We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Venue for our Wedding and Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 95 hotels in Paphos
Warwickshire, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Venue for our Wedding and Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

I cannot believe the previous review! My husband and I also stayed at the Athena Royal for two weeks from April 23rd and we honestly cannot find a bad word to say about it. Our experience was vastly different from the previous reviewer.

We were married at the hotel on April 30th and the staff there did everything possible to ensure our special day was perfect- and it was! Nicoletta, the Guest Relations Manager was fantastic and made us feel like celebrities! Nothing was too much trouble and we will always have happy memories of our wedding and honeymoon.

We are in our late forties but still think we are 25 and would recommend the hotel to any like minded holiday makers. Sure, the first week there were a lot of older people but that was due to it being the last week of the winter season and a gorup of ballroom dancers were staying at the hotel. They were good fun though, and a couple of then gave us a bottle of Baileys to celebrate our big day!

There was a much younger crowd the second week, a lot of whom were repeat visitors. Everyone we spoke to praised the hotel and its' staff and some had already booked their next visit.

We were on bed and breadkast but ate at the hotel twice in the evening and just cannot fault the food. Champagne for breakfast every day, lots of choice of hot and cold food, with omelettes, eggs, bacon, crepes all being cooked to order. On our wedding night we ate in the Aphrodite A la Carte restaurant and had a fabulous meal.

We also like eating out and can recommend the following restaurants nearby: Cavallinis for a romantic Italian meal, Plaka for traditional Cypriot food and a great atmosphere, and Paco loco which is a new Mexican just opposite the hotel.

To say that Pphos has no culture is just laughable. The Tombs of the Kings, Aphrodite's Rock and the Mosaics are all close by. We hired a car and drove to Pissouri, Polis and Coral Bay. The harbour area in Paphos is currently undergoing a facelift and will be finished soon.

If you like karaoke nights, bingo, organised activities by the pool then the Athena Royal is not for you. However, if you prefer a peaceful relaxing atmosphere, attentive staff, great food and a stunning location then this will be you perfect hotel I would rate it as 5 star and not just because we had our wedding here. All guests were treated the same. We will definitely go back! I cannot recommend it highly enough

If you would like to ask me any questions about the hotel please feel free to get in touch.

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere, lovely staff, great location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    554
    122
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
35
560
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

I took my mum to the Athena Royal beach for her birthday and we just had the best time.
We knew it would be pretty quiet and no kids which was perfect for us, we had a sea view room and air conditioning which was working in April!!!!!!
The weather was fabulous, well into the late 80's every day and not a cloud in the sky.
The management were brilliant and my mum was treated exceptionally on her birthday, free champagne and wine and balloons on the room door, she loved it.
Im only 28 and although I knew there would not be much nightlife, evening entertainment at the hotel would have been nice as there really wasnt much to do but overall the holiday was fantastic and I would definatley recommend it and I would go there again.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

This is a top-class hotel with excellent staff, lovely rooms and fabulous food. If you decide to holiday at the Athena Royal Beach you won't be disappointed.

Me and my friend specifically booked this hotel as we had stayed at the sister hotel before and quite fancied an adults only experience. It's very quiet and relaxed both in the day and at night. If you want bars and nightlife then it is all on the doorstep but what bliss to come back to calm and quiet without the adorable screeching of someone elses little darlings.

So much choice in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner that we didn't bother to eat anywhere else and having been to Cyprus many times we know a fair few excellent places but the hotel catered for us both very well. A little too well where the puddings were concerned.

The rooms were a nice size with a fridge, tea and coffee, kettle, iron and board, slippers and a robe and a free safe. Bottle of water, fruit and wine on arrival was another nice touch. Everything we wanted was there.

Entertainment at night was so so but isn't it everywhere? Drinks were reasonably priced 5 euros a cocktail and we sampled several. Spa was lovely but was a bit pricey but then you are on holiday so why not .

The staff couldn't do enough for you here. After "breaking" the safe it was sorted quickly and efficiently. Special note that the young lad who gets your pool drinks is lovely and he walks around in that heat all day.

Not sure if it was my imagination or not but the majority of the staff here are also very good looking. Nice to have a bit of eyecandy on your hols.

Just go and have a great time, I'll definately be back.

