We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't stay long. Just a photo stop!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aphrodite's Rock

Aphrodite's Rock
Paphos, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Visit Aphrodite's Rock like an insider
$28*
and up
Ranked #32 of 106 things to do in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We didn't stay long. Just a photo stop!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is a viewpoint there and it's nice to take photos, but I think they could make it better with a clear parking area and benches to sit on and maybe an ice cream seller!! I expect most people are just passing on their way to Paphos or Limassol.
I have been on a cruise where we went to see the rock from the sea, and it was lovely.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    463
    393
    94
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Consett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's a rock!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a rock in the sea. If you go there, make sure you know what it's history is, as we had no real idea, and the tour guide didn't help much either.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“aphrodites rock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

1. we liked seeing where aphrodite was born from the sea
2. we disliked where we visited because we were too far away to take pictures

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's just a large piece of rock!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

You couldn't get near it as it's situated out a little. From the hill top, it did look amazing though!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“It's a rock in the sea beside a pebble beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Disappointing site which doesn't live up to the guide book hype. The car park for this beach is on the opposite side of the road. A narrow pedestrian tunnel runs under the road from the gift shop/cafe beside the car park to the beach. According to our guide book: "you can see trees on which infertile women tie hankerchiefs or scraps of fabric to appeal for help from Aphrodite" -not quite, bushes with bits of plastic bag tied to them would be a truer description. When we were there the area near the rock was crowded (the rocks offer some shade from the sun) but the sea was far too rough for anyone to sensibly cobsider swimmng near the rocks themselves. Quite a bit of visitor detritus on the beach too. Worth a stop off if you're in the area, but probably not a special journey.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aphrodite's Rock also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Aphrodite's Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aphrodite's Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.