We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gemens cafe bar

Gemens cafe bar
Poseidonos avenue, Paphos, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 427 Restaurants in Paphos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly welcom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We always visit Gemens for lunch when we are in the tourist area. There is always a friendly welcome from Costas and Andreas (the owners) and Andrea the waitress.
They are closed from the end of November until March. We will be back in March!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paphos
1 review
“Gemen's truely a Cypriot gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Experience a warm and friendly welcome from Andreas Costas and Andrea. Traditional Cypriot bar,well worth visiting. Great value.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Greatest bar in Paphos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Myself and my family thoroughly enjoyed this cafe bar which was ten minutes walk from our hotel (The Avanti) which we stayed in from 29th Sept - 6th Oct and visited this bar most nights. There were other bars/cafes in the area but we found that they just did not compare with Gemens bar.

Friendly staff and the drinks and food are lovely. The quality is amazing and you get a lot for what you pay for at a great cost. Really good quality and efficient service. We also took advantage or the free wi-fi that was on offer. This bar is also child friendly with room to manoeuvre buggies and high chairs available if needed.

For these reasons I would highly recommend this place if you are visiting Paphos.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Try Gemens Cafe Bar for a Delightful Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We always had a warm welcome here by Costa & Andreas behind the bar,and Andrea who was
our waitress,she was a delight and always polite and cheerful.
Gemens has a well stocked Bar,and serves excellent Hot & Cold snacks,The Bar is situated just
across the road from Alexander The Great Hotel at 89 Posidonos Avenue,Pathos,It opens at 9am and closes around 1am,Mon-Sat,But is closed Sundays,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford hellhole
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Like it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Been going in here last 3 years as next to our hotel and can't fault it. Food and drink are very good and reasonably priced and normally served by the very pleasant Andrea . Although it has to be said they lost out to Romantica this year for our lunch visits as that is even closer to our hotel and we were being lazy. Was also impressed last year when we had just arrived late at night and they had stopped serving food but one of the brothers still offered to make us sandwiches if we were hungry. The type of service you just don't get in the UK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gemens cafe bar also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Gemens cafe bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gemens cafe bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.