We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were great, owners horrid!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Sant Andreu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Sant Andreu to your Saves list
Aparthotel Sant Andreu
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Carretera de Les Pistes | Carretera de Les Pistes, Arinsal AD400, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staff were great, owners horrid!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Really enjoyed the little skiing resort of Arinsal. The snow and the pistes were great unlike are hotel! As soon as we got there we was told to check off items in the apartment(after a long journey on icy roads!)Lots of the items where missing including the tv remote and pots pans and dishes. The beds are OK unlike the duvets wich only coverd half of you! One of the settees was held together with a sock ! And the other very old. Our party was made up of two dads and three kids and we got the impression that they thought we was going to trash the place wich couldn't be further from the truth! It was a family holiday for our kids.
As its a ski resort people are up early to go skiing but are very noisy dragging furniture and slamming doors. That would be OK but people where still making noise till early the next morning!
Ive never seen so much mould in a hotel bathroom before with cracked tiles and shower hose held together with electrical tape!
We are hardy folk who are used to ruffing it on camping trips But the way we felt we where treated by the hotel owners (not the staff who were great) wasn't up to much and we felt like criminals if we complained.
The sauna and hot tub were both broken for the duration of our stay (i realy could do with the hot tub after skiing all day and we chose the hotel because of it!)
So go to Arinsal ,dont stay at st andrue!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palsbb, Manager at Aparthotel Sant Andreu, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
We are really sorry that you felt that you could not complain, because you should have. We always have a large stock of replacement equipment for the kitchenettes including spare cookers and pots and pans. We are also really surprised that you consider that Helena and I are horrid, especially given the comments from nearly everyone that they think of the Sant Andreu as home from home. You are, of course, welcome back at any time (at a huge discount!) so that you can see that we value every single guest.

As for the mould in the bathroom, this should have been controlled by us better. In the depths of winter we do have a problem with condensation in a few of the higher-floor bathrooms, because of the intense cold outside, but this should never have been apparent to you. We apologise unreservedly and assure you that we have taken steps to make sure this does not happen again.

Simon Binsted
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Co Down
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I can't thank Simon & Helena enough for all their help during our stay.
A ski trip with 2 teenagers & an 8 year old can be stressful enough without dealing with such problems as my poor husband having to leave early for business reasons & the travel agent messing up our return flight & ski rental - Helena expertly dealt with confirming the bus transfer to Barcelona & co-ordinated with our rep to sort out the problem leaving me free to enjoy what was left of our holiday.
The apartments are clean & well equipped, it is lovely to have the option of self-catering or the flexibility to be able to eat breakfast or dinner in the restaurant downstairs, our teenagers thoroughly enjoyed the steaks & none they have had since we returned have lived up to their expectations.
The hotel is well situated, being uphill from the gondola & downhill from the chair lift, there are several extremely good local restaurants serving quality food at affordable prices, the supermarkets are also reasonable as well which is rare in a ski resort. The lockers at the top of the gondola are a godsend as we didn't have to carry any of our equipment back & forward.
We will definitely be back - it's a great wee hotel, where we were made to feel right at home & nothing was too much trouble. It is close enough to the centre of Arinsal to be a comfortable walk to the amenities but far enough to be away from any noise from pubs & clubs. See you again next year :0)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location for the main ski gondola, the bars and restaurants and free buses.

The owner/staff are skiers and are more than willing to provide advice and tips as to the best areas, runs to suit your ability and which lifts are open (not as this mattered as during my visit all lifts were 100% open!!) They even offered to check the internet and/or phone the resorts to check before heading out for the day. I would advise a drive or take the bus up to Arcalis as the skiiing here is excellent if not slightly more challenging.

The rooms are well equiped and very clean with a large lounge area (with BBC news on the tv) and a kitchen that you could easily russle up a meal, not that we did as the bars and restaurants are fairly cheap and of a high standard, in particular Quo Vardis(bar approx 400m away) do nice pizzas, eat in or take away.

