We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to start?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akamanthea Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Akamanthea Holiday Village to your Saves list
Akamanthea Holiday Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Venetiotissas Street, Polis 66301, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Polis
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Where to start?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked via Travel Republic & upon arrival on Friday were told there was no such booking even though we had the documentation. We were asked to wait & supplied with a free drink for an hour whilst they found us an apartment, where we could only stay for the night & would be allocated another room on Saturday. As we were only staying for 3 nights to celebrate my husbands birthday & it was inconventient to say the least.
We were not provided with a kettle to make tea & upon going to reception was told it had a 10 euro deposit, but they omitted to give us an adaptor plug..Back I went to reception, only to find they had all been handed out, yet the apartment was supplied with a rather super dishwasher, washing machine, cake mixer & blender, but no kettle (as apparently they get stolen & no adaptor). Luckily I had an adaptor for my mobile phone connection with me.
The following morning the maid arrived early to clean the room in readiness for the new occupants so I went to reception & was told that we were being given a better apartment. It was in fact a two bedroomed bungalow with glorious views to the sea & mountains & blissfully quiet. We took our kettle with us & found that the bungalow already had one (seems that folk who book a 2 bed are less likely to steal!!).
Fortunately we were booked on a self catering basis & had our own car but without one the location is poor but the views are excellent. Anybody arriving without transport would find the walk to the nearest shop for provisions a trek & there are no restaurants in the vacinity. The complex's restaurant & pool area was completley taken over by Polish families & an animation team so if you want a quiet read by the pool during the day forget it, & at night the music was deafening, although it did stop at around 11pm.
Our bungalow was far enough away from all of this to make it a pleasurable stay once we got settled.
You really do need transport otherwise you can not get to the wonderful Baths of Aphrodite & it's brilliant & inexpensive restaurant, with superb views, or in to Polis. We had a wonderful meal at the Mikis Tavern (tel 26321586) in Polis Square. A huge & well grilled Sword fish steak costs under 9 euros, grilled Snapper at 10.5 euros & a carafe of the local red under 7 euros. Excellent service at both places.
Meanwhile back at the accommodation, the receptionists, maids & waitresses were helpful & the complex is lucky to have them.....The gardens are immaculate but much of them are not accessible as the sunbeds around the pool prevent you from wandering past them to the fields & sea beyond, unless you try to squeeze past the occupants who are not really wanting to move to make this possible.
When i ventured in to the pool I had to try & swim between the aerobic lessons & conger eel team!!!!!.
We are generally non-whinging Brits who live in Larnaca, Cyprus, so thankfully could be home withing 2.5 hours. So remember, you will need transport to get the best from Latchi/Polis & an adaptor plug & ask for rooms 127, 128, 129, 130...........

Room Tip: We had 127 & it was very nice & faced north east which was good as the sun went off of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    54
    25
    13
    10
See reviews for
66
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Akamanthea. I stayed here a few years ago and was so impressed i suggested a return visit with my partner and three year old son. What a mistake! I'll start with the room, we were given room 229 which is a one bedroom apartment. We only had one chair on our balcony so i asked the receptionist for two further chairs and a table (as every other apartment had this) i was told if it was possible they would do this. Thought this was a bit off as we paid the same as everyone else. Anyway we were given one the next day and when my partner sat on the chair it collapsed! I started to wonder if this was faulty towers!!!
We paid 42 euros for air con that literally poured water out which my little boy went flying on, we complained and were assured someone would fix it but all they did was turn it right down so it didn't pour water out, but it didn't cool the room either!
The hotel information states that depending on your tour company (we booked with on the beach) towels were changed 2-3 times a week ours were changed once which was a nightmare considering we had to use lots of them to put under the leaking air con!
There is no way you could call this a self catering apartment either, only one of the two hobs worked, there were hardly any utensils, no toaster, kettle etc and there were ants everywhere. I would advise people to put everything possible in the fridge!
The maid service was dire too i think they swept and moped the floor and that was it. And the beds were rock hard, the bed settee my son slept on had a massive groove down the middle of it.
The pool area however was lovely until the 'relax club' turned up and blasted out dodgy music and started the activities for all the Polish visitors. This hotel is for the polish with only a few British visitors. All the activities, kids club etc is delivered by Polish for the polish it was like stepping back into the 80's. When did speedo's come back in?! They were all pretty rude to be honest, i felt sorry for the bar staff working so hard while the 'relax' staff sat around. They put towels out early, stole parasol's from people etc, very sad but nothing could match the lows of the dance the reps did just before they all buggered off for lunch which coincidentally was the nicest quietest time of the day for us!
This really could be a lovely hotel with some money spent sorting the rooms out and maybe less of the dodgy entertainment. The area is amazing Polis and Latchi are so nice the places to eat in Polis are amazing, so friendly and great with kids too. Will come back to this area but not to this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't get room 229!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Akamanthea again 4th stay and I must say I was a llittle disappointed on this occasion, the room itself was again adequate for our needs, we were warned at the airport there was a large Polish contingent which didnt initially phase us, unfortunately it was very evident once there, the entertainment was for the Polish and the announcements were in Polish, the kids club was for the Polish we were segregated villa wise from the Polish so all in all everything was geared up for them and when I mentioned it to the owner was told "sign of the times!" well I paid my money too, maybe this was the fault of the tour operator Olympic who you saw if you wanted for an hour in the morning, I must say the Polish entertainers were very well set up and I am not too bothered about joining in, but even the music that entertained their aqaurobics, waterpolo etc was Polish about 4 English songs which because you didnt understand their commentary suddenly boomed out in total, I feel next year we wont be welcome there at all, which is sad because the Akamanthea was a very nice village

