We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11-21oct 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascos Coral Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ascos Coral Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ascos Coral Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 61415, Paphos 8134, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“11-21oct 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

have just spent ten glorious days at the ascos, staff very friendly food excellant, only complaints are television is non existant it kept breaking down no signal only three english channels one bbc world news. Did find evening entertainment not to our liking a bit like butlins when we were their a couple of years ago it was a lot better. We did find that the time we went children are allowed and some parents let their children just screem at the tops of their voices even in the restaurant I did notice waitresses try to smooth the matter over serveral times.
we must be getting old as my children would have not been allowed to act like this.
the hotel does need updating in certain areas but on the whole would go again.

Room Tip: we has a side view room and could still see the sea so why pay more money for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    340
    175
    91
    54
See reviews for
187
558
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
east of england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Ascos (this being our 5th stay) and sadly it will be our last.
The hotel certainly needs a revamp, down stairs not too bad but the bedrooms, bathrooms and corridors are certainly in need of something. The swimming pool area isn't too bad but not the best.
There was certainly a lack of staff but those there were friendly enough.
The food was still up to its good standard although lunch was a bit boring and lacking.
I think the worst thing the management ever did was to allow children too stay (now I'm not against children but sometimes it is nice to have a kids free zone).
I think at the moment the hotel is being held together by the Paul who organizes all the entertainment and what a superb job he is doing but sadly he is moving on. Altogether we had an enjoyable holiday with four other friends two whom have been going back each year for 16 yrs we wont be returning so its goodbye ascot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in August 2012 for 14 nights. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the surroundings, pool looked great. Receptionist nice. Bar staff fab. Then sort of went down hill when we entered the lift to go to our room. Grubby carpet corridors, outdated furniture in room, bathroom clean but some tiles cracked and a bit grubby. Laminate flooring in room, which got dusty and only got mopped 2 day of our 14 night holiday. Wallpaper on the walls, not sure what's that all about, but in that heat I'm not surprised its hanging off the walls. Really needs updating, white washed walls, floor tiling and tiles changing and re-grouting. Food good but didn't cater enough for children, if there going to accept kids into the hotel they really need to cater for kids. Beatutiful upstairs dinning area, glass walls, but air conditioning not on and if you were sat by the glass you roasted. Overall we did have a good holiday, but it helped by meeting such good friends and the entertainer Paul Withers was fantastic, he is what makes that hotel. If his not there as the entertainer I wouldn't bother going. Cleaners happy and cheerful to the English. The hotel has a lot of Russians, they are ignorant and their kids are feral.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We travelled with Thomas Cook and stayed at a villa on the outskirts of Coral Bay, our flight back on the last day was at 10 to 11 in the evening, so our wonderful rep, Sarah Jane arranged for us to spend the day at this hotel as we had to vacate the villa at 10.

We called ourselves the "villa refugees".

This review is based on a stay between 10 in the morning to 6.30 in the evening.

Very pretty looking hotel, from the frontage you don't realise what is exactly behind it!

After a difficult conversation with the Russian receptionist, to advise that they were to give us pool towels and arrange a time for the courtesy room, it was off for a rece of the facilities.

Steep steps down to the pool area.

The pool is wonderful, clean, large and big enough to accommodate all the guests, my husband said that this was one of the best hotel pools he had swam in. However, it is very slippy underfoot! There were many sun loungers WITHOUT towels on them for us to choose from and nicely spaced out. Plenty of different areas to sunbathe on. There is a path down to the "beach" area, wooded, grassy area with sunloungers. The "beach" is well, not a beach, you will need swim shoes as just stoney with no or very little sand, very rocky too - brilliant to snorkle on though. There is a bar down there too - but we did not see this open whilst we were there.

The view from the beach is amazing!

The other "downside" to the beach, is that it is very steep to walk back up! I am a very, very fit 45 year old and I was out of puff when i got to the top!

Apparently this is the first year that this, previously adults only hotel has opened up to families and this is very evident, we got talking to a family whilst we were there, and they advised that although they were there to experience Cyprus there were no foods really available for toddlers! During one week, chips were only served once, some would say that that was a good thing - but for families?? There is a play area, but stuck under trees and not suitable for all ages and not fenced off, and quite close to the pool - not ideal for children really.

My husband attempted to get a couple of cokes at the bar and we were charged 2.5 euros each! We went to the shop after that and bought cans for 1.2 euros. My husband also paid for and ate in the restaurant for lunch, the food he said was lovely, not that much choice, but good and satisfied his hunger. However, reception had told us the price of a lunch was 14 euros, once he had eaten a very rude Greek woman demanded 16 euros from him and would not let him leave until he paid! For him, this totally spoiled our last day.

Pool loos - very modern and always being cleaned, the pool shower leaked to the hand basins and there were only 2 loos! 1 x shower and 2 x changing rooms - weird!

Daytime entertainment and clientele - Mmmmmmmmmm, saw lots of Madges! I think the average age would have been about 65, bit worrying to see a 75 year old woman reading 50 shades of grey, I did have a chuckle to myself - lol.

Paul, appeared to be The Entertainer, he worked tirelessly arranging games, during the day, every day, continuously, and he NEVER comes up for breath! He is also the caberet in the evening. To be honest, erm, well, not my cup of tea more horlicks.

