We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poseidonos Ave | PO Box 62654, Paphos 8066, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have just returned from 7 nights half board. We had a problem with the room but this was due to mis-booking by the agent so unfortunately for the first night we were 3 adults in a twin room with a camp bed. Luckily as it was off season we were able to have the adjoining room but had to negotiate a lower price than was originally quoted by reception. Bedrooms were clean and it is the only hotel I've been to in the last few years where they actually provide a kettle. We therefore had a plethora of kettles (one in each room and two of us had brought our travel kettles with us). The hairdryer was actually in the drawer near the mirror and there was also a power point (3 pin plug so no adapters needed) near the mirror (something you don't often find). Although our room was roadside, with the windows shut (there is air con) it was very quiet. The only down side were the beds which seemed to get increasingly harder as the night went on. The food was good and plentiful with a different country's cuisine every night. The only night where we found the food lacking was the Cypriot night, the one we thought would be outstanding. We were lucky to be able to eat breakfast outside every morning We couldn't use the outdoor pool as it was early in the season and wasn't heated. The indoor pool though was quiet and once in, warm. We had a variety of sessions in the Spa which we thought were very good value for money. Let's put it this way it was cheaper to go to Paphos for a week for Spa treatments than it would be to spend a weekend at a Spa in the UK. Buses into Paphos town stop just passed the hotel and seemed to be approximately every 10 mins. Fare was 1.5 Euros, one way, but you can buy a 5 Euro daily ticket and get on and off buses throughout, so travelling to various places works out relatively cheap. If you want to walk it's about 3.5 miles into town. Beach wasn't all that. As far as the staff are concerned they couldn't do enough for us, especially Marina who is a delight and extremely helpful, a credit to the hotel, as were all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road have sun in the morning but overlooking the sea have sun in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    157
    75
    26
    8
See reviews for
105
223
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have just returned from 7 nights H/B. What great value this place offered - we really could not fault it for what we paid.

Highlight was the food which we found very tasty indeed, bedrooms were spotless and the hotel was generally extremely clean. Beds though were very hard. We personally liked the end of strip location, about a 50 minute walk to the harbour.

Most has been said before but we certainly enjoyed the quiet nature of the hotel off season. That said, future guests may wish to note that a function was particularly noisy on the Saturday night with in excess of 100 guests with loud music until 2.00am. In-house guests were moved to a very packed breakfast room for our evening meal and despite a call to reception the noise was not reduced. We were determined this would not spoil our trip as we were there for a week. Reception were not that great in dealing with our complaint. Frequent functions in our view would greatly impact on in-house guests.

Paphos was a nice place to visit but we did notice the rather run down nature of the old town & a heavily closed Bar Street with dilapitated units There are masses of outlets everywhere to rent but the harbour itself offers a lovely ambience. I'm sure in Summer it will feel very different.

If returning to Paphos, the Aquamare will certainly be a consideration.

Room Tip: Seek sea view - the building works next door are currently dormant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hotel was spotless in all areas, free wi-fi in lobby and bar which was good for those people who need to keep in touch with others

Food was buffet at breakfast and evening meal but I have to say this was the best buffet food i have had in any hotel to date, and as for the desserts, they were excellent.

Tea and coffee in rooms and a small bottle on water in fridge on arrival.

If there was one negative its that there is nothing in the way of entertainment in the hotel during the week, this may change in high season, we stayed 22.02.14.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you to the harbour for 1.50 euro, you can buy a weekly bus pass for 15 euros which we did as the weather was not good.

If you don't want to book a transfer or pay for a taxi to the hotel you can get the bus from the airport to the hotel too, they run about every 10 minutes before 6 p.m.and every 20 mimutes after 6 o'clock.

The hotel is on the beach although the beaches in this part of the island aren't the best, but the hotel does have grassed areas as well as the pool with lots of beds , well in Feb there were lots of free beds, not sure about in high season.......

Marina at reception was extremely helpful and spoke very good english, she is a credit to the hotel, Dan in lobby bar was very knowledgeable too..

