We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christy's Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Christy's Palace to your Saves list
Christy's Palace
Filoxenias Street 45, Pedoulas 2850, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedoulas
Paphos, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

+ Located in the center of the village. It is an old building but the rooms are quite clean. On our arrival we found a plate with fresh delicious fruits and 2 small bottles of water. Excellent value for money if you need just a place to sleep for the night. We paid only 30 euros for a double en-suite room without breakfast.

- Our neighbors were very noisy. It was a family with one small child. They woke up early in the morning and they were shouting for a long time. Finally we managed to sleep again when they left from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
6
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for just one night whilst on a walking trip in the Troodos. The entrance to the hotel is up a flight of steps up from street level. It did feel a bit intimidating but once on the floor above we had a warm genuine welcome and guided to our room: smallish, clean, small balcony facing onto the street. Bathroom - small, functional and clean. Things turned up at dinner time - a fantastic home-cooked spread of grilled chicken, veg , spuds and homemade ravioli. Embarassingly, we couldn't finish but only because of quantity. Breakfast was a similar feast. Christy's is owned and run by the local mayor, Andreas. Food is prepared by his wife. Staying here is a real slice of Cyprus and would definately return if in the area. Dont expect luxuries / pool /aircon: it's not that sort of place.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everybody knows that accommodation in Cyprus is very expensive. Plus, I visited this country in late September when the harsh coastal weather was still very disturbing. When I arrived in Pedhoulas I found an amazingly fresh, quite, green, full of springs, valley with a charming and quite authentic village. The cherry on top was Christy's Palace. I had a a very nice room, all for myself, with a small but clean private bathroom. The breakfast was plentiful and quite delicious. The views of the veranda where the breakfast was served outstanding. Andreas, the host did everything to make me feel at home. Also, he provided me with lots of information and guide books that helped me to discover the unique churches, nature trails, cobbled streets and characteristic architecture of Pedhoulas and the Marathasa Valley. What can I add more? The best value for money that I found in Cyprus with the usual great Cypriot hospitality.

Room Tip: Maybe you can try to get one of those which have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Christy's Palace is well known and easy to find if you arrive by your own.
Warm welcome with cup of tea.
Nice place where to stay relax before or after visiting Kikos and others sites surroundings. We added one more night there before next trip in Cyprus.
Breakfast is included and well served .
The re-opening of the restaurant will be a must for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This hotel was not nice at all. It was very very cold in the rooms and I had to ask for central heating to be put on but it takes so long to warm up. Also no hot water was available until the morning. We did eat here on our first day which me and my partner was very dissapointed with the food. Staff seemed ok but very quiet, almost not wanting any interaction with the guests. Seemed a little strange in there at times. I definately wouldn't stop at this hotel again. It had a creepy feel about it :-( We were actually pleased to get out of there!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas P, Owner at Christy's Palace, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We accept any kind of reviews because they help us to develop ourselves. But, writing unfounded comments, to our belief, they do create bad feelings and they do not provide good ground for future co-operation. We remind people that we do not offer food, we work only on Bed and Breakfast terms, so we cannot understand the negative comments on food.
The Manager and our staff are doing their best to satisfy the needs of guests in whatever nature and at whatever cost.
We found out that a number of guests expect to find a 3 or 4 stars hotel services with only €15 per day BB. This is not possible and we advise this kind of guests to choose high class hotels instead of expressing bitter comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Arrived at the hotel to find there was no central heating on or hot water available. We asked the staff if they could turn it on to which he replied the heating and water come on between 6am and 10am in the mornings. The staff were very unwelcoming. It was a cold dull hotel, The room was filthy and in the 3 days we were there we did not have our beds made, floor cleaned or bins emptied. The breakfast was awful so we decided to eat at other hotels. The staff never spoke to us or asked how our stay was. They seemed very lazy and unwilling to do anything we asked. There was a big urine stain on the matress and the room had a very fusty dirty smell. I feel cheated out of 180 euros. I had to shower my 2 year old in freezing cold water. I found the stay a hassel and very stressful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas P, Owner at Christy's Palace, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We totally disagree with contents of respective review and believe us we cannot understand the motives of client. We do not remember to have ever turned down any requirement of customers even though sometimes these requirements are costly and very difficult to apply. If terms of stay are Bed and Breakfast and customers did not even aproach the table where breakfast is served, we are of the opinion that they have no right to add negative comments in their review. We employ a young lady who is always willing to clean the rooms and empty the bins.
We admit it is not possible to satisfy the needs of every customer. People visit us from all over the world, different civilizations, different religion and different requirements. As a family run hotel we do our utmost to offer the best of ourselves.
We appreciate reviews who are written in goodwil, after all these reviews give us the oportunity to develop our premises and our services and we strongly believe that reviews should be directed to these ends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christy's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christy's Palace

Address: Filoxenias Street 45, Pedoulas 2850, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Pedoulas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedoulas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christys hotel was originally founded by our parents and we continue offering that traditional village service as they did years ago. Hotel is situated in the centre of the village of Pedoulas on the main road. You can easily travel to Kykko famous monastery only 22 klm. Easy access to Archangel Michael Unesco church and to our 2 very interesting museums(entrance is free). You can enjoy traditional food in the nearby restaurants and you can walk in very romantic trails and if you are a religious person just to mention that in the village of Pedoulas there are 9 churches.For the moment we provide only Bed and Breakfast at very low prices. Hotel operates all over the year even when snow comes. Rooms are supplied with TV, private shower of bathroom,some with veranda, double/twin beds some of them over 2 m. long, family rooms are also available, central heating and hot water. Experienced Manager/Owner and very polite and willing receptionist are always there to offer their best and make your stay at Christys enjoyable. We assure guests they will feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Christy's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christy's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.