We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View Hotel Apartments

Bay View Hotel Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bay View Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Bay View Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Gregori Afxentiou St, Polis 8820, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Polis
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Perfect Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was in two minds about writing this so as to keep this place to ourselves! All we wanted was a relaxing week away in the sun in accommodation that was away from the hustle and bustle and this is what the Bay View delivered. Our one bed appartment was large and very clean with a lovely balcony - way above what we would expect re normal Greek standards. There were not many people staying so some days we had the pool area to ourselves. Staff were friendly and helpful but unobtrusive.
It was very hot so recommend paying the 5 euros per day for air conditioning in the room. It is is out of the main centre of Polis which is great as it was so quiet - follow the signs to the camp site and beach and you will eventually see a small sign to the right to the Bay View. If you get to the camp site then you have missed the turning!.
Recommend a car - its cheaper to rent a car than pay the high taxi transfer costs from the airport! Also useful to drive into Polis for dinner as the evenings were hot and sticky at the end of June.
Absolutely recommend if you want a relaxing break.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was on the first floor. Luckily no one in the rooms either side so no one overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We booked the Bay View Apts for 2wks at the start of July 2011 through Easyjet holidays. The apartments are 3 star rated and that seems a fair rating to me. When we arrived we were greeted by the lovely Vietnamese staff that works there. They took us to reception and booked us in with the owner and then took us to our two bedroom apartment. Our apartment had some damp issues that we weren’t too happy about as the rooms smelled of damp so we asked for another room which they gave us within an hour of asking.

Our second room was on the 1st floor and gave us elevated views of the mountains and the sea. The apartments were cleaned 6 days a week and towels changed twice a week. The Vietnamese staff were really friendly and helpful and seemed really enthusiastic about there jobs. We booked self catering and really only ate breakfast in our apartment and sometimes lunch. There are no shops or restaurants in the immediate area so a car is probably essential. We had a car and were able to drive to the supermarkets in town that had everything we needed.

The pool area was clean and there were always sunbeds available. The water temperature was around 26c during our stay which was perfect as the daytime temp was getting up to 32c regularly.

This is not a lively party place and the bar closed about 9pm most evenings as there were simply no customers. We usually went out for dinner in the evening but we could have eaten at the apartments as they had a dining area and were happy for you to book dinner in the afternoon.

The apartments are also close to the beach but there are no facilities on that part of the coast. For a beach with all the facilities try the campsite at Polis or go further out to Latchi. The air conditioning units cost 6euro each per night so it can work out expensive for a 2 week stay but very essential in the summer heat. When we checked out the owner gave us a delicious pot of homemade Cypriot plum jam which I though was a very nice touch.

The other guests here were mostly from Germany and Austria and they were very nice people with young families like us. The kids just played along together even though they couldn’t talk to each other! This is a great place if you’re on a budget and are looking for a place to relax for a week by the pool but you may feel isolated if you don’t have a car.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I did a fair amount of research prior to booking the apartment and much of this was based, obviously, on the pictures and information on the website.
When we arrived at the Reception on the evening of 23 March there seemed to be some confusion probably caused by a language problem, all the staff appeared to be Chinese and some of them had no English at all.
Instead of being taken to an appartment within the complex we were escorted out of the complex to a small appartment across the road at the rear of the complex. The apartment appeared to be clean and a reasonable size but bore no resemblance to the information on the website.
There were only two unshaded ceiling lights, one in the bed area and the other in the living space. There were no bedside lights at all.
There was one settee which represented the total seating within the apartment although there were four folding wooden chairs and a folding table on the balcony. Dining in-doors would not have been easy.
In the bathroom the shower curtain rail was at in danger of falling off everytime to shower was used, the same could be said for the toilet roll holder and hand towel ring.
It was impossible to get hot water in the wash hand basin but even if it was available the plug would not operate correctly so the water would have run away.
The brochure states that there was a private telephone in the aprtment, there wasn't but that did not present a problem.
The brochure also states that the refrigerator will be partially stocked. It was empty and switched off.

If I had wanted a second rate flat outside of a complex, I am sure that I could have found one for myself.

