We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything has a price?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Sant Andreu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arinsal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aparthotel Sant Andreu
Caretera de les Pistes, Arinsal AD400, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“everything has a price?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

The location of this hotel is fantasic and the skiing was amazing. However, the owners of the hotel are very rude and need to work on communication skills. The cleaners and bar staff were amazing and very friendly towards everyone. The rooms were ok, but there was a huge amount of mold in the bathroom which can be off putting. We also had furniture falling to peices and the cooking facilties were poor, as only one hob worked properly. This can be a struggle when you are trying to feed 5 people at once. When we got there we had to mark down what we had and was given a price list incase we broke anything, down to picture on the wall and the scales in the bathroom. Also, we were threated to get a anti social cleaning bill if the room wasnt up to there standards when we left it? room had to be vacated by 10 but the owners came round about 9.10 to check and was suprised when we had not finished breakfast. The bars and resturants around the hotel were very friendly and prices was expected, typical of Europe. Advertised as having a sauna and hot tub but on arival we were told it was broke and there was no enthusiasm to get it working or no sign of it ever working? boots had to be left in the lower locker room of which there were no dryers so if they got wet they would stay wet? over all it was ok but everything had a price attached and felt awkward so be prepared?

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palsbb, Manager at Aparthotel Sant Andreu, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Once again we sincerely regret that these guests found some mould in their bathroom. We fight this every year in some of the bathrooms on the higher floors when it is intensely cold outside, but it should never have been apparent to our guests. We have instituted a very strict control and prevention programme.

These guests should have let us know immediately if the cooking equipment was not up to scratch, since we have plenty of spare equipment in stock if anything fails or is is missing. Unfortunately, we do find that during a season quite a lot of things go "missing" and short of counting every teaspoon every week, we do rely on guests to tell us if anything is not to their liking.

Like with all self-catering apartments, guests are expected to leave them clean and tidy. Sometimes when 16 apartments need to be checked before early group departure times, things can get a bit hectic, but we do try to be as accomodating as possible. Obviously this time we failed, for which we apolgise unreservedly.

Simon Binsted
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Really enjoyed the little skiing resort of Arinsal. The snow and the pistes were great unlike are hotel! As soon as we got there we was told to check off items in the apartment(after a long journey on icy roads!)Lots of the items where missing including the tv remote and pots pans and dishes. The beds are OK unlike the duvets wich only coverd half of you! One of the settees was held together with a sock ! And the other very old. Our party was made up of two dads and three kids and we got the impression that they thought we was going to trash the place wich couldn't be further from the truth! It was a family holiday for our kids.
As its a ski resort people are up early to go skiing but are very noisy dragging furniture and slamming doors. That would be OK but people where still making noise till early the next morning!
Ive never seen so much mould in a hotel bathroom before with cracked tiles and shower hose held together with electrical tape!
We are hardy folk who are used to ruffing it on camping trips But the way we felt we where treated by the hotel owners (not the staff who were great) wasn't up to much and we felt like criminals if we complained.
The sauna and hot tub were both broken for the duration of our stay (i realy could do with the hot tub after skiing all day and we chose the hotel because of it!)
So go to Arinsal ,dont stay at st andrue!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palsbb, Manager at Aparthotel Sant Andreu, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
We are really sorry that you felt that you could not complain, because you should have. We always have a large stock of replacement equipment for the kitchenettes including spare cookers and pots and pans. We are also really surprised that you consider that Helena and I are horrid, especially given the comments from nearly everyone that they think of the Sant Andreu as home from home. You are, of course, welcome back at any time (at a huge discount!) so that you can see that we value every single guest.

As for the mould in the bathroom, this should have been controlled by us better. In the depths of winter we do have a problem with condensation in a few of the higher-floor bathrooms, because of the intense cold outside, but this should never have been apparent to you. We apologise unreservedly and assure you that we have taken steps to make sure this does not happen again.

Simon Binsted
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Co Down
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I can't thank Simon & Helena enough for all their help during our stay.
A ski trip with 2 teenagers & an 8 year old can be stressful enough without dealing with such problems as my poor husband having to leave early for business reasons & the travel agent messing up our return flight & ski rental - Helena expertly dealt with confirming the bus transfer to Barcelona & co-ordinated with our rep to sort out the problem leaving me free to enjoy what was left of our holiday.
The apartments are clean & well equipped, it is lovely to have the option of self-catering or the flexibility to be able to eat breakfast or dinner in the restaurant downstairs, our teenagers thoroughly enjoyed the steaks & none they have had since we returned have lived up to their expectations.
The hotel is well situated, being uphill from the gondola & downhill from the chair lift, there are several extremely good local restaurants serving quality food at affordable prices, the supermarkets are also reasonable as well which is rare in a ski resort. The lockers at the top of the gondola are a godsend as we didn't have to carry any of our equipment back & forward.
We will definitely be back - it's a great wee hotel, where we were made to feel right at home & nothing was too much trouble. It is close enough to the centre of Arinsal to be a comfortable walk to the amenities but far enough to be away from any noise from pubs & clubs. See you again next year :0)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location for the main ski gondola, the bars and restaurants and free buses.

