We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good meal at Akis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akis Tavern

Akis Tavern
Acheleia Village | old road to Paphos airport, Paphos 8503, Cyprus
0035799555927
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 432 Restaurants in Paphos
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A simple traditional taverna, family run, with no gourmet elements, as that would contradict the whole concept, in a village setting and beautiful gardens. My mum prepares the food with lots of love and the rest of us make sure it is served to you properly and on time! The presentation is simple as well, as my father wants, although my mother would love to show off a bit more of her skills:) However and most importantly, it is genuinely Cypriot!We have had the taverna since 1990 and during the years we have made a lot of wonderful friends and shared with them beautiful moments, wedding and christening parties, anniversaries and birthday parties. That is the best part of the story!So, after writing a whole essay I realise I could just describe it with one single sentence: A family-run tavern who loves Cypriot food and enjoys serving its visitors!Thank you for taking the time to read it!
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another good meal at Akis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Been here a few times now and the food is consistently good. Together with good, friendly service - it is highly recommended. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are really glad that you are keepcoming back, that's a good sign :) Thank you so much for recommending us ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    26
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Can' t wait for our next visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Back to Cyprus just for 5 days.. And of course back to Akis Tavern for the great Greek meze and the delicious mousakka! Thank you very much!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We should be the one thanking you for always finding the time to review us, despite your busy schedule!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Donato Milanese, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cyprus at its best.!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I came on vacations, once mo0re in Cyprus. I have visited this place before, and never disappointed me . There are many local customers, which i believe, is a good sign. Still the best mousakka in Cprus; and trust me i've tasted the most. Surely recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
It was lovely having you back! My mum sends her regards and thanks you for your comments about her mussakka ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Amazing find, close to airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Last night we had to drop family at the airport and then wait for a delayed incoming flight. Rather than wait around for 2 hours, we decided to find the closest place for a drink. We came across Akis tavern. So glad we did, we decided to have something light to eat and went away totally full!! We ordered kebabs in pittas, which came wrapped in paper and were stuffed with fresh salad and herbs, amazing taste. During the meal the owners came over to chat to us and were so hospitable. At the end of the meal we were bought complimentary water melon and homemade cake. We were only sorry that we could not stay longer, and although it is quite a way for us to travel we will definitely try to get back before we go home.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are really glad you didn't spend your time in the airport and came to us instead :) We hope that your friends in the delayed flight weren't very upset though :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No one, will ever reach the quality of Akis Tavern.!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Been there several times. Is still the same. Same quality, same kind people, same service. The gardens of Akis are the best in town. You can enjoy a nice dinner and also a nice lunch. Perfect for couples and families. Highly recommended..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
...and same friendly people! You are always lovely with us! Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akis Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Letymvou, Paphos District
 

Been to Akis Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akis Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.