  • Liked — All of it, one of the best holidays ever.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

My sister and I have just returned from a week in athena royale beach, whilst the staff are very helpful and friendly, the average age of guests is 70 and by 9pm everyone had gone to bed! The night time entertainment was not very good so probably that is why everyone had an early night!
Although the food was ok the variety was poor, even on a themed night the starters/puddings were always the same!
Although the hotel was kept clean I would not rate it a 4 star plus hotel. The main reception area/bars are ok but the carpets in the corridors are shabby and the rooms themselves need updating, especially the bath rooms. Whilst it is a child free zone, which is why we chose the hotel, we would have apprecaited something a bit more livelier, we have nothing against being over 70 it just meant our break was rather quieter than we had anticipated!
Paphos itself was a disappointment, if you like british pubs with all day breakfasts and time share touts you will love it, but if you are after some culture/change of scenery forget it. The hotel is also in the flight path so its gets very noisy from mid morning.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

Hotel as shown in brochures.
Very clean with excellent helpful staff especially front desk and the 2 Florins in dining room.
Food edible if unimaginative would benefit from less choice and better presentation however good value for money breakfast best meal.
Surrounding area uninspiring with beer and football taking preference over any great culinary showing, lack of local feel and no golden beaches.
Agree with previous reviewer Frank & Trixie were a nightmare with their followers.
Age profile dropped during stay but initially was more nursing home with bowls & Sequence dancing.
The beach area ,swimming pools, ahd gardens were very well maintained and peaceful with good supply of sunbeds and umberellas.

  • Liked — Beach front position
  • Disliked — Lack of atmosphere in dining room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

Returning to the hotel for a second time, it was nice to see that it was every bit as spacious, comfortable, beautifully situated, and well-run as we remembered it to be. The service is attentive and the front-line management outstanding. All this and no kids! Magic.
But before rushing to book, a couple of words of caution that you will search for in vain in the brochures.
First, avoid April. No matter how high the temperature climbs -and while we were there low 30s was not uncommon- THERE WILL BE NO AIR-CONDITIONING.!! It's never switched on before the first of May. Amazing in such a quality establishment, but it's got something to do with a local agreement within the Paphos area. The shops are no better.
Second, this could just about be lived with if it were not for another particularly unwelcome development. Forced out on your balcony by the stifling heat in your otherwise lovely room, or maybe just wanting to sit out and soak up the atmosphereof this magic place, what is the sound that most fills the air? Is it the gentle lapping of the warm waters of the Eastern Mediterranean on the rocks below? Or maybe the playful calls of the night birds as they dart from palm to palm in the lovely gardens at your feet? Or maybe the rhythm of a playful bouzouki borne on the night breeze from a distant taverna wedding party? Forget it! They're all drowned out by the sound of a ballroom organ beating out " Let me call you sweetheart" ,or some such., so that a pair of sorts called Frank and Trixie (yes, really) can give a sad legion of sequence dance junkies their nightly fix. What is it with these people that they so want to spend their money turning one of the most lovely spots on "Aphrodite's Island" into a fair imitation of the Royal British Legion Hall, Smethwick.?
The only coping mechanism I can recommend is to get a room on the west side of the hotel. Here you are as far removed from the offending function room as is possible, and can look forward to
a) getting full value for your balcony
b) better sleep
c) not developing an irrestible urge to chop Frank's organ into a thousand little pieces. (without anaesthetic).
d) shaving a few bob off the room rate

All the rave reviews of this hotel are, in every other respect, well merited. By day it's heaven, but by night, (thanks to Frank's organ, and especially in April), it's hell. Such a shame, but unless something changes, we won't be going back for a third time.
Jock Scott

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — night noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

The only gripe we had about tthis hotel was that we booked a sea view room through Expedia but on arrival were told that a sea view room was not available which was very disappointing. After trying to move us to the hotel next door (nowhere near the same quality) we finally agreed a deal with the hotel which I have to say they handled extremely well. So, if you book something specific through Expedia, check that with the hotel also before you go.

That gripe aside, this is a wonderful hotel in a lovely location. The good points for us were as follows:

1. No children, which made for a very peaceful stay (not being being mean but...)
2. Great facilities - 3 pools - indoor pool (outdoor pool is chilly), pool, table tennis, lovely bar areas, happy hour cocktails 6-7pm.
3. Close to the town but not too close - the main town is about 20 minutes (walk) away
4. Good restauarants nearby. We found two lovely local restaurants that were in a different league to any that we found in town or near the harbour (which are touristy restaurants). Come out of the hotel and turn left - about 3 minutes walk and you will come across an Italian called Cavallinis which was fabulous. Turn right out of the hotel and 5-10 mins walk away on the other side is another beautiful Italian (upstairs) - can't remember the name but it's also beautiful.
5. The staff - the general hotel staff are very welcoming and friendly, which really made for a lovely stay.

Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel - would recommend the sea view rooms though as the view is great.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#31 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.