My husband went to reception later on the afternoon to sort the courtesey room, but they had accidently given this to some other villa refugees and we had to make do with the pool showers, shame as we wanted to be nosey about the rooms - but seeing as we hadn't had to pay for the facilites at all we were not going to complain.

I love Cyprus and we are very grateful for Sarah Jane in arranging this for us, otherwise we would have been stuck on a beach with just a cold shower and our suitcases unsecured - thank you Sarah.

Unfortunately, no thanks to TC who arrange stupid flight times that do not coincide with the villas! Plus the fact that they bumped us to Monarch (who were actually very good, better than TC, except they cancelled their return flight from Paphos, so we had to go on a private charter - Calima Airlines!) - we don't do simple.

Anyway, Cyprus is a beautiful country, I cannot think of anything worse than being stuck in a Hotel for a week without experiencing their culture and the "real" Cypriots - therefore I will never stay in a hotel in Cyprus.

Do I recommend this hotel - to families - no, to couples (under 50) - no. Everyone else - if that's your thing then yes - it's not all bad, just my observation and opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just arrived back from the Ascos Coral Beach Hotel which my husband and I only booked last minute. As already aired by some, was a little concerned about negative reviews before we arrived but can only say the following:- room lovely, very spacious, not at all shabby or unclean, no peeling wallpaper or mouldy bathroom here. The food, well we have travelled extensively in the past and you cannot complain about the food here. Themed nights, not boring or repetitive as on previous all inclusive holidays. What was lovely, especially the week we have been at the hotel was that no-one seem to take 'advantage' of the all inclusive package, ie too much alcohol and noise. We had a blissful week, did not have to reserve any sunbed at 7am in the morning and the weather was beautiful except for one storm when we arrived which quickly passed. Well done Paul for your entertainment, you did a wonderful job each evening and congratulations to most of the staff who went out of your way to please. Lots of newly painted walls and I believe they are working through the rooms to update accordingly. Would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Quiet and spacious overlooking the sea not the pool we were in room 210.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel this year, the first being in June.
I'll deal with some specific negatives first:
1. Rooms remain shabby and the bathrooms are quite unpleasant. Our toilet flush handle had to be pumped hard to make the damn thing work, and the water from the sink tap was just a trickle.
2. Towels only got changed if you physically placed them in the bath tub and not on a 3 day rotational basis as claimed.
3. Pool toilets disgusting; wet floors and an overpowering smell of urine and other nasty stuff.
4. Evening entertainment repetative, but strangely I have something positive to say later.
5. Not so much the children as some of their parents who excercised litttle or no control over unruly behaviour, e.g. allowing them to get up on the stage and disrupt performances, not checking the use of foul language and allowing them to run around screetching and shouting.

And now the positives:
1. The staff were excellent. I don't understand some of the previously negative comments about the reception staff. Georgia, Oksana, Betina, Rado and Ivan were all extremely helpful, professional and friendly. Perhaps it's because I always said "please" and "thank-you". The restaurant staff were great. Our drinks orders were taken as soon as we arrived at the table and were always delivered promptly. The bar staff were efficient and we didn't have to wait long to be served.
2. The pool area was kept clean and tidy by an army of cleaners each morning, and the pool itself was cleaned daily. However the sun beds could do with jet washing.
3. The quality and variety of the food was a distinct improvement on what was served up in June. It was always hot and the cuts of meat had improved.
4. Paul Withers, the entertainments manager was superb. Although we didn't join in any of the daytime activities (not our cup of tea), he would always stop and have a chat. He works extremely hard to keep everyone entertained, and his "one man show" is very funny. However the bingo and quizes left us cold, but we were in the minority.
5. The quality of the AI drinks was very good, although the temperature of the white and rose wines in the restaurant was too high on most nights.

And now some more general comments and observations:
There are a lot of Russians and to a lesser extent Germans holidaying at the hotel nowadays. There have been a lot of negative comments in previous posts regarding this fact. They are accused of being rude and ignorant. During my stays at the hotel over the last three years I have experienced more than enough British holiday makers who could teach our Slavic and Teutonic neighbours a lesson or two in the arts of boorishness and bad manners. So I wouldn't let the more international flavour of the hotel put me off. During our stay in September we made friends with a nice Russian couple and two female Russian doctors from Moscow who were both very polite, kind and dare I say it, funny. However I am begining to feel more and more "out of place" at this hotel, certainly not because of the Russians and not because of the Germans. It has more to do with the standards and behaviours demonstrated by my own countymen and women, and their progeny.
If you can afford it, I'd suggest you look elsewhere than this hotel. OK it's relatively cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

went to this hotel in feb and have rebooked for next year. nice clean hotel good food and drinks.staff friendly and helpful. entertainment during day great although the weather wasnt good paul made it good indoors.night time was bingo a fun quiz good shows and good entertainment again from paul

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascos Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascos Coral Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 61415, Paphos 8134, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#32 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascos Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ascos Coral Beach is situated at the picturesque Coral Bay in Paphos and set on a shingle beach offering breathtaking views of the Mediterranean sea. The modern and stylish guestrooms, along with tropical gardens around the pool area as well as the beach and its friendly atmosphere, promise a memorable and relaxed holiday experience. The hotel hosts an excellent range of facilities combined with daytime activities and evening entertainment appealing to families and couples of all ages. An ideal lux-laid-back holiday, a star choice for a perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ascos Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascos Coral Beach
Ascos Coral Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascos Coral Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.