This holiday was booked through Hays Travel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We spent a couple of nights here and had a one bedroom duplex apartment. Our apartment opened out on to the pool area from the back door and out the front there was just a small field then the sea. there isn't a great deal else around the apartments, just some villas so it was very quiet and you could hear the sea from our apartment.
The weather was attrocious when we were there but we had heating from the air con unit in the bedroom and we had some lovely sunsets from the balcony. The complex is small but a nice layout with the pool in the centre. As it was such bad weather we obviously didn't use the pool or the bar area at the hotel and we had a car so we spent our time out and about in the area.
The 5-10 minute walk to the town centre that was advertised seemed to be rather ambitious but I imagine it would be a nice walk in the summer months.
the apartment itself was large with the bedroom and rather small bathroom upstairs. furniture was a little shabby but functional. the main good points about this place is the peaceful location and the small and friendlt atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

The Bay View Hotel is an awesome and special place, dating back to the 1797 Mexican-Spanish land grant to the Governor of Alta California, Jose Joaquin Castro Moraga ("Arano"). The hotel is filled with curiosity and intrigue. It is situated in the middle of a "village" entered only by very antique bridges over the deep Valenzia Creek, named after the famous Gabriel Valenzia, who was a military corporal stationed in Santa Cruz Mission until 1831. The hotel has delicious Italian food, authentic as authentic comes. The hostess is from Portugal (and a perfectionist in every aspect of hospitality and tourism) and her husband is from Florence, Italy (a marvelous cook...who also curiously shouts a lot while cooking!). The homes tour of this special mansion and the reception afterwards were very good. Hope more to come!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We went for a quiet weeks rest on a self catering basis.
The apartment hotel fulfilled our criteria completly...its in the middle of nowhere!
You really MUST HAVE A CAR or you will feel marooned. It is a 1 mile walk to Polis (uphill) along narrow country roads.
There are 16 rooms in total for the hotel complex divided into two blocks with the swimming pool and bar/grass area between them.
Some are studios most are 1 bedroom apartments,bedroom on the first floor with balcony,sitting room/kitchen on the ground floor.
There is a annex over the road which is being re-developed at the moment and looking at the state of them will not be ready for this years season!
Best way to find the hotel is on google earth and look to the right of Polis about a mile then towards the sea and zoom in to see the annex..there is very distinctive white round water tanks on the roofs of each apartment .Memorise its location there are no signs at all showing the way..easy to get lost the first time you arrive. Aim for Polis hospital! then turn right go on for 1/2 a mile then turn left.There is a very small sign at the top of the road advertising bike hire at the Bay View hotel... thats it!
We liked the quiet location and the small size of the hotel which I can only discribe as a more like a large guest house in appearence.
Good points:
The rooms were clean fresh lick of white paint all had good quality fittings and everything worked!...
Plenty of bed linen/blankets loads of plates/dishes etc
new fridge/toaster/kettle
High ceilings and thick outside walls which keeps the inside temperature cool...see bad points as well over this!
Double glazed windows keeps the mosquitoes out!
Plenty of free parking in the road outside.
You do not have to leave the room until 12midday on the day of departure(good for pm flights)
Bad points:
No gauze mesh over the windows so you can open them and keep out the flying things!
Air con is extra 5.50 euros per day(no fans in the room)
safe in the room is extra 1.50 euros per day
There is NO oven just two hot rings and NO microwave
The TV only had CNN in english nothing else that I could understand.
If you go and its cold at night (out of the summer months)beg to get in the block with reception in (it has central heating!) the other block has NO heating and the thick walls are designed like a fridge..It is COLD.
We had to move from the heated block because the people in the ajoining apartment were smoking in the room (against the rules) and it was coming through the ajoining internal door seals and rather than confront them they asked us to move...great until we realised that evening about the heating! or lack of.
The management did give us an electric heater when we complained but tried to encourage us to pay the extra for the air/con which we could have put up to the heating setting but we felt that it was not right to have to pay for heating as it was advertisd as free!

Overall we would go back as it suited us..and the price was very good. It is only a 2* and this is right.
The complex is ageing and appears to have been built in the 60/70s.
It is in a backwater at the end of a road with only 8 other houses in, the next stop is the beach!
On the subject of the beach is is shingle/stones (no sand) but is is clean and the water is deep blue and in the summer must be great as it is off the beaten track and cannot reallly get crowded! It has NO amenities at all...just the beach... no ice cream stalls... nothing! Even the way to it is down a small overgrown track.

Polis is a typical small village/town still with that unspoilt atmosphere.
It has a pedestanised area full of restrauants with loads of outside seating.
If you want nightlife then Polis is NOT the place for discos, more like laid back 6 course meals and talking the night away over glasses of wine/beer.
Most people when we were there were my side of 40(the wrong side) and enjoying walking around and looking in all the shops for bargins.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay View Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Hotel Apartments

Address: 26 Gregori Afxentiou St, Polis 8820, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Polis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay View Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Aptos. Hotel Polis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.