Overall for a cheap relaxing break, with good skiing, good ambience and a decent nightlife should you be interested i would highly recommend this hotel/resort. I sent a single email and was provided with a detailed breakdown of the costs of ski and boot hire, transfers, lift passes and accomodation costs. This made my trip stress free and even more enjoyable as a result.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Just back from another fantastic week at the St Andreu, this time as a group of 11. Simon, Helenna and the team gave us such a warm welcome and made sure the trip was hassle free. Don't believe the 'no snow' reports, Arinsal, with it's amazing snow cannons, was beautifully powdery and we skiied 6 hours a day, every day! Nick took us a for a great day out to Arcalis, well worth doing if you are there for a week. The food, as always, was first rate and Sarah made a huge effort to include fish every day for our meat free group member. On the last day we realised that we were booked onto the wrong bus to Barcelona Airport. Helenna swung into action and while we munched on freshly baked croissants arranged for her brother to drive us there (a 7 hour round trip) Thankyou to her and her lovely brother Tony! That's why we keep going back to the St Andreu (3 years now) Roll on the next time!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We are a mature couple who stayed at the Sant Andreu for 2 weeks Jan 2011. Being just 2 of us, we occupied one of the small apartments which was more than adequate, being spacious, clean and with good facilities. The bar has a very relaxed and convivial atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The Sant Andreu is far enough out of the village not to be disturbed by late night revellers whilst at the same time, close enough (a 5 minute walk) if you want a bit of late night action. The free bus, which runs until about 8pm, stops right outside the hotel and runs to Arinsal, La Massana and Arcalis. We opted for self catering but we did have a couple of evening meals in the restaurant and found the food to be very good and plentiful with a varied selection at each sitting. Simon and Helena go the extra mile, as do their staff, to make your stay pleasurable and memorable. The Sant Andreu winter ski package on offer represents excellent value for money. We chose to drive from the UK and booked directly with the hotel but even if we had arranged our own flights, the overall cost would be more favourable than the tour companies could offer. We would certainly return to the Sant Andreu and wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

The aparthotel Sant Andreu is located 5 minutes from the centre of Arinsal with great views down the valley. We were there on a skiing trip with family and friends and discovered that you can avoid the uphill walk by coming down on the sixman chair lift which leaves you uphill from the Sant Andreu and using the gondola down from the hotel to get up the mountain in the morning. This cuts out any uphill walking (lazy aren't we) Also rent a locker at the middle station and avoid carrying your skis around completely (as I said lazy).

We were a group of family and friends including children with 2 vegetarians and several fussy eaters and we were really well catered for foodwise. In particular our group appreciated the roast on Sunday and the curry night was great. We were really well looked after by Elena and Simon and Sarah really looked after us foodwise. Thanks again to Elena for collecting some of our group one evening.

Visit Andorra la Vella for the shopping - it is easy to get to on the L5 bus from right outside the hotel.

The apartments were really spacious and well equipped, but as we were staying half board we never cooked in the apartment. Would love to return in the summer and cycle in the area as it is really beautiful, has a great climate and the roads are good.

All in all a great hotel - we had a great time and would love to return. Would be ideal in both summer and winter and Andorra is a really unique place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Ou decision was to have a base for walking in the Pyrenees, and I had never been to Andorra. We were originally expecting to rent a studio off an individual and probably not in Arinisal which had a mixed review from the guidebooks. We ended up in this accomodation largely because the owner, Simon Binstead, was the first to reply efficiently and fully to our enquiries. And that proved to be a good sign. Arinsal proved to be a good walking base,with the only staffed mountain hut a couple of hours walk up the mountain, the highest peak Andorra being above it, and lots of other walks around. The accomodation was satisfactory in every way, without being exceptional in any, but what really made our holiday was Simon. He not only knows the country very well but he went to a lot of trouble to give us good advice about good places to see, and where to eat and so on. We could not make much sense ourselves out of the bus schedules and so on - so essential if you are walking and not intending to start and end in the same place. So his helpfulness made a real difference, and I would warmly recommend staying in his place.

Andorra a lovely place for a summer walking holiday. Lots of attractive and well marked routes.Another time we would come a little earlier in the year, to get more flowers. But a really good time and much of it thanks to Simon and his wife. May the trouble they took be rewarded with good custom.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Sant Andreu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Sant Andreu

Address: Carretera de Les Pistes | Carretera de Les Pistes, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Arinsal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Sant Andreu 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sant Andreu the aparthotel has 16 apartments, 8 two bedrooms (with a capacity of 4-6 persons) and 8 in a room (for 2-4 people), family room, spacious, fully equipped with Wi-fi in every apartment, well decorated and with great views. We have a bar, restaurant and spa area (gym, sauna, jacuzzi). Located in a privileged setting high mountain in the Vallnord sector, our ski area comprising Pal, Arinsal and Ordino-Arcalis. Enjoy the outdoors, mountains and tranquility in all seasons. Nearby is the village of Arinsal where all amenities and entertainment is located. We strive to provide a good deal with the client. We want you to feel at home. In a family, couple or friends hope your stay will leave the best feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel Sant Andreu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Sant Andreu Arinsal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Sant Andreu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.