We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Troodos mountains a must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caledonia Falls

Caledonia Falls
Aedonion Road, Platres, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Platres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Troodos mountains a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We took the bus from the bus station in Limassol to the top of the Troodos mountain. There are several restaurants and places were one can buy souvenirs and some snacks. Especially, the shop that sells dried fruits, nuts and other local delicates is something you should visit, the owners are great people.

We took the trail down to the small village of Pano Platres, which went by the Caledonia falls. It took us less than two hours to get down to the village and the scenery was amazing. I recommend anybody going to Cyprus to take the time to visit the Troodos mountains.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Refreshing View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you walk up to it from the trout farm, or down to it from the old road, the pause at the falls offers
a sharp,refreshing spray.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Hard Work paid off!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

the trek was tiring and a bit too long for our liking! but the views on the top were worth it! I also enjoyed a chilled splash bath on the top much to the shock and surprise of fellow travellers! but thanks to my bravery 5 youngsters also joined the fun!

Real awesome experience and a must visit place of somebody is visiting Troodos!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

On our way somewhere else, my wife spotted the road sign for the waterfalls, so we decided to go and look for it. It was a bit of a windy road downhill but it was easily done by our small rental car. We thought perhaps we were on the wrong way, but persevered and parked next to some kind of hut. The last bit you walk down some steps and stairs and the across a sturdy footbridge. As you approach, you can hear the waterfall but not see it, which increases the anticipation. Once in sight, there may be a few rocks to get closer and take some really nice pictures. The "pool" the water falls into is quite secluded with rocks rising steeply for several meters. It was a wonderful place to visit and the weather was great. It was one of the the highlights of our day. The area was also quite clean - a pleasure for the eye.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A lovely finale' to a beautiful nature trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

There are two routes to the Caledonian Falls, one is via the directed nature route, which will involve a hike of around an hour, with the beautiful falls at the end, there is also a little track that you can drive down in a 4x4 and park up just 5 minute's walk from the falls, must be seen,

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caledonia Falls also viewed

 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Been to Caledonia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caledonia Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.