We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tiring but great - marvellous views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adonis Nature Trail

Adonis Nature Trail
Polis, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Polis
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic five-mile hiking trail of the gods.
Namur, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A bit tiring but great - marvellous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Tiring because 40 degrees in August but nice sea views, and at the end of the trail departing from Aphrodite bath (about 6kms) you can go and have a swim or put your feet in water having shrimps coming on it to play....

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wpg
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Starting from the Bath of Aphrodite, which isn't anything special in my opinion, there are two nature trails. My friends and I took the one that heads uphill right from the start (not sure if that's Adonis or Aphrodite), winding past ever more beautiful views of the coast before you arrive at an old monastery ruin that you wouldn't recognize as such without a guide book. This is a great spot for a picnic under a gigantic shady tree, and there's a water fountain where you can wash your face to cool off. (A sign says it's non-potable, which contradicted our guidebook which suggested it as a place to refill water bottles... we took the risk and were okay, but I dunno...) While sitting there we were joined by a herd of about 30 free-roaming goats with bells that cheerfully passed through on their way up the hill. The way down the hill is incredibly pretty, but be careful on the switchbacks as the footing is questionable in places. The trail ends along the coast, where I couldn't help but stop repeatedly for pictures of the blue water.

You'll be happy for good footwear.

It took us 3.5 hours including necessary breaks on the way up the incline, a picnic lunch, and stops for pictures on the way down. You can pick up a map of the hiking trails at one of the tourist offices in the area, as there are several in the area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great walking along the Akamas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Good walking area with lots of bird life, along well made pathways

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of Chrysochou Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I believe the nature trail is actually Aphrodite (which hugs the coast and turns inland). Adonis nature trail turns inland. They may share a certain path before branching. You really appreciate the clarity of the Bay's waters from this trail. The Baths of Aprhodite aren't much, but the trail is beautiful. Both trails are part of Akamas national park. There is a free parking lot at the end of the road into the park from Polis. There is no entry fee. There is a nice cafe right across from the parking lot with a beautiful view.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Once you have visited Aphrodite's Pool, you can follow the track along well-maintained hillside gardens for some surprising views. Well worth the effort !

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adonis Nature Trail also viewed

Polis, Paphos District
 

Been to Adonis Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adonis Nature Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.