We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Cypriot experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother's Restaurant

Mother's Restaurant
Avenue Apostolou Pavlou | Basilica Center, Shop D, Paphos 8046, Cyprus
+357 26 936474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 445 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek, Vegetarian, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wigan, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Cypriot experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went to this restaurant on a recent holiday in Paphos. I had previously read the reviews and was recommended the restaurant by an acquaintance who visited Paphos regularly. Before we went I got talking to a guest in the hotel who had been there a few days earlier and also recommended it. We were a party of 8 and so I eventually found it and booked a table.
What an experience it was. The restaurant is run by two brothers who kept everyone entertained. We had the special and the food was excellent. As we are a "mature" group it was good to hear the 60's music being played along with the Greek music. We had starters, main, a couple had desserts (the rest of us were too full to eat one!) then cocktails and coffee (be aware it's local coffee but nevertheless still palatable!). To our amazement the bill came to €160. As we paid the bill they gave us free liqueur shots of our choice.
If I ever go back to Paphos this is one venue I will certainly revisit.
The restaurant is not easy to find. Go up by the bus station, past Debenhams and you will see the sign for Mothers which is off the main road. It's location adds to the enjoyment as you think you are out in the sticks away from anywhere and not just tucked away from a busy resort.
I thoroughly recommend this place to anyone looking for something different to the many bars and restaurants around the harbour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    69
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Visited after reading reviews .so pleased that we visited .food great atmosphere great and the brothers that run it are pure comedy . They had everyone in the restaurant laughing . My husband had octupus stifado and kleftiko .He said that it was one of the best meals that he had while in Cyprus . Definitely worth a visit .value for money .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“still the best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have been going ton Paphos since 1996 and always pay a visit to see the 2 brothers in Mothers . Each time this holiday we both had the dish of the day and last week had a starter to die for fresh homemade mushroom soup. Not the cheapest food but the best in Cyprus (loverley, jubberley)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Amazing food, hidden gem, great service , warm welcome, highly recommended 10/10, we had the cypriot meze for 2 , which started off with a fresh salad, followed by a selection of cold side dishes, halloumi cheese BEST IVE EVER TASTED :)) section of beautifully prepared meats, the lamb from the clay oven, and much more.........

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Hidden gem worth seeking out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Having read the other reviews on Trip-advisor we decided we'd give Mothers a go and were so pleased we did.... I wasn't sure if we'd even find it as it was so well hidden but then we saw the sign on the main road without any problem and less than 2 minutes away from the car park, behind a tattoo shop we found a courtyard full of flowers and a complete oasis.

We were welcomed by the two brothers like old friends but with genuine warmth. The reviews had said it was quite often very quiet and so we were pleased there were 3 other couples already in there.

The menu was limited but had everything we wanted and more. We were brought our drinks and bread and butter and ordered halloumi and then both went for the days special of kleftico. They do a different special every night cooked in their traditional clay oven. The restaurant filled up whilst we were there and the two brothers ran around welcoming everyone like old friends, serving, clearing tables and saying good night with handshaking and kisses to everyone too. The food was superb, the halloumi some of the best I've had and the kleftico not too huge and cooked simply with herbs and lemon juice and served with jacket potato and vegetables. We'd decided to go for an ice cream by the sea so didn't have dessert or coffee but were offered liqueurs of our choice so both opted for orange which was delicious too!! The whole thing only came to €30 including service!! Don't be put off by the location, this is well worth seeking out

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Restaurant also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Mother's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.