We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, relaxing week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
West Sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Perfect, relaxing week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Like many other reviewers I can find little to fault in this hotel. Very comfortable rooms, good food and the staff are always pleasant, friendly and helpful. Do make sure you book seaview rooms though - the front of the hotel looks out across the road. Not a bad view, but you won't get a sunny balcony! Absolutely no problems with sunbeds, although from my seaview room vantage point (and being an early riser) I still noticed belongings being put on sunbeds at 7 a.m. most mornings!! Why??? Don't people have anything else to think about?? But it was bliss around the pool areas - no children, no mobile phones, no poolside music.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    139
    36
    10
    11
See reviews for
45
652
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

From start to finish we had a tuly fabulous holiday.The room was immaculate and very clean.The reception staff were wonderful..so genuinely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was always delicious and provided something for everyone and all nationalities. The meals in the restaurant were also fabulous and the evenings outdoors were beautiful and romantic, and again the staff made us feel truly welcome.The restaurant staff were all very smartly dressed and so polite and helpful.The swimming pools are beautiful and crystal clear.The sun loungers are excellent quality and plentiful.The pool bar and resturant service were again excellent. The hotel is situated slightly away from the harbour but is only a 20 minute lovely relaxing walk along the seafront. We did not want to leave and would definately go back again..we would certainly recommend a stay at the Athena Royale, albeit with no children.
Dean & Tonia (Oct 4-11)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This year was our 4th visit to the Athena Royal and once again we met up with numerous couples who were on return visits! The hotel, being adult only, is always very quiet and relaxed, the only time children can be seen or heard is as they walk along the coast path through the hotels beach front gardens towards the old Paphos harbour and brand new sea front shopping area.
The hotel is within a 20 minute walk from the harbour and shops and a short stroll to nearby shops, bars and restaurants where the food and drinks can be reasonably cheap ( local brews such as Keo beer ) or expensive ( imported beers such as Strongbow and Carling ).
The hotels main bar is situated within the reception area of the hotel where drinks can be ordered from 4.00 pm untl 1.00 am every night. There is also an outside 'lounge' area overlooking the sea, were drinks can be ordered from the 'roving' bar staff who constantly walk around the area ready for your order.The staff, especially Eva and Donni are brilliant and even during the busy periods manage to have your drinks delivered to your table within a few minutes. A word of warning though, is that, like the bars outside the hotel, imported drinks are expensive especially now when the £ is so week against the euro. To compensate for the price we always bought our drinks from the bar during 'happy hour', between 6pm and 7 pm, when drinks are half price. By doing this a pint of Strongbow cider was 4.7 euro,approx £4.00 instead of £8.00 ouch!!!
We have always found the bedrooms immaculately clean and tidy with the beds being changed every 4 days and clean towels as soon as they are requested ( by leaving the dirty towels on the floor in the bathroom). A complimentary bottle of wine and fresh fruit are always in our room apon our arrival.
The restaurant is buffet style for both breakfast and evening meals and extends to the outside areas beside the pool during the summer months. There are many 'theme nights' such as Greek night, BBQ night and others which is when all seating is outside, around the swimming pools with Cypriot dancing and singing. Again these are buffet meals with the main food items being served to you as wonder through the numerous delicacies on offer.
The staff within the restaurant, both at breakfast and evening meal are brilliant, being very attentive and helpfull, especially Florin who is always smiling or laughing as he carries out his duties. He will also reserve a particular area of seating for the outside functions if you ask him!
There are 3 outside pools at the hotel which although not heated are warm and refreshing during the summer months. They also have salt filtration systems not chlorine so there is no fear of sore eyes whilst swimming.
There are more sun beds available than guests at the hotel so finding one is never a problem, but beware, as most guests return to 'their' sunbeds day after day!!
The only downside for the hotel is the beach, or lack of one! Although there is a floating jetty allowing you to get into the sea quite easily for a swim, there is no beach only rocks to climb over if you want to enter the sea for a paddle.
The hotel Guest Relations Manager is a lovelly lady called 'Nicaletta' who will do her utmost to solve any problems you may encounter or if you have any compaints then the Hotel Manager, a large man called 'Dino' will, if it's possible, definitely sort them for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Just returned from our first stay at this hotel and can endorse all the complimentary comments. Two aspects particularily suited us - it is possible to eat 'al fresco' for breakfast, lunch and dinner which we enjoy and there are plenty of well spaced sunbeds unlike other 'cheek by jowl' hotels nearby.