I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: sea view worth pay for......, building site next to hotel but don't worry its at a stand still...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week on half-board basis 19th-26th Feb in room 213 which had a lovely sea view. We'd like to thank our maid who cleaned our room to an exceptional standard every day, fresh bedlinen\towels, toiletries, tea\coffee supplies aplenty! Hotel facilities are good, comfy sofa's to relax on in lobby & Nektar Bar where free Wi-fi is available. Breakfast is served in the lower ground floor restaurant, with a really good selection - full fry-up, continental, fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, porridge, pancakes, French toast etc, plus eggs of your choice cooked as you wait, omelettes, poached, fried. Outside eating area available for breakfast, which we enjoyed even in February! Friendly restaurant staff who were happy to help with any queries, Marina makes everyone smile! Reception staff are very efficient, but do come across slightly "business-like"! Evening meals are served in Ambrosia Restaurant on ground floor - again, very clean and efficiently managed. Nice to have linen table clothes & napkins and be served with drinks at table, whilst still having buffet style\help yourself food. Food - couldn't fault it! Good selection of foods, all nicely cooked & presented (as often buffet style food looks & tastes awful!). Chefs were on hand to check food levels, presentation, temperatures, cleanliness of food areas etc - not seen this happen in many restaurants before, so well done Aquamare, it makes a big difference! Hotel is in a beautiful & quiet location at the far end of Paphos, right on a small sandy\rocky beach (as is the case in & around Paphos), with pretty garden\lawn areas leading on to the promenade which extends right into Paphos itself. We walked in to Paphos one day, takes an hour, but a lovely walk along the sea\coastal promenade. Bus stop right outside hotel, every 10 mins at 1.50 Euro per person each way. There is a building site next door, but don't panic, as it looks like nothing has happened on it since the financial crisis, so no disturbance from that! It was very early season so the outdoor pool was too cold, but the indoor pool is nice. Too early for outdoor pool bars to be open too in February, but I'm sure they'd be a great place to sit with a cold Keo lager & enjoy the sea view! Had a nice Elemis neck & back massage in the hotel Spa, 34 euros. We enjoyed a very relaxing week at Aquamare & we would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I am currently staying at the Aquamare in room 410 (depart Tuesday 4th march). The hotel Is extremely comfortable with a wonderful reception area full of comfy sofas to sit and use the hotels free WiFi ( pay for WiFi in rooms). I paid for WiFi in the room and the service is excellent, which is just as well as there is only one English TV channel so I could watch all English TV on film on TV on my tablet.
There is the use of a fridge in the room, safe and tea and coffee making facilities which is a fantastic bonus and very rare in most of the hotels that I have stayed in around paphos. Most hotels charge for these facilities so this is a huge plus for the Aquamare.
The evening meals are excellent, the Greek theme night had the best Stifado ( like a beef stew) that I have ever tasted, and a huge plus for the Aquamare are the very reasonable drinks prices, €2.20 for a bottle of water and € 3.95 for a glass of wine which in my opinion are extremely good compared to some hotels which do tend to charge ridiculous prices.
The grounds are pleasant, and even at this time of year I was able to sit by the pool and enjoy the warm sunshine. The staff are all friendly and efficient, the rooms are clean and comfortable and more importantly for me very quiet.
Out of the many hotels that I have stayed in around Paphos I would only return to a few and the Aquamare is definitely one of them. Well done the Aquamare, I would definitely recommend you and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Compared to the Annabelle, which is extremely pretentious and fails to deliver top quality, the Aquamare is a homely, friendly hotel which is offers a decent accommodation and reasonable food for the price. Yes the rooms are a bit old fashioned and could do with flat screen TV, but at least the water is piping hot and the shower has a high pressure which is more than can be said for the Annabelle. There are free tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms and a proper mini fridge which you are not charged for, unlike the Annabelle.
A litre bottle of water costs €2.20 compared to €5.00 at the Annabelle. What's more, compared to the overrated Annabelle, guests of the Aquamare hotel are allowed to bring drinks purchased at the hotel at one meal back into the restaurant area at another meal time.
Unlimited high speed wifi is available at a cost of €15 for a week and the connection is excellent unlike the Annabelle where the signal strength varies and is often extremely poor.
Good value for money!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

A little disappointed - in our opinion a three star hotel, not four. Staff quite surly, unapproachable and not very helpful. Food mediocre. No information available as to meal times and when requested was told no hotel information available! No iron or ironing board or gowns and slippers in room ( would expect this from a "four star" hotel. All in all quite disappointed and won't be returning. Also would like to add there was no atmosphere in the hotel and entertainment is non existent

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Poseidonos Ave | PO Box 62654, Paphos 8066, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Paphos
#17 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#28 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Aquamare Hotel, we recognize and respect the allure of the Mediterranean, which is why you will find that our entire focus is on capturing its magic and surrounding you with it during your stay with us. Enter an oasis of pure luxury and elegance. With attention to beautiful details and impressive facilities in a hospitable environment, the Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa is the ideal destination for your next holiday or event. Offering a variety of restaurants and bars, conference & incentive facilities, wedding packages, indoor & outdoor pools, children's novelty pool, a fully equipped fitness center and a luxurious spa, whether for business or leisure, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamare Beach Hotel Paphos
Aquamare Beach Hotel And Spa
Aquamare Hotel Paphos
Aquamare Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.