We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vita Arinsal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vita Arinsal to your Saves list
Vita Arinsal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera General 29, Arinsal AD400, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Arinsal
Meath
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Location,location..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This hotel is now (Hotel Marvel 2011)Excellently placed close to supermarket and gondola. Very friendly receptionist and restaurant staff. Large bar area and plenty of seating dotted around ground floor. Drawback that dinner was on the button of 8:00 p.m. although It was worth waiting for. Plenty of variety and good range for breakfast. No wine list on show to check prices, so i stuck to a palatable house red. I was there during half-term so it was busy and a little cramped in the restaurant. Very clean throughout. Sleep quality ( when I should have been in the pub- apres ski 5:00p.m. - 7:00pm)was affected by the large number of schoolchildren in the hotel. Otherwise it was fine. Rooms small but adequate with good heat. Excellent shower. I had to request a hairdryer from reception.Downstairs area for ski storage etc. No space in our room for a table and chair to sit and read or drink a coffee. It would be handy to have a small rail on the wall just to hang ski jackets on when we came in. Would book it again, having checked out other hotels that friends were in. We made a good choice.Code for internet connection available at reception desk.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    39
    21
    25
See reviews for
41
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed only one night in Andorra during our trip and chose this hotel only because the price was 26€. I'd say that's 24 euros too much. First of all, we were not given "the deluxe" room we requested - instead the smallest and most uncomfortable whole one can imagine. We complained, and were given another room. Even worse - the window faced a backyard dumpster - not exactly the kind of view you're expecting to get in Andorra.

Finally we got a very basic room facing the street and I have to say the view is very nice. Nothing really worked in the room, including the TV. Didn't bother to complain. Breakfast only served some old pastries and relatively bad coffee. On the other, breakfast was included for both for us.

All in all, for one night and breakfast included 26 €:s in really nothing. We stayed here during the summer and even then the room was cold during the night. So: if you're planning to stay in Arinsal during the winter months, do stay out of this hotel. And I can also imagine you won't get such bargain during the winter, anyways.

One more thing: There is an Argentinian "surf-minded" restaurant nearby, and I got one of the best steaks in my life there, so you should definitely check that out!"

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We chose Hotel Solana simply for it was the cheapest place to stay which was relatively central in a popular resort; Arinsal. The location is very good, just a 5 minute walk to the shops and bars, and of course the main gondola which takes you up to the skiing area.

Looking under the surface, we found this hotel to be absolutely fine, assuming you will be out most of the day anyway. Be prepared that this hotel looks like it hasnt been updated since the 70s, it really is quite shocking, but please dont let that alone put you off.

The rooms are rather small, furnishings are old as expected, but its heated and does the job. There is a balcony which is a nice bonus, if it is not too cold. Television is useless unless you understand Spanish, only CNN and Eurosport make up the English channels. Bathroom can be a bit hairy, irregular fixtures, shower doesnt properly fit in the holder, but everything is there and works - hot water always available.

This hotel seems to be usually offered half-board by all tour operators, which does add extra value to your stay. Breakfast is basic, but absolutely fine - expect ham, cheese, jam, yoghurt, fruit and small pastries. Dinner is relatively good, despite what others have said - I suppose it depends how picky you area, but the dinner service does begin at 8pm which we agree is a little late, although we didnt find it to be a problem - allows you to get an apres ski snack to get you by until dinner. The dinner selection was reasonable, usually about 8 main dishes along with salad and desserts. Typical selection would be pasta in cream or tomato sauce, steak or chicken, baked potatoes, some sort of fish dish, vegtables, onion rings and chips. We found the food to be relatively tasty, the only complaint would be that it could tend to be a little salty - but it definately had flavour compared to some other hotel buffets. Another problem was they didn't offer free water, so you need to buy your own drinks and you cant bring your own.

The hotel also has a bar with free wifi and tv, a free swimming pool, sauna, and steam room. They also have ski lockers to put your snowboard, skis and boots although there was a small charge.

Overall an average hotel with a very dated feel. As long as you dont let that put you off, you'll have a great time - the skiing and boarding is excellent, and that is what you are there for, after all!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Having read some of the reviews on this hotel I was surprised as it was not as bad as I had expected it to be. My husband, myself and our 2 sons (12 and 10) booked a quad room. It was very small and the balcony looked out the back of the hotel onto a little yard and a grass bank- no mountain view unfortunately. The room although small was clean and warm and the beds were comfortable. The rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels provided daily if you wanted them. There was a small pool with sauna and steam room which we used every afternoon after skiing. The bar area although large and comfortable, was always smokey so we did not use it much other than a few games of pool before dinner. The food was ok- continental breakfast and buffet dinner. There was always salads, veg, chips, pasta & meat or fish with a desert. The staff were friendly. The hotel is only a 3 minute walk to the gondola which was great. To be honest all this hotel needs is a bit of refurbishment and it could be a fab place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We arrived with a group for the Big Snow Festival - and initially, there was a problem with our booking where we were given a double room instead of a twin room, which wasn't going to work for 2 guys. The hotel stuff were completely unhelpful and simply said it wasn't their problem - and we had to sort it out with the tour agent. Strike 1.
The food on the first day we arrive wasn't too bad and the pastries seemed to be fresh. This changed gradually as on the second day, we realised that they were serving us the previous day's pastries. It seemed that they only buy pastries once per week, because by day 7 the pastries had become hard and crusty. Strike 2.
When we arrived, the toilets in the main hotel were a out of order - and as the week progressed, the stench from the toilet had permeated up the stairwell and into the corridors. By day 7 - one half of the hotel smelt like a leaky toilet. Strike 3 - you're out!!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I stayed in a twin room with a friend that was like a prison cell overlooking a muddy littered path at the rear. The whole place smelt like a toilet and the heating was constantly on, even though it was t-shirt weather outside.
Located at the bottom of town it was an uphill walk to the gondola which was a bit of a trek in snowboard/ski gear.
Arinsal was a cracking little resort though with untaxing and fun slopes.
Just don't stay here!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Staff were very helpful, but unfortunately powerless. This is a very poor value hotel. Tried two rooms. Both were not of an acceptable standard hygiene wise. Both also had safety issues, including exposed wiring, a sizable hole burned in the top of the TV exposing the innards and wiring, balcony window that felt lie it was falling apart. Staff tried all they could but the reality is they were trying to move you from one substandard room to another. three people at recepton complaining about the same issues while i was there complaining. Let me say though, don't blame the staff, they were truly trying to be helpful, but had nothing they could offer you.

I moved out after a sleepless night caused by unsupervised school parties running riot throughtout the night, and a plumbing system that meant i had to listen to every toilet flush, hand wash, shower running etc in the block. I moved to the hotel micolau, small, tasteful, excellent value (50 euros a night), nearer the gondola, and very very clean.

Everything above has formed a formal complaint to the Holiday company, as this was marketed to me as a 3 to 4 star hotel, but the reality is that i would rather have been camping than stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vita Arinsal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vita Arinsal

Address: Carretera General 29, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vita Arinsal 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Vita Arinsal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marvel Arinsal Hotel Arinsal
Solana Hotel Arinsal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vita Arinsal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.