We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, questionable hospitality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comtes d'Urgell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comtes d'Urgell Hotel to your Saves list
Comtes d'Urgell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda de les Escoles 29, Les Escaldes, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Les Escaldes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, questionable hospitality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week of New Year. I wasn't too happy with the hotel in general. The only thing I really enjoyed was breakfast and New Year dinner - guys really can cook.

However in the rooms you don't have an electric tea pot, and when I asked for a cup of hot water, they sent me to a nearest bar, because their restaurant was closed. So we had to buy one ourselves. There's also no WiFi in the rooms, so people hang out in the lobby. The rooms themselves are quite old. And we paid quite a lot for them, around 100 Euros per night. So if we had a choice by booking earlier, we definitely wouldn't have stayed there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    31
    39
    12
    12
See reviews for
26
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The room was small, with little room to move around the bed. The bed itself was good and the room had a decent tv, with a (small) bath. We arrived in peak season and still found a room as a walk-in guest, which was good.

The location is great, just 200 metres from Caldea in one direction and 200 metres from the main shopping road in the other.

Free wifi internet is available but only in the lobby & not in the bedrooms.

Breakfast was buffet style and pretty good value. There was a wide variety of pastries, meats, yoghurt, etc. The only disappointing thing was no proper fruit juice - just some concentrate from a machine.

For an overnight stay we found parking in one of the main car parks was cheaper and more convenient than parking in the underground car park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComtesUrgell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Comtes d'Urgell Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear customer,

Undoubtedly, we greatly appreciate your words, and we will send your appreciation to the whole team of our hotel ..
Hope to see you again very soon, and of course, offer a quality service.
Thank you for trusting us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa da Caparica, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very nice hotel, good price and good location. It was very nice to sleep hearing the sound of the river's water running down the hill.
Small but very comfortable rooms. Good restaurant.
Delicious breakfast!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComtesUrgell, Direccion at Comtes d'Urgell Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear customer,

Undoubtedly, we greatly appreciate your words, and we will send your appreciation to the whole team of our hotel ..
Hope to see you again very soon, and of course, offer a quality service.
Thank you for trusting us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It is average hotel. The best part of our stay here is definitely price. The other thing I can suggest, is to take breakfast in here. They are delicious, it is big variety of food to choose and so on. Also, it is good because of the hotel location. Just a fifty meters from the hotel, You can find a tourism information which is in the main street of the city. This street is great to buy things and go clubbing, drinking or whatever You want to do in this town.
The bad things about this hotel, are mentioned in the earlier coments: the hotel needs to be refurbished, rooms are small, walls are thin, so You can hear what Your neighbours are doing. But hese things for me, didn't made a big problem. The major minuses was, that the personel in the reception had no good map of the small city (Andora la Vella). They brought me a black and white google map, in which was no marks, where is the old town, main sights and so on. When I asked to mark these things, the receptionist marked old town in different place than it was, so we have lost. I suggest beter go to information center for the help of sightseeing.
The other big problem is parking, which is paid (but I would rather pay then search for a place to park in the city). In this parking there is not enaugt spaces for the hosts of hotel. I had to look for a parking place in the city, which took half an hour, and I parked a car about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
To sum up, next time I would stay in the same hotel, because of its price, but not because of its conditions.
You get what You pay, in other words.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with a view to the city, othervise You will get rooms to the Yard, which has noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very small. There's too much furniture and it's hard to move around with the suitcase.
The parking lot is small, but if you're lucky to get a spot, the guard is very friendly. The price for parking is 14 e, so take it into account. Also, you have to leave the keys in the car, and it closes at 22:00 and opens again at 8:00, so your car is stuck there between those hours.
There's Wifi, but only in the lobby.

In conclusion, it's a good value per money + great views hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

the room was not bad, ok view, only downsides was that parking lot was full and we had to park nearby (but same price), and the internet only works in the lobby area.. you have to pay for a lock if you want to use the safe.. (something like 2 euro/day)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed for one night with the kids (2). Clean room, enough for four people. Very old but clean bathroom. No air conditioning.

The garage is very small and we couldn't get a parking space and in the place where the hotel is situated is necessary as it's at the end of a steep ramp (even though you can find a parking space around caldea, about 200m away from the hotel)

The only bad experience was with the maître of the restaurant (name beginning with "A") which was tremendously rude (as stated in other reviews). He probably doesn't like his job at all.

Room Tip: Big rooms are in the top floors. That can be hot at summer, without air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comtes d'Urgell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comtes d'Urgell Hotel

Address: Avinguda de les Escoles 29, Les Escaldes, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Escaldes-Engordany Parish > Les Escaldes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Les Escaldes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comtes d'Urgell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comtes d'Urgell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comtes D'Urgell Hotel Andorra/Les Escaldes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comtes d'Urgell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.