We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been interesting if they had been open when they said it would!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Byzantine Museum

Byzantine Museum
5 Andrea Ioannou Street | Adjoined to the Bishopric - Near Agios Theodoros Church, Paphos, Cyprus
+357 26 931 393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 108 things to do in Paphos
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Would have been interesting if they had been open when they said it would!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Would have been interesting if they had been open when they said it would!! Luckily there are some really good places to have a drink and snack nearby!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Amazing place to visit. I would recommend take plenty of water in main holiday months as the temperature gets way over what it is on the coastline. Not so interesting for very young children I suspect.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing and I bought a picture from the shop/guy at desk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Beautiful images of Byzantine paintings. Your not allowed to take pictures but there is post cards and Pictures on wood which you can buy and there is a story behind each image as the guy who i bought the ticket and picture from told me that each one of the people are saints. I really enjoyed it and think it is worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“My wife and I absolutely loved this a real must do whilst in Paphos! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I visited this museum last week and were blown away with the exhibits. The paintings and icons (you can get close enough to the exhibits to be able to smell the history) one of which is dated back to the 7-8th Century! Really great don't pass up the opportunity to visit! :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Byzantine Museum, Paphos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A breath-taking collection of Byzantine style icons, the earliest being 9th century. A definite must for art lovers

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byzantine Museum also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Byzantine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byzantine Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.