We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marion Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Marion Hotel to your Saves list
The Marion Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Mariou Street | P.O. Box 66029, Polis CY 8830, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Polis
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Marion Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked this hotel in Polis to escape the hordes at Pafos. On arrival the hotel was deserted and we had to find someone to check in. They didnt have our booking so it took quite a while but we got in eventually. Room was clean, very dated, hasn't been updated since the hotel was built. No fridge but did have air con. No wifi. Breakfast was very basic. Pool looked ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    7
    8
    13
See reviews for
10
25
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Polis, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was looking for a cheap-n-cheerfull no frills place, and this was it. No fancy stuff , just good plain fare with clean rooms. Very Recommended ! I am leaving here to stay on a boat in a noisy marina - I will miss it...
I seldom do this kind of thing - but this one deserved it.

Room Tip: its a big hotel and not that busy - they will have a nice room for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Marion hotel is an old style hotel in which nothing has changed in the last twenty years. In some establishments this may be charming but here it is just dated. If you are in need of a bolt hole to stay in the north west if the island for a few days on a budget, the Marion is perfectly acceptable. Rooms were clean and it has a basic breakfast room with limited fair on offer. There is also cafe on the complex (if you miss the 7:30 to 9:30 allotted working hours) where you can get a limited selection of sandwiches and drinks. There ia a small pool area and outside bar which was deserted during the stay, as most guests will venture out to the beach and coast areas during the day. For price and economy, it is worth stay but if you are looking for something a little more special than this, then you may be disappointed by the reality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel has been in the business for a long time, which you can tell in every aspect. It is a family run hotel which offers basic amenities, but the overall impression is with a plus. The rooms are very clean, with old, but good furniture, the sheets are bleaching white. It could use some investment in modern a/c equipment because the actual system is obsolete, but for the time we went there, we did not have any use of it. The breakfast is basic, with local fresh products like salami, halloumi cheese, cheddar, olives, tomatoes, boiled eggs, nescafe, a delicious orange juice, milk, cereals etc. Just a good way to start the day, nothing fancy. They have recently renovated the inside of the hotel and I hope they will continue, because my thoughts go with them.
The garden and pool are very nice, full of green grass and vegetation.
Beware of the mosquitoes though, coming in with a mosquito repellent would be a good idea (you can buy an electrical one in the supermarket across the street).

Room Tip: You cannot see the sea very well from the "sea view" rooms, but it offers a very nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

It is the third time I have been coming to this hotel and I must say that it is a pleasure to stay there, managed by a wonderful family.
The price is quite correct for the service offered. Actually, I would rate it 3 Star, without any doubts. The food served is excellent as well as plentiful ; Rooms are clean with view to the sea or to the mountain, etc.
I therefore recommand strongly this hotel for those wishing to have a quite holiday
Patrick C

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Cyprus is all about history, culture, climate and friendly people. The Marion is a small family run hotel and on my two recent trips I found it perfect for my needs.

The rooms were clean, the people were friendly, the bar was good, it had wi-fi and the service was friendly. On my first trip, the pool was being made ready for the season, on the 2nd trip it was freshly filled and the tables and chairs were out - it was a very inviting scene, but I didn't have time to use it.

Other people have complained below - they seem like the kind of people who would like ancient monuments to be freshly painted too. Yes, The Marion could do with being brought up to date in terms of decor, but I didn't stay there for the decor, I stayed there for value for money, good service and a comfortable, clean room - I was NOT disappointed!! That's why I chose it as a base for my 2nd visit, 10 days later.

If people found the staff rude, then I wonder about their attitudes, because my experience was the absolute opposite - everyone was LOVELY - friendly, polite, welcoming, helpful!

The location is also excellent - 10 minute walk into central Polis, with a wide variety of friendly bars, cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: The sunset views are stunning - stand on your balcony with a nice glass of wine and watch the sun di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I was looking for new sea fishing venues so I booked the Marion for one night as the price was right and close to the sea.
My first, and lasting impressions are of an old family run hotel. Imaculatley clean. Widows one could not see the glass they were so clean.
The room likewise, with a balcony, table and chairs overlooking the gardens.
The bathroom needes refurbishment but plenty of hot water, soap and towels.
The usual Cypriot breakfast found in 5 star hotels enjoyed on tables covered in crisp, ironed white and red linen.
Value for money? Very much so. I will be back.
John G

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view. Overlooks the very pretty garden drinks bar and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marion Hotel

Address: 9 Mariou Street | P.O. Box 66029, Polis CY 8830, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Polis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marion offers all the necessary facilities of a 3 star accommodationThe Marion hotel is located in Polis Chrysochous, in one of the most beautiful areas of Cyprus. Situated far from the main tourist settlements, the property features a splendid view over the surrounding countryside near the legendary cave where, according to mythology, Aphrodite the Goddess of love and beauty, used to meet her beloved Adonis. The complex is a 10-minute walk from the wonderful Polis beach and just a 5-minute walk from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.