The owner/staff are skiers and are more than willing to provide advice and tips as to the best areas, runs to suit your ability and which lifts are open (not as this mattered as during my visit all lifts were 100% open!!) They even offered to check the internet and/or phone the resorts to check before heading out for the day. I would advise a drive or take the bus up to Arcalis as the skiiing here is excellent if not slightly more challenging.

The rooms are well equiped and very clean with a large lounge area (with BBC news on the tv) and a kitchen that you could easily russle up a meal, not that we did as the bars and restaurants are fairly cheap and of a high standard, in particular Quo Vardis(bar approx 400m away) do nice pizzas, eat in or take away.

Overall for a cheap relaxing break, with good skiing, good ambience and a decent nightlife should you be interested i would highly recommend this hotel/resort. I sent a single email and was provided with a detailed breakdown of the costs of ski and boot hire, transfers, lift passes and accomodation costs. This made my trip stress free and even more enjoyable as a result.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Just back from another fantastic week at the St Andreu, this time as a group of 11. Simon, Helenna and the team gave us such a warm welcome and made sure the trip was hassle free. Don't believe the 'no snow' reports, Arinsal, with it's amazing snow cannons, was beautifully powdery and we skiied 6 hours a day, every day! Nick took us a for a great day out to Arcalis, well worth doing if you are there for a week. The food, as always, was first rate and Sarah made a huge effort to include fish every day for our meat free group member. On the last day we realised that we were booked onto the wrong bus to Barcelona Airport. Helenna swung into action and while we munched on freshly baked croissants arranged for her brother to drive us there (a 7 hour round trip) Thankyou to her and her lovely brother Tony! That's why we keep going back to the St Andreu (3 years now) Roll on the next time!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We are a mature couple who stayed at the Sant Andreu for 2 weeks Jan 2011. Being just 2 of us, we occupied one of the small apartments which was more than adequate, being spacious, clean and with good facilities. The bar has a very relaxed and convivial atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The Sant Andreu is far enough out of the village not to be disturbed by late night revellers whilst at the same time, close enough (a 5 minute walk) if you want a bit of late night action. The free bus, which runs until about 8pm, stops right outside the hotel and runs to Arinsal, La Massana and Arcalis. We opted for self catering but we did have a couple of evening meals in the restaurant and found the food to be very good and plentiful with a varied selection at each sitting. Simon and Helena go the extra mile, as do their staff, to make your stay pleasurable and memorable. The Sant Andreu winter ski package on offer represents excellent value for money. We chose to drive from the UK and booked directly with the hotel but even if we had arranged our own flights, the overall cost would be more favourable than the tour companies could offer. We would certainly return to the Sant Andreu and wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

The aparthotel Sant Andreu is located 5 minutes from the centre of Arinsal with great views down the valley. We were there on a skiing trip with family and friends and discovered that you can avoid the uphill walk by coming down on the sixman chair lift which leaves you uphill from the Sant Andreu and using the gondola down from the hotel to get up the mountain in the morning. This cuts out any uphill walking (lazy aren't we) Also rent a locker at the middle station and avoid carrying your skis around completely (as I said lazy).

We were a group of family and friends including children with 2 vegetarians and several fussy eaters and we were really well catered for foodwise. In particular our group appreciated the roast on Sunday and the curry night was great. We were really well looked after by Elena and Simon and Sarah really looked after us foodwise. Thanks again to Elena for collecting some of our group one evening.

Visit Andorra la Vella for the shopping - it is easy to get to on the L5 bus from right outside the hotel.

The apartments were really spacious and well equipped, but as we were staying half board we never cooked in the apartment. Would love to return in the summer and cycle in the area as it is really beautiful, has a great climate and the roads are good.

All in all a great hotel - we had a great time and would love to return. Would be ideal in both summer and winter and Andorra is a really unique place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aparthotel Sant Andreu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Sant Andreu

Address: Caretera de les Pistes, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty lodging in Arinsal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
British-run restaurant/aparthotel with budget, self-catering apartment accommodation at the top of the village of Arinsal. One-bedroom apartments accommodate 2/4 guests, large apartments 4/6 guests. All apartments are south-facing for sun and have the best views in Arinsal. All have a private (full) bathroom, private balconies, multi-channel TV, sitting/dining room and kitchenette and extra sofa beds. Highly-regarded restaurant offers excellent half-board and good-value menus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Sant Andreu Arinsal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Sant Andreu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Sant Andreu to your Saves list