We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metaxas

Metaxas
8 Amfitrionos, Paphos, Cyprus
26 945923
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 425 restaurants in Paphos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The restaurant may not look like the most enjoyable place to spend an evening but it most certainly is. It is clean and friendly and we were made to feel most welcome on our first visit. Tables are moved in and out of the restaurant depending on where guests would like to sit.
Everything is done in a professional way and drinks very quickly arrived while we mulled over the interesting menu gradually whittling down the numerous dishes that we first wanted to try.
Each meal is served with great attention to detail. All dishes are cooked fresh to order so be prepared to sit back and enjoy the whole experience. Forget fast food - this is proper dining and an unhurried relaxed meal is guaranteed.
The menu is varied and includes traditional Cypriot dishes as well as amazing Italian fare. The prices are extremely reasonable and the staff take great pride in their restaurant ensuring that everyone enjoys their evening.
Thank you for solving our evening meals.........FOUR times in one week! It has been difficult to try and get back into boring food in the UK. Looking forward to a return trip for some more great dishes and making room for the wonderful roulade!! Congratulations to Stephanos and Claudio. You certainly live up to your name of Superlative Catering. Thank you.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    168
    42
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dress for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our experience was not as good as we had expected having read the reviews! As we like to take our time to fully experience our meal and surroundings the wait for the food was not an issue. The chicken livers starter was excellent. For main course I had the pork in a port gravy and my wife initially chose cod in a shrimp sauce which unfortunately was not available, so settled for the chicken in a sweet chilli sauce. Whilst the food was nice it was just that, not anything above the ordinary and left us a little disappointed as we paid a little more here than other nearby restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Discovered this when we first came to Paphos 6 years ago. We have been to Paphos 5 times and on every occasion we have had a meal here. The prices are about the same as the local restaurants but the presentation, variety and service is second to none. Very efficient service and an extensive selection of Italian cuisine with a mix of Cypriot. The food is freshly prepared and arrives piping hot. I recommend the squid starter as this is something I have never seen elsewhere. It is more like a squid soup. Great pasta that tastes homemade and fresh. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Paphos. You should allow a little time for the meal as it is freshly prepared and if they are busy it does seem a little slow. However, it is well worth the wait. Parking is outside and it is just of the Tombs of the Kings road.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for me in paphos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Has a meal here twice during my holiday with friends and found the staff very friendly and the food excellent only cooked when you order it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant last year and enjoyed it so much we returned again this time round. The food is cooked fresh so you do have to wait a while but it well worth it Recommended the Metaxas to people in our hotel and they we're also impressed. Will definitely return again next time we're in Cyprus.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metaxas also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Metaxas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metaxas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.