety deposit box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Sport Hotel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sport Hotel Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.