We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very poor and over-priced hotel - one to avoid!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Helvetia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New Helvetia to your Saves list
New Helvetia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helvetia Street 6, Platres 4820, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Newcastle, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A very poor and over-priced hotel - one to avoid!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel has clearly seen better days, and certainly better management.
The first problem - arrived around midnight - no personal welcome, no facilities available, no staff to be seen, just keys on the reception desk - first impressions DO count!
Second problem - the room was cold, the sheets were not aired, the radiators in the room had been turned off BEFORE our arrival, the floor was dirty, the carpet in the corridor was filthy, and the 'hot' water was barely warm enough!
Next morning the manager? owner? was approached about the heating, and was asked if it could be turned up or left on for longer - no, because this would be too expensive (bear in mind the room rate was 94 euros for a double B&B!) but he would supply a stand-alone electric room heater - this was done, and the room was warm enough after this.
The beds were made daily, but the corridor remained filthy throughout our stay.
Supposed to be wi-fi throughout the hotel, but actually only worked in the bar.
We came back after a day out at about 10.15pm - everything in darkness, no bar service, no sign of the manager/owner, only his elderly mother watching TV in the lounge and obviously assigned to lock up once guests had returned.
The final insult was that the manager/owner refused to accept a credit card for payment 'because the machine was broken', when we knew the real reason was the Cyprus banking crisis - why not just be honest?
For the price of 94 euros a night I would expect quality accommodation and a high standard of service - this hotel provides neither - it is a total rip-off and deserves to close - do not go there!
And check my other reviews, because I rarely leave bad ones!

Room Tip: Do not even begin to think about staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
15
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

In the rooms is mold and cracked bedroom ceiling. The cleaning was almost absent. The rooms were cold. After one night we complained about the heating and the owner said that is too expensive to put an extra heater in every room were we staid.
Because some had allergies they suffered during the stay in this hotel.
From my point of view, this hotel in too expensive for the quality of the service and the quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

New helvetia hotel was really very nice, bedrooms were lovely, upstairs had a little sitting room with a plasma tv, downstairs was the bed, bathroom and shower. It had 3 lounges with games 2 relax, and a nice log fire. it also had a big dining room. We had a very nice time there, the only disappointment i would say was the breakfast, i thought it was really poor for the price you pay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

New helvetia is the best hotel for me.Beacase there you can go walking,go to make bicycle.There,in the new rooms 40-48 you can make your best holiday because there are the best rooms in all the villages.Also in the winter you can sit near the fire see the snow and drink hot chocolate or tea.Also the manager is very good with us.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We go regularly to this hotel for the past twenty years. Every time there is something new and the owners always make improvements. They have turned this lovely hotel which was built at the beggining of the twentieth century in to a comfortable cozy hotel in the heart of the forest. Somethings though never changed. The friendly approach of the owners and the hospitality combined with high professionalism make you feel at home! You must try it at least once.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Well first things first . The building itself is magnificent! The view from the room balcony, the fresh smell & oxygen you breathe while waking up make everything worth the 90 euros spent on this 2* hotel. The hotel offers only the basics for a 1-night sleep over, nothing more. The bed was awful to lay on, the bathroom was obviously built for a tiny and skinny person, not to mention the squeaky and filthy staircase! Room service was not available, could not order anything after breakfast; when wanted to grab a snack in the afternoon we had to go all the way to Platres centre! On the up side though, the breakfast was more than ok, considering the rest of the facilities. Also, the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the greatest Waterfall and forest in Platres.. at the end of the day I guess, in these kind of vacations all you need the hotel for is to sleep at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We've just had two comfortable and relaxing weeks at the New Helvetia in Platres.
At 1200m, the location of the hotel is above the intense heat of the coastal plain, thus, the
cooler nights allow for an undisturbed and refreshing night's sleep.
The hotel is situated in a forested area, which provides shade, and allows gentle sunlight
to filter through the aleppo pines. The affect of this is best felt when taking breakfast on the
extensive terrace.
The communal areas are most agreeable, with the lounges, bar and dining room generating a homely, informal and restful environment.
The rooms offer pleasant accommodation, and they are cleaned and freshened every day.
Staff are cheerful, helpful and allow guests to relax without irritation.
The kitchen staff provide interesting and appetising meals, which are presented in an attractive
and appealing way.
The brick-built hotel reflects the charm of the period in which it was
established, and has an interesting history which is worth exploring.
We shall certainly return to the New Helvetia, anticipating another comfortable and relaxing
holiday.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Helvetia

Address: Helvetia Street 6, Platres 4820, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Platres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Platres
New Helvetia Platres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Helvetia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.