We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Still perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Having enjoyed our stay here in October 2007 we decided to return and were not disappointed in anyway, everything is still just as perfect as is was when I wrote my last review in 2007. The hotel is spotlessly clean, all the staff are helpful and friendly and the grounds are kept in an excellent condition. Again we had a land view but unlike the last reviewer we didn't find it a problem. The hotel stands well back from the road therefore the very few small illuminated signs are not in your face nor does the traffic disturb the tranquillity of this hotel. It's so well built that you don't hear any noise from people moving around or banging doors etc.

We booked a half an hour slot for the courtesy room on our departure day because we were leaving late and although used by lots of people, like all the other public areas of the hotel, it was kept clean with a fresh supply of towels.

The manager goes out of his way to regularly get involved with what is going on in the hotel so he's not a back room man who doesn't know what is going on at grass roots level.

I know we will return here again in the future. Oh, and do visit Fecardo's restaurant (left out of the hotel and just beyond the first set of restaurants), it's still the best in Paphos.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    139
    36
    10
    11
See reviews for
45
652
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We travelled for a week in the sun in August 2010, and booked this hotel on the back of reviews on this site, as well as the way the tour operator sold it. It wasn't cheap by any standard, we paid about £1600 for two of us, bed and breakfast. On other sites it was up to 2-300 more than that.
For this kind of price, we would expect somewhere to be lovely, relaxing and memorable. However, the Athena Royal Beach didn't really live up to any of these.
When we arrived, we were allocated a land view room (even though we'd booked a sea view room) and the room was tiny, and faced the busy road with flashing green neon lights from the shopping place across the street. We asked to move, and the on duty manager was excellent and moved us across the hall to a sea view room. Not much bigger, but the traffic noise and green garishness was eliminiated. We did, however, have to fork out another £180! Apparantly it was the fault of the tour operator.
The hotel is nice, in an ordinary off the shelf package holiday kind of way. The two pools are ok, although neither is really large enough to have a proper swim. The main issue I had was with the sun loungers on the lawn, as they were often covered in mud from when the sprinklers had wet the grass and then the groundstaff had put the mattresses on the ground overnight.
The food was frankly awful. Breakfasts were edible although, as usual with buffets, things had been left to stand for a very long time. We were given half board as a 'special offer' and we tried it twice or three times. Annoyingly, they demand men wear full length trousers (not a requirement at hotels I've stayed at which are considered some of the best) and there is no a/c in the restaurant. Given it was about 50 degrees every day probably 35 by dinner time it was very uncomfortable. The buffet food was basic, and tasteless. On one occasion I couldn't eat it at all as the meat was so tough.
The best thing about this hotel is the happy hour for cocktails, the drinks are good and a reasonable price when they are half price. The Eastern European waitresses are very friendly and attentive.
Paphos itself is kitschy and far too touristy. No real character or charm. Overall we were quite disappointed although we did relax a bit during our week here, we could have done so elsewhere for much less money.
The clientele here seemed to consist mainly of overweight middle aged English couples, although there were one or two families with teenagers and a wedding party. It's not the worst hotel, but not the best by any means. I think we'll be far more discerning next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

5 minutes after we arrived, I was expecting to give this hotel a very poor review, as there was a problem (of their making) with our booking. However, I was won over by the way the Hotel Manager personally dealt with the matter and went out of his way to ensure that we experienced the best possible outcome. It is very unusual for there to be such a hands-on Management presence in a large hotel - he was always in evidence, checking on faciltities and chatting with guests. There was even a cruise-style cocktail party where everyone lined up to meet him and other staff!

This really is an excellent hotel. The staff were, without exception, friendly, efficient and seemed to enjoy their jobs. The facilities were many and varied and the al fresco evening meals by the pool on two nights a week were memorable. The food was top-notch, and the buffet was different every night. No queues at mealtimes even though the hotel was full. Everything was quality. Oh, and there were always spare sunbeds by the pool!

I cannot understand why some people moan about the hotel beach when, less than 10 minutes walk along the seafront path towards Paphos, there is a lovely sandy beach with sunbeds, a funky cafe, and showers. Also it only costs 1 euro on the number 615 bus which runs every 20 minutes from outside the hotel to Coral Bay, an even bigger sandy beach (tip: get off the bus a few stops before the end of its run, between the two large red signs pointing to Coral Bay. The beach here is much bigger and better than the one further along).

It's also worthy of note that the airport bus (no 12) stops outside the hotel and also costs 1 euro! Having been ripped off by a taxi fare of 32 euros on arrival, we weren't going to make the same mistake again. The bus only runs 4 or 5 times a day but takes just 15-20 minutes and is well worth using.

Paphos Harbour is fairly interesting and picturesque, but Paphos Town at the top of the hill (no 611 bus) isn't really worth the effort. The market is tacky and touristy and there's not much else there (apart from Marks & Spencer!).

Anyway, this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We returned from our holiday on the 16th September and what a holiday we had .We have been to Cyprus for over 20 yrs and stayed in most hotels on the beach and laterly we always went to the the Paphos Amathus Beach Hotel but this year we decided we would have a change and go to an Adult only Hotel and what a wonderfull holiday the hotel is fantastic the food,pools and especially the staff made our holiday perfect the rooms were very clean and spacious you could not have asked for anything more from a holiday.Boyh my Husband and myself thought it far better than the Amuthus beach and are going back again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This was our 5th time to stay at the Athena Royal and everything is still brilliant! The standards are consistently very high and the staff are the friendliest ever.
As we now classed as regular guests the staff have got to know us and always ensure that we have a wonderful stay.
If you want total relaxation, kids free hotel, excellent food, and friendly staff choose this hotel as in my opinion it is a gem of a hotel and the best in Paphos.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

What a great hotel. Excellent value. Staff very helpful and friendly, manager always on hand.
Food and service all excellent. The 3 pools were always warm and very clean and with no kids it was super and relaxing. If you could be bothered activities were available all very unobtrusive. Plenty of sunbeds and shades available and towels supplied by the hotel.
The only slight downside to the hotel location was that there is no direct access to the sea from the beach as there are sharp rocks in between, to overcome this problem 2 jetties have been built but entry is into deep water.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

My wife & I stayed a week, and we had a terrific time. The hotel was brialliant, with a very strong emphasis on service. Influence of manager & family owner very evident. Adults only, with guest tending towards older age groups, but we did spot some younger couples. Mainly Brits, but some other nationalities too. The hotel beach front is not impressive, but compares well with the others on this strip, and there is a floating pontoon from which you can enjoy swim in the sea, plus a choice of three warm pools. We thought Paphos had lost all its charm, but this hotel is a clean, comfortable & handy base to explore - Coral Bay & Polis for example.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#26 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.