We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Cuisine & Environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilia Persian Restaurant

Ilia Persian Restaurant
Poseidonos Ave, Opposite Almyra Hotel, No. 77 | Katopaphos, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
+357 26 950008
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 432 Restaurants in Paphos
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The first and only Persian Restaurant in Paphos Traditional Persian environment decorated with hand made pieces of art - not found anywhere else! All cooking is fresh and cooked on natural charcoal.
Paphos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuisine & Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Ilia Persian Restaurant Paphos Cyprus has the most amazing authentic decor, with hand-painted Persian art on the walls and a mystical environment. It's the whole experience of Ilia that makes you want to return again. The menu includes traditional Persian dishes which are freshly prepared by a specialist Chef. The option to have non Persian dishes is available, but the experience of trying Persian dishes is a "cultural experience", unique in Cyprus.
The management and staff are a "family-team" and are proud to share their experiences of Persian culture and explain the dishes in detail - their origin, region, etc. If you are dining with friends, I would recommend selecting different choices to have a variety of choices to try from one table.
When I visited last time there was an electronic violinist who had the whole restaurant up dancing, plus the owner and his wife!
When in Paphos, please give this restaurant a try - it's an unforgettable experience, good value for money (often with 10% off for first time diners) and remember your camera as you may be tempted to enjoy in with the live entertainment and belly-dancing! (Do check what evenings live entertainment is on before booking).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fyti, Paphos, Cyprus
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“What a change!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our first visit to Ilia was in it's first week of opening and having opted then for a "cheap" set meal frankly, we were very disappointed. So we decided to give it a second chance and we were really glad we did.
The decor is the same but as far as food went there was no comparison-it was excellent! We opted for the Persian meze and like most mezes the food just kept coming. Choice of cold starters/ dips was almost enough on its own with beautifully tasty olives in the chef's special sauce. And then the food kept coming with an attentive waiter telling us what each course was. Loved everything that was being served. Everything was just perfect but beware of quantities-so much so that we admitted defeat-it was just too much for the two of us. Next time, and there will certainly be one, we'll maybe opt for the meze again but possibly order a meze for two or three amongst four of us.
An excellent evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

What a treat! My friends and I visited this restaurant last night and were delighted with the
Friendly welcome we received. Good variety of choices on the menu and we each tried a different dish. All of them were excellent, well cooked and very tasty
All the staff were very attentive and we would certainly go back again
Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Impressions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Having read all the recent reviews we went to Illia thinking that we were not going to enjoy it but it turned out to be a great restaurant. The staff were very friendly and the food was first class. We had a problem with one of the starters but this was replaced immediately and the manager came and apologised and then explained why there had been a problem. Our main courses were delicious and huge. The Persian stew really has a distinctive and very pleasurable taste and the Sultan kebab was first class. The sweet menu is very limited but we shared a Persian dessert ( sorry cannot remember its name but it's picture is in the very helpful picture guide which is at your table) and it was delicious. We found all the food reasonably priced and will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great at first, but very disappointing the second visit...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The ratings on this review are based on my second visit to Ilia. My wife and I were excited to see a new restaurant open in Kato Paphos. We visited in the first week the restaurant opened, for dinner, with my sister-in-law. We ordered the Persian Meze for three guests. We were more than satisfied with our meal. We shared from upwards of 24 dishes, including salads, sides, starters and main dishes. The food was accompanied by a combination of dips and sauces. We were served several small portions of beef, lamb, and chicken, wonderfully marinated and cooked to perfection. It is necessary to remark that the quantity of food was enough to feed at least five people, even though we ordered only three servings of the Persian Meze. We left well fed, our taste buds completely entertained by this new dining experience. We vowed to return soon and we recommended the restaurants to our friends and family.

With this excellent experience in mind, we decided to go again two months later, this time with a couple of friends we had not seen in a while. We made a mid-week dinner reservation for four.

Our second experience was as if it we were dining in a different restaurant. We ordered the same Persian Meze, this time for four. The starters were good, although reduced in variety and spice. The disappointment started when the main dishes arrived. In general, the portions we were served were much smaller than those we got the first time, keeping in mind we ordered for four, not three. For example, we were served an egg dish, which contained exactly three eggs, for a table of four. The beef stew in pomegranate sauce contained exactly four one-inch cubes of beef. The spicy chicken kebab and one of the lamb dishes were not served. While we didn't go hungry we felt disappointed that the both the quantity and, most importantly, the variety of the food was markedly diminished.

I feel that the whole point of the "meze" style of dinning is to sample a variety of small dishes, often the best the chef can offer. The variety of dishes fell short of our expectations. While a small reduction in the portion size would have been reasonable, by a conservative estimate, we were served roughly half of the quantity of food we received the first time we visited Ilia. In short our second dining experience fell far short of our excellent first experience My wife and I, frankly, felt a little embarrassed to have raved about how good this restaurant was only to be disappointed to such degree our second time there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilia Persian Restaurant also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Ilia Persian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilia Persian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.