We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poseidonos Ave | PO Box 62654, Paphos 8066, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very clean and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my partner for 2 weeks half board.
Hotel was spotless and staff were friendly. Rooms were average size and nothing special but clean again. Air con in room was good however, little touches like flowers in the room could have made it more special. We were on the top floor of hotel which unfortunately overlooked the road could be quite noisy at times.
The food in the hotel had a good variety. Breakfast had cereal, cold meats, pastries, fry ups, pancakes, cakes and fresh cooking for omelettes etc. Lack of fruit available at breakfast. Dinner was varied every night with different cultural foods- would have been nice to have more traditional foods rather than around the world foods.
Very little entertainment in the hotel (though i knew this when i booked). One night was a cyprus night which was nice.
Pool is pretty and clean. However sunbeds were uncomfortable but were plenty! Beach opposite us was disappointing as other hotels next to us have made the beach more appealing and have provided sunbeds etc.
The gym was well equipped and we attended 2 sessions-the instructors were very friendly. Didnt use the spa, looked really nice but very expensive.
Cyprus itself is VERY expensive considering their financial crisis! Buy excursions from the harbour as offering the same ones for less and they are very helpful and friendly! Plus they do you a deal if you buy more than one!
Paphos is very touristy, lots of british tack in the shops and music, but still nice harbour. Worth doing tours to see the real traditional side of Cyprus. Approx 25-30min walk to harbour and town- nice coastal walk but you can get a bus.
Paphos sightseeing bus was a laugh- there is nothing really to see on it, however it gets your bearings.
Must do the jeep safaris to Troodos Mountains and Akamas! We also went on the wavedancer boat full day which is a must- stops for swims and live band-enjoyed so much we booked the night fireworks trip with them.

Overall, hotel was very good-not the best we saw but was adequate!
Paphos itself, I wouldn't go back to as slightly too toursity for us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    156
    74
    26
    8
See reviews for
103
222
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days in Aug 2013.

Paid extra for the sea view room, worth it to avoid a "road view" room that would have been very noisy and light in the morning with the sun on it (our curtain did not cover the entire patio window).

The hotel is well located, 45 min very nice coastal walk to the castle. 10 minutes less to the start of the harbour area. Bus stop almost outside the front door and the bus service is excellent, never used a taxi.

The rooms are dated and bathroom small. Having said that they were spotless and the aircon is excellent. We spent minimal time in there so suited us fine, we never switched on the tv. If you wanted to spend more time in your room then opt for a different hotel.


Breakfast is good with a wide selection although the omelette / egg station is in the middle of the counter so the queue made access to the other food difficult at times. Russians don't queue by the way.

The pool area is nice but the gardens are not as well tendered as the surrounding hotels. Very very peaceful though with no music, animation teams, sales, drinks service etc. The sunbeds are adequate but not particularly comfortable if on all day (no cushions). Despite the get the towels on at the earliest opportunity brigade (when will someone stop this?) we never struggled.

The biggest let down is the beach, 2 or 3 sunbeds literally thrown on it. The other hotels in the area have made a real effort to make the best of what are rocky/sandy mixtures. Most people use the hotel jetty next door to enter the sea as it is nigh on impossible from this hotel.

Building work next door was on hold so no disturbance. It is an eyesore though with a huge crane looming over and skips close to the beach. The path is non existent from the Aquamare passed this site and onto the next hotel.

We kept on our room on the last day for a couple of hours at a cost of 15 euros. Very useful.

Cannot comment on lunch and evening food as we always ate in one of the many excellent restaurants close by. Bar was way overpriced for what it was so drank at the other hotels nearby. Evening entertainment does exist (not every night), we only ever passed it on the way through but one evening the singer had no audience at all.

Didn't use the spa, not for us. Looked good, but definitely not cheap. Gym looked good but we opted not to use!

Overall it was fine for us to use as a base as it was clean/cool and quiet. It is NOT a resort hotel by any means. If you expect that then avoid.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Don't understand what people who are leaving bad reviews are actually wanting, this hotel promises nothing but delivers good family fun. Just returned from a 10 night stay and everything was fine. My 5 year old son had a great time, pools are good and clean, gardens are well looked after and pool bar is very welcoming. Our room was fine (only in it to sleep) and kept clean. In summary yes there will be nicer hotels in the same area but the aquamare is ok by me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

On entry the hotel lobby looks great but after that its just average. Definitely not a 4 star hotel, the bedrooms are tired and very dated to say the least. The best thing in the rooms is the air conditioning. The food is average and there is no sense of atmosphere within the restaurant. This also extends to the evening entertainment (there is none). The pool bar is nicknamed the moon bar. I'm just glad we hired a car to explore a bit of the island as we love visiting Cyprus normally. Car hire is very reasonable through the hotel.
The pool area is pleasant enough but the sunbeds are really uncomfortable with no padding. The private beach is very rocky and not fit for sunbathing unlike the hotel next door who has made it appealing for its guests. I suppose at some point in years gone by this was a lovely hotel but unfortunately now its just a tired and run down hotel.
The staff are ok but nothing outstanding in terms of service. We won't be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Overall assessment is good but time is taking its toll. Things to improve-

Open spaces (gardens) poorly maintained.

Swimming pool needs refurbishing (plastic surfaces are coming loose).

Most waterbeds and umbrellas need to be replaced.

Open air patio was closed.

Spa prices extremely high.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First of all i should say that im from Russia and welcome to all guys reading my review.
My friend and I just came back from this hotel (were there from 28 of July till 4 of Aguast).
We r students, 20 years old but anyway we were ready to see family kind of hotel.
To be honest we didnt want to go to Cyprus... Thought about Greece but decided to try Cyprus. My friend has already visited many places such as Dominicana, Maldives Islands and so on so i was really afraid she will not like our trip.
But i should say we felt in love with this hotel from the first day there! Personnel is very friendly and moreover people are friendly everywhere. Russians by the way r really welcomed!
Food in the hotel is always tasty and fresh, especially we liked the dinners... Everything looked luxurious. Liked fruit creamy cake sooo much...=-)
Rooms r modern, always clean!
Also liked Bar Street there, especially Flairs Bar...
Want to go there again and im sure we will!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I guess the days where 4 star meant good service and high quality rooms are gone. Do not get me wrong this hotel was...nice...but nothing special. The price was ok also but the staff were not fantastic and when it comes down to it...service is one of (if not the) most important aspect of your stay. The breakfast was good...but it all felt very much like a cruise ship rather than a hotel. Thats the best explanation I can give. The restaurant...well we did not eat there once after looking at the menu and the buffet option. The hotel presents itself quite well and the pool is very nice (the private beach not so great) but the service let us down. Like I said...this is a trend amongst 4 star hotels nowadays unfortunately.

Room Tip: We booked a sea view room and got a sea view room...definitely worth the extra 20EUR if you love wak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Poseidonos Ave | PO Box 62654, Paphos 8066, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Paphos
#17 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#31 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Aquamare Hotel, we recognize and respect the allure of the Mediterranean, which is why you will find that our entire focus is on capturing its magic and surrounding you with it during your stay with us. Enter an oasis of pure luxury and elegance. With attention to beautiful details and impressive facilities in a hospitable environment, the Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa is the ideal destination for your next holiday or event. Offering a variety of restaurants and bars, conference & incentive facilities, wedding packages, indoor & outdoor pools, children's novelty pool, a fully equipped fitness center and a luxurious spa, whether for business or leisure, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamare Beach Hotel Paphos
Aquamare Beach Hotel And Spa
Aquamare Hotel Paphos
Aquamare Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.