We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired and jaded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daphne Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Daphne Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Daphne Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3 Alkminis Str | P.O.Box 60175, Paphos 8041, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Paphos
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“tired and jaded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

hotel rooms were very spacious but dilapidated . the kitchen appeared to be approx 10 to 15 yrs old and the furniture not much younger. curtains frayed and ill fitting. the pool was the most uninviting i have ever seen, patched up tiles everywhere and the surrounding area was concrete covered in torn green baize.the redeeming features were the excellent staff who couldn't be more friendly and helpful and the quality of the food. the bar has very competitive prices and a happy hour that lasted for 4 hrs at prices you usually only dream of nowadays. the bus station is a 3mins walk away and you can go anywhere for 1 euro.

Room Tip: can't really comment as our pool view room we paid extra for had a 30 ft tall tree in front of i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    99
    74
    29
    47
See reviews for
82
135
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Visited Daphne hotel apartments for the 6th January celebration of Orthodox "theofania". A basic starting point, VERY CHEAP for exploring Paphos.
Apartment basic with basic facilities like cooker/ oven etc. Very cheap and good for long time stay for budget holidays.
Most of the places in Paphos can be visited on foot.
There is also a small private car parking (with deposit almost as much as the room rate).
Apartments are in need of refurbishments, however in such a low rate YOU WONT CARE.
There are a lot of restaurants to choose from for breakfast/lunch/dinner, supermarkets and convenience stores very close by, the new Kings Avenue Mall is around 2km away. Therefore for budget/no frills tourism, Daphne is ideal.
There is a swimming pool onsite (NOT THE BEST AROUND).
There is a restaurant onsite and lots, lots in few steps away
There is a beach nearby (NOT THE BEST)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to cyprus. Well where shall I begin we arrived around 9 in the evening it was quiet as it was December and out of season we were taken to our room did not see much as I was tired and wanted my bed. Our apartment was at the far side ground floor overlooking the pool so not to bad so far the bed was a bit hard like sleeping on a board I managed to sleep on it just other people may like it. In the morning we had a good look around and I agree with what a lot of people say it does need some refurbishment but looking around the resort during our stay I could say the same about a lot of the hotel/apartments at the end of the day you get what you pay for and we did not pay a lot if you want 5* then you will pay the prices we payed for a 3* and got it so why people moan I do not know why I think when people go abroad to another country they think it's like staying in a hotel in the UK well wake up and smell the roses ITS NOT the same. your holiday is what you make it and the Daphne had charming and helpful staff, the room was cleaned everyday, the outside does not look its best but it was cleaned everyday, the pool was cleaned out everyday. so like I said before accept what you pay for if you stay here. If you don't like the music from the Rose pub at 2 in the morning do what I did close the bedroom door. If you want hot water do what I did and run the water in the bathroom, make a brew and when you have drunk it the water was great so my final say is Improvise, Adapt and then Overcome go on holiday and enjoy it, we did.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304 which was at the rear so I would advise staying in this block as the bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I'm sorry to say that the apartment we stayed in was way below what we expected. Entry to our apartment was down a path which had some old loose chip board covering a problem in the pathway around the back of the swimming pool leading us to a back door entrance in a car park. Our apartment was on the 3rd floor so we had to carry our suit cases up there. When we got to our apartment the door was very shabby and looked like an old shed door that needed painting. Opening the door we found an outdated sitting room/kitchen but thought we could be ok for the time we wee staying. We then went into the bedroom to find someone had burnt the carpet with an iron and there were other burns as if someone had left a tea light on the floor. We turned on the tap in the kitchen and found it leaked and we could not get hot water. We then went into the bathroom and found that the back if the door had paint hanging off it and the door looked like it needed to be replaced because of the water splashing from the shower. We tried the shower and could not get hot water there either. We went to reception and the manager came up to our apartment to see our problems. He left the taps running for what seemed about five minutes and the water began to heat up. He said he would get the leak fixed next day. The bedroom was outdated with splits in the lining of the curtains. The bedside lockers were not clean enough to put any socks etc in so we cleaned them ourselves. The wardrobe wasn't much better. I found a couple of small cockroaches in the bath and killed them. I also found a couple of small ones in the kitchen and killed them too. We looked out on to the swimming pool and saw that there was a green film under the water at all edges. The area surrounding the edge of the pool was covered in a green baize carpet type of material witch was quite loose in places. There were lots of cats around some of them sleeping on the sun loungers. However, the staff were very nice and were always very friendly and helpful. They deserve better. As of the customers who use the Accomodation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

In the reviews, the Daphne had less noise complaints than other comparable hotels and since the price wasn't too bad, I decided to chance it. The positives: The location was really great! Right along the waterfront, a short walk from the Paphos Castle, Archaeological Site, and the Harbor Bus Station. But there are downfalls to being right in the center of the action... really loud, really bad live music. Even though I was at the far back corner of the hotel, the live music from the Rose Pub across the street was so loud, I could sing along to the Pearl Jam covers word for word even with all of the doors and windows closed. Luckily, with some good earplugs, I was able to get some sleep. On the plus side, the front desk staff was also really courteous and very helpful.

Room Tip: Not a place for light sleepers! The pub across the street plays incredibly loud music from 10pm-1am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just got back from 12days in the daphne apartments what an expensive nightmare it was ,on arrival the shower had low pressure so you had to run it for 10 mins to get warm water out of it after a couple of days this improved only taking 5 mins to get hot water. Next we come to the main crux of the matter the "food" the breakfast was acceptable but the evening meal was terrible, one choice of starter " soup " one choice of desert " one apple " and the main coarse was due to only having 3 warming trays limited to one choice with chips or potatoes and veg or 2 choices with pasta (no sauce just dry) or rice it did not look at all appetising so we ended up having to buy our evening meal out every night. If you were not staying at the complex you would be charged 12 euros for this horrible food but you could go to several restaurants where you get a fixed menu which includes a choice of 6 starters 10 mains and 6 desserts plus a glass of wine and a brandy for the same price. Which is what we did thus making it an expensive holiday but at least we ate like kings and not peasants. The 2 bedroom apartment with a pool view ( which we paid extra for) was spacious but in dire need of a complete refurbishment as all the complex needs. The pool floor was like a patchwork quilt due flaking paint as was the children's pool both were a health and safety nightmare. On the plus side the staff were always courteous and helpful The position of the apartments were excellent but unfortunately right on a road junction which meant you were eating fumes with your breakfast as it was the rush hour. I will not be going here again and will certainly not recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

first time to Cyprus - great - loved it - daphne apartments good value for money. clean towels 3 times a week - breakfast good food/value at 4 euros for all you can eat. S/pool and bar good. apartment a bit tired but beds and linen good - small kitchen with oven and 2 burners and fridge etc. k/units tired. staff friendly and helpful would go back again. it is literally 1 minute to the beach/sea and bars/cafes/shops - really well located. large supermarket 1 minute in opposite direction - keep going and 5 minutes to bus terminal and harbour, bars and cafes. Excellent base for seeing western side of Cyprus.

Room Tip: best rooms all floors are immediately beyond the swimming pool looking towards it. The quietest pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daphne Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daphne Hotel Apartments

Address: 3 Alkminis Str | P.O.Box 60175, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daphne Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Daphne Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daphne Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.