We had booked b&b as we have been to Paphos many times and enjoy many of the local restaurants - Gabors just up the road, Zsazsa a bit further away - which has many of the same dishes as Gabors but in a more informal setting, Cavellinis - good food but now too many crammed tables, 7 St George for a good meze and Argo in the town for excellent value, good quality food - try the Moussaka, Kleftico or any of the steaks. We also tried Ficardos near Gabors and had an excellent meal - can recommend the Pork Afelia.

Cyprus has never been a cheap destination but there is a big increase in prices since we last visited two years ago. Many of the restaurants have a cE10 menu or 10-15% discount to try to attract custom - one even offering a £1:E2 exchange rate if you paid in sterling - but if you move off these, it is not easy to have a three course meal for two with a bottle of wine for much less than E65. Lunch of a couple of sandwiches and a drink was round E20 in the town. Taxis were more expensive too - a 5 minute run from 7 St George to the hotel costing E10 and the airport run now E30

The hotel offers a four day deal for E13.75 each for dinner which we tried and can recommend - not only is it good value but the food in the hotel is very good. You can extend the four days deal too which we did as we enjoyed the meals so much.

The style of the hotel makes for a very relaxing stay - can recommend it for a battery recharging holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We have just returned from The Athena Royal in Paphos and I cannot wait to return. I cannot find one fault with this hotel. The food is great, the staff are wonderful. The entertainment in the evenings is fantastic. There is lots of space around the pool. I have stayed at five star hotels in Paphos, but the Athena Royal is far superior.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frizington cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We had our honeymoon here second time round for both of us so our expectations were to have luxury,piece and quiet and quality..Wow this hotel has it all in abundance. The only sounds you could hear were the crickets and people in flip flops and after the first week we objected to that noise. The manager(the main man) was always walking the inside and outside of the hotel checking all was okay with his guests I actually said no to him which took him aback when asked why I said if you could devise a machine in my room that would lift me out of bed shower me put sun lotion on then take me outside and lay me on my sunbed I would be even more chilled. ha ha!! he said he would see what he could do. The staff are fantastic in the restaurant/cafe/reception in fact everywhere, our room was lovely we had a seaview and what a view we had it was lovely.
The pool area was clean and no need to put towels on a bed there was always plenty of sunbeds for everybody. The bowls area was also spotless, then again it should be there was a guy hoovering it everyday. The meals were varied, plenty of choice for all pallettes.
The restaurant was elegant with very friendly staff. You were greeted every meal time by restaurant manager and shown to a table either inside or outside whatever our preference was at the time. They had theme nights which were great fun and the food wow!!! We would say dont hesitate book book book!!!!!!!!
The porter helps you with your bags we felt like vips. The hotel is about 35minutes walk along the beach to paphos harbour a truly beautiful place with shops and many bargains to be had. You can also go to the old town/harbour by using the local bus system very cheap and punctual, we went to town a couple of times but could not wait to get back to the lovely hotel. Wow what a fantastic time we had we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a fornights holiday at the Athena Royal Beach Hotel. We were annoyed when, the week before our departure, we were adivised that our hotel and been changed from the Pioneer Beach Hotel to the Athena Royal.
On arrival at the hotel there was a small hick-up when they didnt have a note of our transfer but this was soon sorted out.
The room itself was immaculately clean and joy of joy had tea making fascilities, a fridge a safe, iron and ironing board, dressing gown and slippers at no extra charge. The tea and coffee was topped up daily. There was even a bowl of fruit a bottle of wine and a bottle of water in the fridge. How welcoming is that!
The food was to die for. If anyone found it difficult to find something they liked they must be really fussy. The breakfasts were out of this world and had a choice for everyone, including fresh cooled orange juice. There was even two barbques weekly.
Happy hour was a must as the drinks were half price. I did find the drinks to be on the pricey side but you expect that in a hotel of this calibre.
The only down side was the entertainment which was not to our taste and if you were there for a fortnight like us became very boring.
On the upside the swimming pools were wonderful. The cleanest Ive seen/ I practically had one to myself. Some people did put their towels on the loungers to save them. but I dont know why as there were more than enough to go round.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
I was disappointed at not being able to swim in the sea as there were no protective rocks round the beach and the sea could only be reached by a very precarious jetty which was very scary when the sea was rough.
Finally I must say I am glad our hotel was changed to the Athena Royal as it was a definate upgrade only hope we can manage to go back next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#26 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.