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Having read two very poor reviews before we left we were concerned at what we would get. All I can say is there is no need to worry, those who left the poor reviews must have been somewhere else. We stayed in a two bedroom appartment, air conditioning was included, it was spotlessly clean with both a dishwasher and a washing machine in the well furnished kitchen. There could have been more utensils, we had to buy a bread kinife and a few mugs (although there were plenty of cups) but hardly a big problem. The rooms were cleaned every day except Sunday and toilet paper and soap were stocked up daily, towels were changed every 3 days, quite normal for a resort hotel. The staff were very effecient and helpful and while the entertainment was not for us it was not obtusive if you didn't want to join in. We stayed S/C and went out each night, both Polis and Latsi are within easy reach with plenty of good taverns although I am glad we had a car for the two weeks as it would have been a long walk perhaps 20 to 30 mins.
A great holiday and a lovely hotel I would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orestiada, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great value for money.The pool was great and the facilities like tennis court,spa center and volleyball court awesome!!Its something between sea and mountain with a great view of your choice!!!Good breakfast and the staff professionals!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our 4-person family were very sutisfied with our stay at the “AKAMANTHEA” hotel (from 10 th -18 th of June 2012). We were traveling with travel agency "ITAKA", which, thanks to its local manager, was well organized. Wonderful hotel with beautiful surroundings, garden, great rooms with conditioners, swimming pool, restaurant, outdoor bar, food, drinks and good service. Due to a delayed flight for one day, we were fed and housed for free. Of course, Wi-Fi connection and a modern TV with remote control in the rooms, would be a great advantage to the hotel. This hotel is for an active rest lovers (many events for both adults and children). Hotel and activities, mostly in Polish, so it is advisable to take place for Polish families with children.

Room Tip: “Room (2 bedroom) "144", is located on the south of the reception and a pool bar, and is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed for 1 week 10th to 17th July 2012 arrived late evening were allocated a 2 bedroom ground floor apartment . the rooms were immaculate as was the entire complex and very well equiped washing machine dishwasher huge fridge freezer ,strangely you had to ask for a kettle toaster hair dryer @ 10euros each (returnable ) at reception .the breakfast was pretty much the normal cereal,fruit,bacon,egg,etc,etc all of which was nice . i have read some reviews that totaly condemn the whole place which i think is very unfair and probably left because of a silly little problem ,the towels for example depending on your tour operator are changed on a 3 day basis ,we asked for extra and got so wasnt that much of a problem , we had to ask for an airer and waited for a day . as i said silly little things ,alittle bit disorganised .Would we stay again ? CAN'T WAIT , I would recommend it but because of the location i would say a car is a must .

Room Tip: pick a ground floor and you get a huge garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polis
0.8 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#3 of 6 in Latchi
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Polis
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
17.9 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#45 of 95 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akamanthea Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akamanthea Holiday Village

Address: Venetiotissas Street, Polis 66301, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Polis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Akamanthea Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Akamanthea Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akamanthea Holiday Village Polis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akamanthea Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.