We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akti Beach Tourist Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Akti Beach Tourist Village to your Saves list
Akti Beach Tourist Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hadjiefstathiou Street | Chlorakas, Paphos 8060, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This was our first experience of an all inclusive holiday and we had a wonderful time. On arrival, we were given a warm welcome by the reception staff on duty and I have to say the friendly and pleasant service provided by Llama and Natalia in particular continued throughout our stay.
We stayed in room 710 which had views both over the pool and sea as requested. The apartment was attractive and spacious and our room was cleaned daily and the beds made every day. Air conditioning was a little noisy even on low, but that was the only concern accommodation wise.
An extensive selection of choices was available at breakfast and it was pleasant to sit outside overlooking the pool. A variety of salads and main dishes were offered at lunch-time although it is advisable to wait until the queues have dissipated and eat later. Dinner was rather disappointing however, some dishes were barely warm after being left out for some time and a greater selection of meat and fish dishes could have been provided. Service at dinner-time needs improving as there are only a few staff to meet the needs of a significant number of guests. Drinks often arrived when we had nearly finished our meals which was unfortunate.
The main pool area is fantastic and even though when there was a significant number of people in the pool at times there was still ample room to swim. I enjoyed Aqua aerobics although the water polo did get a little boisterous at times and inhibited the enjoyment of the other pool users. We would have liked to have seen more activities on offer for the 6-12 age group as the activities were all aimed at either the smaller children or teenagers.
Roxana does a sterling job; she makes time to talk to most of the guests and is keen and enthusiastic at all times. I was suitably impressed by her ability to speak a variety of languages which made her approachable to all guests.
The bar staff and waiters do a fantastic job in the evenings. We sat out on the terrace most evenings and they offered a friendly and prompt delivery of drinks when requested. Special mention must go to Sarah and Martina for their polite and pleasant manner with guests.
The hotel is 4 km away from Paphos so we took several taxi rides to go shopping and out for several meals. It costs 10 euros for 10-15 trip although there is a shuttle bus available provided by the hotel. The trip to Fasouri water park is highly recommended; it is green and lush and we had a fantastic day there.
The beach by the hotel is just a rocky cove and it is difficult for smaller children to access and feel safe. There is a small sandy beach 10 minutes walk away in the direction of Paphos but watch out for the large rocks.
We had a fantastic holiday and were sorry to leave; hopefully we will return to Akti Beach sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: Request a pool/sea view, we managed to get both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Tourist Village, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for being our guests. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires but most important we feel happy because you are satisfied with the service given by our personnel, our most important asset. Also, your review helps us to improve areas of the hotel which do not meet your expectations. Thank you for mentioning that. We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    219
    91
    25
    25
See reviews for
228
253
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was our first experience of all inclusive and would thoroughly recommend. The hotel is nice and small so gives a very friendly atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.From Harry,Martina,Sarah and Lubo in the bar. Natalya and the team in reception.Jenny and the team in the restaurant who I can not name all of them.Roxanna in the entertainment team was just lovely. So happy and chatty and works hard with all her animation team.The whole of the hotel staff all work REALLY hard and always have a smile on their faces.
We had a 14 night stay at the hotel with friends and 4 teenage daughters..The rooms were spacious and cleaned daily.
The food was good although it would perhaps be better to be on a 2 week rota of menu choices. As on the fully inclusive option it could get a bit repetitive.However we never went hungry and for the money we paid was excellent value.
There is a daily shuttle bus from hotel to either Paphos harbour or the market and a bus stop at the top of the road to the town or Coral Bay beach.
The only negative point would be the location of hotel as slightly out of the town and you can not really walk anywhere nearby.
Also from the picture it looks like it has its own beach which in a way it has .But to swim you have to access a small path and swim via a small cove.Fine with us but not easy for small children.
Would recommend and stay here again.
Friendly personal service which we all need when we are on holiday.Missing it alreay....

