We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been coming here since 1996 - hugely disappointed, definitely not as good as last year!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Imperial Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Louis Imperial Beach to your Saves list
Louis Imperial Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poseidon Ave, PO Box 60284, Paphos 8101, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Been coming here since 1996 - hugely disappointed, definitely not as good as last year!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We travelled to Louis Imperial Beach again this year for our wedding anniversary as usual last month but did so with some reservation. We have visited this hotel for some 8 - 10 times (sometimes twice a year) but this time did try to book another hotel but the one we wanted was full so we decided to take the risk and give it one more go. Sadly it is unlikely we will return given that this hotel has deteriorated since our stay last year.

As usual I emailed the hotel that we were returning but did not get a reply this time therefore called and spoke to the receptionist at the time who confirmed they had allocated us one of our preferred rooms. However, when we arrived we were shown to a room that was not one of our preferred. We requested a room from numbers 337 - 340 and were given keys to 337 which we thought was okay until I turned the bed down and saw bugs crawling. I thought it was just one but checked again and ants were crawling in the bed. We went to reception again and in turn were shown the rest of the rooms but they all had the same problem - ants in the bed or bedside cabinet drawers. Eventually after a couple of hours we settled into a room which did not have ants! My husband was livid by now so this got our holiday off to a bad start and we were disappointed to say the least. The rooms are pretty jaded and tired and really have remained the same since we first went there back in 1996, but had we been in our preferred room the view would have compensated somewhat. The location in itself is now not enough!

Elena tried to appease us and we appreciated it was not her fault but it was not good enough. We were sent a bottle of wine and some credit was applied to our bill.

Our Thomas Cook rep Vicki Hughes tried her best to get one of our preferred rooms debugged and liaised with reception to this effect. However, when we checked with one of the female receptionists if we could now get into the room she said it would be ready later but this is not what had been agreed. This receptionist was not the most helpful so say the least. Later in the day we looked at the room but the ants were still there so we just resigned ourselves to staying in the room we were in!

Since the management change which we gleaned was brought about very quickly with the previous manager having to leave within days of notice in December 200, the difference was noticeable throughout the hotel as Peter's influence was no longer present. He treated us not only as valued guests but a friend too.

We recognised that there were still staff there who had been there many years but equally a lot had left. The staff do try their best and Aneta is brilliant. To our mind the whole atmosphere was affected by the changes and some of the guests prove a challenge to the staff in general. The standard of clientele was very mixed.

Another thing we noticed that we were unhappy with was that people who were not staying in the hotel were using the sunbeds which goes unchecked. The cheek of one woman who asked me the time then went on to use her mobile phone on loud speaker during a trivial conversation - her being British made me cringe. She was there with her husband and noisy children, not the kind of clientele we appreciate. This was not acceptable as we had paid to stay there and do not expect interlopers to be allowed to do this.

Also over the years we have noticed some four Brits - two couples who frequently use the beach (which we realise is public) but cheekily use the hotels pools and conveniences but never buy a thing there, they bring everything in a huge cool box and are there day in day out. This would not be tolerated elsewhere.

We know the hotel has/had a lot of guest returnees who come year in year out up to four times a year but also gleaned a lot were not happy with the way things are at the hotel now and would not be returning.

How sad - we have been visiting Cyprus since 1984 and class it as our second home, but will now choose another hotel given the foregoing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Louis Imperial Beach, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from the Louis Imperial Beach Hotel. Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at our hotel. We were very sorry to hear/read that some of our hotel’s services have not met your expectations. Please be advised that the hotel’s management team have thoroughly investigated all points mentioned in your review and necessary actions have already been taken so as all concerned services/departments will improve.

Once again thank you for your review as well as for choosing to stay at the Louis Imperial. Should you decide to return back to the Louis Imperial, or to any other Louis Hotel, we would be very happy to hear from you.

Thank you and all the best.

Louis Hotels Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    397
    120
    28
    18
See reviews for
473
608
40
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

