We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stavros - a great Host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Verginas 13, Polis 8830, Cyprus   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Polis
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stavros - a great Host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It all depends on your expectations. If you are travelling to a hot Mediterannean island on a budget holiday, your expectations should not be great. We spent a week in Apartment 26 at the end of August and had a great holiday. My overwhelming memory was our welcome - "I am Stavros - welcome to my hotel". During our stay we spoke to Stavros on many occasions - we found him a perfect host and were impressed by his modest establishment.
True, the apartment on two levels was not quite as lavish as a duplex suite at the Landmark in London. But the cost by comparison was tiny, The apartment met our expectations - we found it clean and functional. All the plumbing and the electrics worked perfectly. True, it was very hot by day and by night, and the airconditioning available only in the bedroom might have enhanced our modest comfort. With careful use of the ventilation system, we had a very pleasant stay here and enjoyed Stavros's hospitality to the degree that we would certainly stay there again Sui who ran all the catering was excellent.
Standards vary from country to country and travellers should make appropriate allowance, especially in hot climates.
Bougaunvillea Hotel served our purpose perfectly - a modest place to stay to explore a new destination. The swimming pool was adequate and clean.
Well done, Stavros!

Room Tip: Ask Stavros for his advice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    56
    15
    6
    10
See reviews for
48
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just had a week in the apartments. Very good value for money. Not 5 star but then we didnt expect that for the price , the apartments were spacious and had all the basics you need for comfort including a hair dryer and air con. All restaurants we tried in the resort were good value for money and staff friendly. Unfortunately Thompson are pulling out of the resort so you woulld need to book this independently from next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The apartments are very basic, but I suppose all one needs for an overnight. I can't imagine spending any more than one night, as it is quite run down and not very clean. The night we spent there in October 2012 it rained quite a lot and the path down to our apartment was ankle deep with standing water, it was impossible to get to the apartment with dry feet. Each apartment has it's own under roof parking underneath, but not even the owner could tell us how to get the care down there. The management had a no care attitude, if you don't like it, leave it! The so called view over the olive orchard....well, it's more an olive dump. I won't bother again when I'm back in the area.

Room Tip: Try and get an Apartment close to the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just had a week in Cyprus for a last bit of sun before winter. These apartments are privately owned by Stavros and feels as though you are part of his family, in fact we spoke to people who had been going there for years. The apartment is like a small maisonette with plenty of room. The food is good and both food and drink not too expensive. Sadly thomsons have now stopped using these apartments but I would certainly book to go there by direct booking. The swimming pool wasn't very big so I'm not sure how busy it would be in high season. Sui works very hard in fact she seems to be always working. Friday night is bbq night at a cost of 15 euros. The food was very good and got all the guests chatting with each other which made all the guests feel like friends.
Polis is small with a few bars and restaurants which have mostly a traditional Greek Cypriot feel. At Miki's we ordered a two course meal each and was then given a piece of cake, an apple and a drink free of charge. John had brandy which I think was probably a treble!!!
Its about 35 minutes to walk to Latchi on a promenade near the sea which is quite a nice walk. You cut through the camp site to get to the beach, I have never seen a camp site like it, it looks like something from an American horror film.
I wouldn't recommend this to people who like a busy social life but as a quiet relaxing break it is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset. England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked Bougainvillea through Thomson Holidays back in the Spring based on it being in Polis and the mostly good reviews. As the month's went by the mostly good reviews continued and the negative ones became increasingly nasty, and I did wonder if there might be something in them. We arrived late on Wednesday last week and were immediately greeted by Stavros with a cold fruit juice in the bar/reception. We were then taken through the very flowery pathway to our apartment no. 25, slightly dreading what we might see on entering. It was not a surprise that the apartments were basic, but hey there was no peeling paint, no bits of wire hanging off walls, certainly never saw a cobweb and yes there was a bit of dark grouting in the bathroom, but check out any 4 star Holiday Inn or similar you will find the same.
We soon made the apartment ours and less basic by having our own things around There are three small terrace/balconies 1 at the front and then two at the rear, one on each of the two floors. We did not need the a/c as the evenings were pleasantly cool, but we enjoyed 4 days of 29c. during the daytime. (had we had to use the a/c at 6 euros a day we would have done,better I think than sleeping under a wet towel). The pool area was fairly small and typical of a small and friendly apartment complex with decent sun beds and plenty of sun umbrellas. The breakfast was included and for an extra euro you can have a filling good full English. The service is good and Sui, Stavros's right hand lady works very hard on the bar, and many other things. Bougainvillea bar prices are good 2.5 euros for a small glass of wine or 10 euros for a bottle, which can be left in the behind the bar fridge till next usage. There are many competitively priced restaurants only five minutes walk away, which we and our new friends enjoyed followed by a pleasant hour or so in the bar on our return. Finally just to say that the apartments are well equipped, including ladies, a decent hairdryer and plenty of hot water. Yes we like Stavros and will return especially as this part of the island is great to explore the real Cyprus.

.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our first trip to Cyprus but have had self-catering studios throughout Greece many times. We had an upstairs studio with windows and views on three sides so it made for a very light airy room. There was plenty of space for a studio and amenities were perfectly adequate. Both bathroom and kitchen were better equipped than many similar places we have stayed before. Beds were comfortable, the overhead fan was effective and very quiet, our room was serviced every day and linen changed mid-week. It was hard to believe that the place was fully booked as it was so quiet at all times. My partner used the pool every morning and has no complaints. Lots of regular long-term guests who, like us, clearly disagree with the few negative reviews!! Would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: We arrived late after an evening flight. We were a bit disappointed that our request for food was me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very standard, simply furnished holiday apartment. Slightly iffy plasticky mattress made for sweaty night's sleep, especially because of noisy air conditioning unit situated right above the bed (which also cost extra - 6€ per day). Pool not particularly inviting - small and a bit grubby. Owner of the hotel friendly and chatty but staff minimally polite. Free large car park but on gravel and ramp is a bit rough on cars if accessed at the wrong bit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polis
0.3 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#4 of 15 in Polis
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#4 of 6 in Latchi
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Souli Beach Hotel
Souli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Latchi
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akamanthea Holiday Village
3.8 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments

Address: Verginas 13, Polis 8830, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Polis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Polis Chrysochous, 10 minutes' walk from the sea, Bougainvillea Hotel Apts Offers cozy self-catering apartments, an outdoor pool and free WiFi in the public areas. The apartments are surrounded by beautiful gardens overlooking the mountains the sea and the beautiful Akamas peninsula. Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments is an ideal location for those looking for a peaceful base, for their escapes to the mountain and the sea. The location is ideal to explore the island and its unique beauties. There are plenty of nature trails in the area that you can visit and enjoy cycling. You can also swim in the crystal clear sea of Akamas and discover the magic of the underwater world by snorkeling. Each of the light and airy apartments is equipped with a TV, air conditioning, dining area, refrigerator and kitchenware. All rooms also feature a balcony with sea and mountain view. Guests may relax in the terrace by the pool, enjoying magnificent views of the sunset and the Mediterranean Sea. Moreover, an outdoor pool bar is at guests' disposal. The property offers free parking. Our guests at can start their day with a breakfast, enriched with Greek products and vegetables from our gardens. The village square is a short walk from the accommodation and there you will find plenty of cafes and taverns. Latchi Harbor is only a 5 minute drive from the accommodation, with plenty of water sports activities and boat excursions to neighbouring beaches, you can also find there many taverns and coffee shops. Paphos Airport is 40 minuets drive from our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel Polis
Bougainvillea Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.