We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Paul's Pillar

Saint Paul's Pillar
Pafos Afroditis, Paphos, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 47 Attractions in Paphos
Attraction Details
Amroth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It took a bit of time to fine this location as it is not well signposted, but is well worth the visit. A fascinating site and well explained in terms of history of the buildings. It was very quiet when we were there and the church is an oasis of calm. A very spiritual place for visitors of all faiths and a chance to reflect on the thousands of years of history this part of Cyprus has experienced.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    65
    23
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Deep in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

You can visit this site freely day or night, the full location is getting rebuilt bit by bit. I was surprised how different it has become all ready and its only two years since I was last there. I love this place as the history of the holly wars and the past ouse out everywhere here. I like to visit by myself and just sit and try and imagine what it must have been like all them years ago. If you want to visit the inside of the church here you must dress accordingly, no bare chests male or female lol

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Been there couple times on holiday,nice friendly owners,If you like cats its the place to be lol
Lovely meal evertime we went to vist.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved the little church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

So untouched, amazed to see the stone work from many many years ago. The little church is lovely ...ladies/ gents wear something to cover your shoulders there are shawls you can borrow as a Mark of respect.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockie
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We really liked this place it was so peaceful to walk round and read up on all the history the church is beautiful and well worth a visit we were lucky enough to visit when a service was on which was good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Paul's Pillar also viewed

 

Been to Saint Paul's Pillar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Paul's Pillar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.