Room Tip: Occasionally got wifi in the room.Best location reception and the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Tourist Village, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for being our guests. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires but most important we feel happy because you are satisfied with the service given by our personnel, our most important asset. Thank you for mentioning that. We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just returned from 11 nights at Akti beach. The staff were fantastic, friendly and pleasant at all times, food was plentiful and varied, and the entertainment particularly the mini disco with Roxana, Marek and Margo was thoroughly enjoyed by the children. The pools were beautiful and the site well maintained and we had a spacious apartment which was cleaned daily. Would definitely return to this hotel. many thanks to the staff for a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Tourist Village, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for being our guests. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires but most important we feel happy because you are satisfied with the service given by our personnel, our most important asset. Thank you for mentioning that. We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Akti Beach Village Resort would be a good 3* hotel, but not a true 4. The service was excellent, the staff were friendly, helpful and sorted out minor issues instantly, i.e. ant infestation.
On the first night, we arrived late, they gave us an excellent room, but next morning, JCB woke us up with the sound of braking. After we complained to the receptionist Natalia (who was very helpful) The hotel gave us an instant room replacement. The room was excellent, apart from insect problems and the air conditioner in the bedroom broke down twice which was sorted immediately by the hotel.
The Pelagos swimming pool was packed, but clean. The Apollo swimming pool was ok, but burnt oil smelt from the kitchen annoyed us a bit. The access to the sea was a bit rocky, but it was fine and the water was clean. The food was very good with a large variety, but a bit repetitive.
The animation team were very friendly, the events were good but started quite late. The mini disco was outstanding, the Akti beach song was favoured by kids and adults. The bar staff service was slow to take and deliver orders. Overall, the trip was great, a bit pricy, but enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose the one nearest to the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Tourist Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for being our guests, and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled almost all your expectations. We will immediately correct some of the things that you mention on your review. Your comments are highly appreciated.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just returned from our 2 week family holiday on AI basis. I will be as constructive as possible and mention what was good & bad. On arrival the reception area,entrance & lobby area does look somewhat dated and is in need of a face lift.Check-in was speedy and we were shown to our room (512) on the ground floor situated in the lovely little village. The room was spacious and the main bed was very comfortable. The two children's put up beds looked like something from a pre-war hospital but were clean. I did request additional pillows but these didn't appear, so had to ask a 2nd time. The room was a little dated and for a family of 4 we did struggle with the one double wardrobe. As mentioned in other reviews ants are a problem, but this isn't helped when you have a 2inch gap at the bottom of the door like ours. Ants appeared more and more over the 2 wks and can only put this down to the lack of cleaning. The little balcony was never cleaned or swept for the duration of our holiday even after mentioning this to reception. Fruit and flowers also not removed for the 2wks. On more than 2 occasions we returned to our room to find the patio doors had been left unlocked by the maid. This is not ideal when on the ground floor having money, passports,laptop etc in the room- we did report this to the reception staff. The aircon was a blessing but also leaked, so most mornings the floor was wet through and my sons bed was also wet through on one occasion. Moving on- food- the breakfast had all the usual except an omelette station which was very disappointing. Have never been to a 4 star that doesn't have fresh omelette/egg station. We liked the idea that you had a choice to sit in or out for breakfast and dinner. Lunch was served in the small pool restaurant. Have to agree with review from Karenstan, this hotel is very short staffed and the staff are overworked and presumably under paid. Management need to deal with this as a priority. The plates are left on tables and on more than one occasion for over an hour and this happened daily. Saji & Petar are the most hard working pleasant, helpful members of staff, but as mentioned they don't have time to think..... let alone chat with guests. On the whole the food was very good but we all felt the food served at lunch was better than the evening meal. Also need to mention that with correct staffing, staff should ensure guests are seated at the tables instead of it being a free for all- this was a problem for us when trying to find a clean table for 6. The menu for the evening meal is just at the restaurant door and one evening noticed chicken nuggets on the menu which my youngest son was happy to see, however no chicken nuggets to be seen. Saji did have these cooked for us yet this happened the following night with fish fingers on the menu but