After reading some reviews I was a little aprehensive. There was no need. The hotel was in a fantastic location, was extremley clean, excellent service and a great range of food and activities. When we arrived it was half tweleve at night and we were very hungry but not expecting any food. When we arrived in our 2 rooms( there were four adults and two kids), there were 3 plates in each room, all filled with cold meats and salads and fresh rolls. What a lovely welcome. All the staff were friendly but i have to give a very special thank you to the fantastic animation team, who work very hard and extremely long hours. They are always smiling, and so friendly. It is the first year my children, Matt 10 and Sara 6 have ever gone to a kids club. They fell in love with Danielle who was fantastic with all the children! Matt and Sara did not want to leave.
The shows in the evening were always excellent and had 100% effort and enthusiasm and although they are not proffessional entertainers, they pulled off some brilliant and very funny shows which kept adults and children very well entertained. I would definatley go again next year and highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We had a wonderful relaxing holiday at the Imperial. From checkin to checkout everything was friendly and efficient. While there are plenty of things to do and see in cyprus, our children ( 10,8,6 ) were so impressed with the entertainment programme and food they did not want to leave so our only regrets are that we hired a car and took half board when we should have gone all inclusive.The hotel is only a 20 minute pleasant seaside walk from the port anyway which is pedestrian only and therefore safe even by night. The variety and quality of food were of the highest standard . The animation team were magnificent and the shows were hilarious. The rooms by some of the staffs own admission are in need of some modernisation and are therfore not quite at plasma tv modernity and are scheduled for same in the near future but if you value cleanliness they cannot be faulted, serviced as they are by a dedicated cleaning staff who always found time to greet you with a friendly good morning 'kalimera'.The level of service was super and there was a genuine warmth and friendliness from the staff right from top to bottom which was even reflected in the guests there, from the elderly to familys, without exception all were friendly and relaxed . Not surprisingly many were return visitors. Indeed, we look forward to being one of those families telling another how we have returned because of the wonderful experience we have had at the Imperial.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Imperial was the perfect hotel for our perfect trip to Paphos. This hotel is located close to all. It is right on the beach. There is also a pool with lots of daytime entertainment. The entertaining staff is very friendly. For that matter, the whole staff was friendly and helpful. The buffet at the restaurant was very good. There was a different theme every night. Cypriot night was great. We got to try a lot of different types of local foods. We had a relaxing and fun vacation. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Having been lucky enough through my husband's work to stay in some fantastic hotels around the world such as The Palace of the Lost City in Sun City, SA, this really is fab wee hotel and great value for money. Was a little wary after reading some the other reviews but I can honestly say they must have been very picky. We found the staff were more than helpful, food was excellent, entertainment team very enthusiastic (didn't push if you didn't want to take part), standard of cleanliness was excellent both inside and out. Yes the bedrooms are a little tired (our's was a double family room 367, with lovely view over pool and sea) but everything you needed was there and when the weather is fantastic outside we didn't want to be inside any more than necessary! We were all inclusive and my opinion is that's the best deal, includes breakfast, lunch and dinner along with late morning and midnight snacks though we never needed any snacks. Evening meals had theme nights, greek, chinese, indian to name few and were really good but there was always the carvery if you didnt want to try different food. Kids could go up to the pool bar and get their drinks as when needed with our A.I card but soon the bar staff got to recognise us and we didnt need to show it. Bar staff were all nice had some great laughs with Tanju and Emil, and we have never seen so many pretty, hardworking waitresses all in the one hotel! The evening restaurant has a strict dress code for men, long trousers and no sleeveless T-shirts and one guest was indeed refused entry on one occassion during our stay. Have read in other reviews that men complained it was too hot to wear long trousers but the air conditioning was on in the evenings. If I had one fault to mention it would be meal times - as meals are buffet style I was a bit shocked at some parents who were quite happy to let small children go up and help themselves then they would rush back to their tables, their plates held at all sorts of angles. Once my son had a plate of watermelon land at his feet from another child's plate and one morning at breakfast I had to help a little boy deal with a plate of pancakes he had dropped, crying his eyes out, parent no-where to be seen! Can't really blame the hotel for this but did mention on the hotel comment's form that perhap's they need to address situation? But don't let this put you off as food quality more than made up for a few thoughtless parent's. Can't give you any info on trips etc as we wanted a relaxing holiday by the pool and sea and that's exactly what we got. Beach a little rocky but water very clear and refreshing. If you want more peace and quiet then the garden loungers next to the beach provided this. There's a new footpath into Paphos Harbour area and takes about 25mins. We only went for a look but if you wanted anything to eat or drink there were lots of pavement restaurant's that looked nice. We did order a taxi from reception one day (10 euros each way) and an E- class mercedes took us into the older part of Paphos where we went to the local markets to buy some souvenirs. Got speaking to other guests around the pool and for many of them this was return visits to the hotel, and I would certainly go back there with my family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I have to be honest, we would not ordinarily have chosen this hotel (our perference is boutique/5 star) but it had been picked for a family wedding. Situated close to Pafos the Louis Imperial is a fairly small and extremely friendly well run clean hotel with excellent facilities.

Location and food are usually two key factors for us, and both were excellent. There are great easy walks around the coast and plenty of watersports facilities within a couple of minutes, as well as the town of Pafos. In terms of the food, with two food allergies this is usually a test for the kitchen. Not only did I have choice on this occasion, but I was taken around by the chef each evening, which is something I've only experienced in more expensive hotels. The food was of a high local quality, varied and always delicious.

The hotel also has an excellent entertainment team (including well run activities that you can dip into as you like) and a small protected beach at the end of the well kept gardens. While the rooms are pretty standard, apart from a softer pillow we did not need anything else. Most of all we were impressed by the staff, nothing was too much touble and they were always warm, helpful and incredibly efficient.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

after reading many reviews on lots of hotels, we decided to go for it.
well, we were certainly not disappointed!! ...hotel very clean, pool very good,entertainment team fantastic, food was delicious, always hot, so much variety, weather lovely and hot!
only very small downer was rooms are a little out of date and beaches are mainly rock ,but these are tiny things that certainly didnt spoil our holiday!! lots for kids to do and we cant wait to go back! again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Louis Imperial Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Imperial Beach

Address: Poseidon Ave, PO Box 60284, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#15 Family Hotel in Paphos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Imperial Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by exotic gardens and only a few steps from the azure blue Mediterranean waters this 4 Star Paphos hotel invites you and your family or friends to experience a truly relaxing Cyprus holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Louis Imperial Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Imperial Beach Paphos
Louis Imperial Beach Hotel Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Imperial Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.