We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel with cracking service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Southport
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb hotel with cracking service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this great hotel. We found everything just perfect, from the food to the service. Our room was a good size with lovely views. The staff are what makes this hotel stand out. They genuinely want to provide a quality service. The gardens are well maintained are very peaceful. Will defo return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    141
    36
    10
    11
See reviews for
46
674
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel end of June in a sea view room on the first floor. What really stands out at the hotel is how caring and respectful the staff are. You are truly treated like royalty. If you have a problem, you can discuss about it with the manager and he will try to find a solution which suits your desires.

I really appreciated this hotel for its little attentions like the management evening cocktail, water at the reception during the afternoon (natural water, lime & herbs water, all citrus water, pineapple & munt water), complementary tea and coffee in your bedroom and cold flannels at the swimming pool.

The breakfast and evening buffet is good and there is always enough food even if you come at the end of the service.

End of June, there was a tempature of 32 degrees (daytime), 28 degrees at night and 24 degrees for the sea. The darkness falls at 8.30 pm.

I will recommend this adults only hotel (opened in April 2005 but with a very good maintenance) with its 162 bedrooms

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our second visit to the Athena Royal Beach Hotel and as before all the staff were very helpful and our room with a mountain view was ideal, we had already booked for next year before arriving in September as we knew we would have a very good hotel, food good both at breakfast and dinner, once evening there was cheesecake for dessert but when my husband went to get some it had all gone, the chef offered to get him some, he said no that is OK I will have some tomorrow evening, there was no cheese cake the next evening but the Chef went and got him some and presented it to him there was cream around the plate and also some strawberries, service with a smile, entertainment again quite low key which is what we like and all staff very helpful,polite and could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: If not worried about a sea view the inland view rooms are as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Athena Royal Beach Hotel. Felt like we’d returned to see friends, especially when we saw Josh, Adelina, Sonia & Vasilis – what a welcome we received. We decided this year to stay as B&B guests, only because we wanted to sample the delights of the restaurants close by to the hotel. We are not big eaters so the 4+ course at dinner was somewhat wasted on us last year but if you like to gorge on the fantastic variety of food on offer then go for the half board or all inclusive The staff are as friendly as ever together with the service which is 100%. Our anniversary was noted as is usual with this hotel, balloons, notice, fruit, wine & swan towels – the hotel does not have to acknowledge celebrations to guests but it’s a welcome touch & we appreciated it. Breakfasts; so much selection, if you’re not happy with what’s available then you must be a fuss pot, you name it they’ve thought of it. Pools; 3 in total, we prefer to use the sunbeds round the pools so had no problems finding a bed. Bedrooms; I have to agree with some previous comments - could do with an update but how long do you spend in the room!! We could not fault the cleanliness of the room, it was cleaned or tidied each day courtesy of the friendliest maid we met Louiza, she was lovely and even gave us a leaving present on the last night – the best towel elephant we’d ever seen. We booked dinner for the BBQ night because we enjoyed it last year, eating outside, great food & lovely atmosphere – although it may be time for a change of entertainment. This hotel obviously does something right due to the number of returning guests each year, I understand they now call themselves the “sept club”. If you want superb service, friendly faces, excellent food, peace & quiet then you will not go wrong at this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best, level 2 or 3 for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The ARB team were good, some exceptional in how they related to their guests. Good natured banter was as standard and laughter their trade. As a result, we enjoyed a really good break.

A few things we've not seen in earlier reviews:

The "beach" was rocks and dust; there were large lawned areas where sun loungers with umbrellas were laid out; some planting - palms & some bushes - provided some but not enough shade, therefore those areas best protected attracted early morning towel and book carrying guests ensuring they got the top located beds.

There was a public path through the resort linking the hotel to Pafos. Along this walkway passed people - some with small children, some on bikes - in fairly large numbers. So there was noise but it was in no way intrusive.

They did weddings - we were privileged & delighted to attend one and very well organised it was!

We dined a la carte 3 times & thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The steaks were outstanding as was the service.

ARB can be highly recommended for relaxation, surrounded by as good a bunch of staff as we've met. You'll be para kalo!

Room Tip: Rooms with full sea view are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having been a cbh guest for the past 10 years and staying at the pioneer beach,the asimina suites and the athena royal i think i am able to give an unbiased view and the reasons why we keep returning to the cbh hotels when holidaying in cyprus.Firstly no children running amok,divebombing in the pools, yes i have 3 grown up boys, but now love peace and quiet and the chance to chill out away from the hassles of everyday life in the uk which you get at the royal,The staff at all the cbh hotels are superb yes you do get the odd bad apple if so report it the management take a very dim view of bad customer service,But when you meet staff such as Nora (reception) and little Sonia (restaurant)both of whom are the epitome of what cbh are all about then you begin to see why we keep returning here.Our room 3303 superior deluxe wanted for nothing top floor with a sea view to die for,champagne on arrival,fruit wine waiting on ice in room, on our wedding anniversary flowers,wine and fruit,with card and balloons on the door,what other hotels go to this trouble to ensure their guests are happy? The food is of a very good standard at all meals and the waiters very efficient yes they do clear tables quickly but you can always go back for more if you wish,however the treatment of some staff by other guests at times has to be seen to be believed rudeness from these guests is an embarassment .As others have said there are the very sad few who rush out at silly o clock to bag the sunbed why? there are plenty to go round and also why put a towel down then not use that bed untill pm seems the brits are way ahead of the germans on this front now, as it happens with the superior rooms you now are allocated a cabana with a mobile phone to ring for drinks etc and very nice too Will we return YOU BET we will ,We have met some very nice people here and both these folk and the staff remember you it may seem like a :club; to some but to us its like family

Room Tip: if you want all the perks go for a superior deluxe sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

They do try hard at this hotel. Here are my thoughts:

Cold fruit juice on arrival to hotel, lovely. Fruit and wine in room on arrival to room, lovely. Best Breakfast spread ever. Room and bathroom facilities great. Nice managers cocktail party. Nice polite helpful staff. They bring cold flannels round on hot afternoons. Gym is one of best I've seen at a holiday hotel abroad. Lots of sunbeds (although folk reserve from 0730 onwards and don't turn up for hours). Discount off food and drink for repeat visitors. Really clean including pools. Manager around a lot and seems very approachable.

Pools too cold, including the indoor one. We asked for a quiet room and were given one right over the outside bar. Furniture and carpets in rooms looking tired. Can hear a lot from adjoining rooms. Balcony lights centrally controlled - all switched on at 1930 and off at 2230. Jacuzzis in pools not on for several days Dinner in the A La Carte really disappointing - drinks, wine, canapés, starters and main course all arrived within 30 minutes - we were there for the evening so it felt very rushed. There was a choice of potatoes according to menu but we weren't given a choice. The potatoes and vegetables were hard and not cooked. My salmon was cold and raw when cut open. My replacement meal arrived after husband had already finished his meal, so in effect we sat and watched each other eat. Very disappointing for over 100 euros meal.

Some people seem go back here year after year and I can kind of see why, but there are a lot of hotels along that strip, and I might be tempted to try another one if I went back to this area.

Room Tip: If you like to sit out on your balcony and you have a sea view ask for room on high floor or away fr...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#28 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.