not available. Saji did his best to accommodate my son, but surely if food is on the menu then this should be available for the entire evening meal 6.30-9.30pm.Also noticed this happened with other food that was on the menu yet not available. We ate most nights 8-8.30pm as we prefer to eat later as a family. The drinks are a problem when ordering at the table once seated- on a few occasions we had finished our meal prior to the drinks order arriving....... needless to say we opted to get our own drinks from the bar area before coming to the restaurant for dinner. The evening entertainment again was a let down for my two boys aged 5 & 8yrs- little disco seemed more age appropriate for children under the age of 5 so again nothing for my boys. Moving on- the animation team Roxanna is a lovely chatty lady and made an effort with young old and middle age. We choose not to participate in the games and activities but Rozanna still came over for a chat when she could. The children's club is non existent and a huge disappointment. My two boys went into the children's play area one afternoon and sat and did some drawing with Margo!! both said not going again very boring. ...Come on people, children need more than a bit of drawing. All the activities are for adults only, so cant say how disappointing this was for our children.Water polo was played every afternoon which I found rather annoying, as all other guests were expected to use a small area of the pool at the hottest time of the day- surely it would make more sense to have the water polo in the quieter pool to allow all remaining guests the use of the main pool. Would have thought the hotel would have wanted to ensure all guests kept cool at the hottest time of the day, rather than those only wanting to play water polo!. The young lad on the animation team was a waste of space- didn't once ask us to join in with the activities and on one occasion my son had left his new goggles near the children's climbing frame so myself and husband were hunting round looking for them whilst he just sat slouched in a chair on his phone, didn't even ask what we was looking for or could he help in anyway. Seemed he was only interested in chatting up the young girls! As mentioned Roxanna was lovely and made a point of chatting with as many people as possible but do feel Roxanna needs to take note when asking guests to comment on tripadviser regarding herself. This came across a little too pushy and rather off putting!! Moving on- the beach is non existent after 10am you can have a paddle and little swim but no area for seating or sun loungers. The pool in my view is too small and not once was I able to have a swim due to the amount of people. The 2nd pool was lovely but in my view a waste of time as there was no separate seating area and no bar to get a drink from. If like us you need sun loungers and parasols close to the pool to keep your eye on the children be prepared to be down prior to 8am as by this time most of the beds near to the pool had been taken. The grass was also in need of cutting and after a week this was cut making the area much nicer. The little shop is ok if wanting papers ect but on one occasion I was pricing up cigarettes for a friend back home whilst txting the details of the various brands at the same time when the lady asked me to move away from the cigarettes whilst she served another guest.................how rude!! Lets just say we didn't make any further purchases from the shop. Russians..... what can I say, rude, rude,rude. Adults and children no better and felt they could walk to the front whilst other guests stood waiting in line whenever they felt like it. Even witnessed one very rude man talking to one of the waiters during lunch. It was disgraceful how this man treated this poor member of staff- grunting at him like he was something he had trodden on-total lack of respect. If you have a late departure be prepared to pay 50 Euro s for the privilege of keeping on your room- I think this is extortionate but when you have young children we felt we had little alternative but to pay.The other alternative was to use the gym changing room and shower which didn't appeal to me!This hotel is not a 4 star but the food was good. Overall wouldn't return until things mentioned are improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Tourist Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for being our guests. Your comments are very highly appreciated. We are very happy that you give us the opportunity to correct things that did not meet your expectations.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our village resort thus giving us the chance to show our warm hospitality.
Yours sincerely
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have just returned from spending eleven days at the Akti, a very busy, short staffed hotel. The staff are really pleasant but completely overworked, so there is not any time for those little touches that matter when on holiday. If you like food, this is not the place to come. It reminded me greatly of school meals, omlettes, for instance, are presented as a solid slab at breakfast, it would have been nice if these could have been freshly cooked to order. If you have an early trip booked you will note that baked beans start life as being completely cold, until warmed by the hot water under the trays of food. If you like eating surrounded by dirty dishes from previous courses, this is the place for you. Staff in the restaurant work really hard, including the really pleasant restaurant manager who unfortunately is just a hardworking glorified waiter so just doesn't have time to manage as it is impossible for them to keep up with the flow, breakages are high and one just has to wait.
