We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal with old freinds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moustakallis Tavern

Moustakallis Tavern
9is Iouliou 10, Polis 8820, Cyprus
00 357 26322883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Polis
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Barbecue, British, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The first original and traditional Cypriot Restaurant-Taverna in Polis.Based just off the central square in the town of Polis Chrysochous by the ample Main Car Park. The style of food here can be described as Cypria-European offering exceptional quality local fruit, vegetables, poultry fish and meat.The restaurant has three different large dinning areas catering for all your needs. Having quiet spots, open spaces and family areas.Whether you are on your own or that large group there is a place for everyone,"YOU ARE ALL WELCOME!"
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Evening meal with old freinds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our recent visit was for a reunion with old friends and previous neighbours who now live in Cyprus.
Our party consisted of 7 Adults and one child who were easily accommodated in this spacious and busy restaurant.
The menu, complete with a written history of this establishment, was comprehensive varied and extremely good.
The service was fantastic with the entertaining staff adding to an excellent atmosphere.
We would all recommend at least one visit during a holiday in the Polis area.
We revisited this restaurant on our departure day for mid-morning coffee etc and although far less busy the staff were as attentive and humorous as our previous visit. .

We understand that they were providing a "Buffet Style" Local Hospital charity event for over two hundred guests that very evening (unfortunately too late for us) and sincerely hope that all went well andt the event was well supported by locals and visitors alike

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    106
    41
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Lovely restaurant very friendly. The meal was beautiful, the kids enjoyed the dessert cabinet the waiter explained every dessert, they wanted to eat them all. My husband received a free spirt at the end of the meal, the children also got a free cocktail. We will certainly come again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best welcome anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This taverna serves superb food and the owners the trio of grandfather, father and son are the most welcoming Cypriots you will find anywhere. The service is first rate and the food is also fantastic. The after meal drinks are always free flowing and Andreas is the perfect host. We always visit this taverna because it is simply the best.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We managed to avoid the evening with the singer, sorry but not to our taste; so the restaurant was fairly quiet. Starters arrived quickly as did drinks but not as quickly as the main course...The waiter came to take our starter as soon as we'd finished asking if we were ready for the main, yes we said and it was a good job because they were being brought to us already. I had the salmon with chips and veg which although a lovely piece of salmon, was boring after a while. My other half had the mixed grill which again became hard going. With a half a carafe of wine and bottle of water the bill came to just over 40€ Ok for quantity but not exciting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“friendly and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Ate here several nights and enjoyed them all.The staff were all friendly, with a special mention to the owner, who visited every table to make sure you had a good meal.After our first visit we were treated like old friends.
The menu was large and had lots of traditional dishes and mezes.We had the meat and the fish meze and had to leave some on both occasions,there was so much lovely food.
The restaurant is down from the square and has a car park across the way.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moustakallis Tavern also viewed

 
Polis, Paphos District
Polis, Paphos District
 

Been to Moustakallis Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moustakallis Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.