Rooms are big, but I spent the first two nights sleeping on a plastic mattress cover which I asked twice to be changed, only for it to be removed completely and not replaced. Pillows were also not protected by pillow slips until requested (!) and the second night we were soaked by a leaking air conditioning unit placed above the bed although the apology, complimentary bottle of wine and fruit did ease our distress somewhat! Usually one sees a hotel manager wondering around, but, on this holiday we had no idea who it was. Evening entertainment is popular, so much so that one could never get a seat in the overcrowed room which is not really fit for purpose. Be aware also that it is cash only, cards are not accepted if booking for trips and the nearest cash machine is a taxi ride away. Overall I think Akti needs to be increasingly concerned about the other hotels nearby which are very competitive.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the large pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Tourist Village, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for being our guests. Your comments are very highly appreciated event thought we feel very unhappy with your comments and especially for the way you wrote it. We receive so many excellent comments and we believe your comment about our food is very unfair. Saji, our food and beverage manager is an extraordinary person who really extends memorable experiences to our guests. I must admit that for the previous week we were short of staff for few days and most probably Saji was not able to meet you and extend to you our services and for that I really apologise. I also mentioned to our exec. Housekeeper your comments about the bed cover and pillow slips. Concerning your comment about the hotel manager please allow me to say that I am almost always at the breakfast around 09:00- 09:30, lunch time from 13:30-14:45 and dinner time around 18:30-19:45. I see and I talk to many guests who usually come to me to congratulate us for the very good food and service given by our personnel. I am very -very sorry that we have not met. I would have the chance to help you with things that did not meet your expectations.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our village resort thus giving us the chance to show our warm hospitality.
Yours sincerely
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We recently came home from akti beach and had a lovely family holiday. It was our 1st experience of all inclusive and we really enjoyed it.
We had read lots of reviews before we arrived so we knew it was a bit remote, but that didn't bother us. We used the bus service to the harbour/coral bay and found it really easy.
We knew it wasn't a sandy beach that the hotel sat on and our older boys loved the stoney cove for snorkelling.
There were plenty of beds/umberellas but we did have to stick our towels on them at the crack of dawn if we wanted them nearest the pool, so we could supervise the kids.
The food was lovely and plentiful ! There was always food being served and we found that there was always plenty of choice. I agree the theme nights weren't very themed and sometimes the food wasn't very hot but we enjoyed it and there was always chips and pasta for the kids !! By the end of the 2 weeks it had become a bit repetitive, but that's probably the case in all AI hotels. The drinks service in the restaurant at dinner time was a bit slow but other than that the service was great.
Our apartment 618 was a great size and clean .
The kids loved the mini disco and Roxanna was very enthusiastic and worked hard. I didn't feel comfortable with the lad in the animation team I think he was there for one reason , the young girls but even that was uncomfortable to watch ! He didn't really fit in or interact well with the younger kids and didn't make much effort other than speaking to the teenage girls. My 7yr old son wouldn't go anywhere near him as he said he made him feel uncomfortable.
I do think the evening entertainment could be improved and the air conditioning should be used in the bar area . I also found it strange we couldn't even buy a drink after 11pm ??
All in all we had a lovely time , our kids enjoyed it and made plenty of friends, We would definately return .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Tourist Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for being our guests, and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled almost all your expectations. Your comments are highly appreciated. Thank you also for the comments about our animation team, we will correct all our weaknesses immediately. We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akti Beach Tourist Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Beach Tourist Village

Address: Hadjiefstathiou Street | Chlorakas, Paphos 8060, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#12 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#21 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
#35 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Beach Tourist Village 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Akti Beach Tourist Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel Paphos
Akti Beach Tourist Village Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akti Beach Tourist Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.