We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lara Bay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lara Bay Turtle Conservation Station

Lara Bay Turtle Conservation Station
Akamas, Paphos, Cyprus
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 100 things to do in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lara Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Unspoiled by cafes, restaurants, lilos etc. Not really much to see, apart from fenced off areas where eggs have been layer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bit Bumpy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Bit of a bumpy journey if not in a 4 x 4 but after a 20 minute journey we made it to turtle beach. There is no bar/resturants or toilets. A nice beach

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona42scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good information about the work they do for the turtles. Very importent to have and thank you guys for a great job!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, great views from the pub overlooking the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Went here as part of a quad bike safari, therefore the 'road' to get there was not a problem, indeed it was exceptionally good fun! This sort of fun would never be allowed in the UK!
Although I would not like to drive a hire car down the track, it would take a long time at approx. 5 miles an hour in second gear trying to avoid the ruts and rocks!

The scenery on the way to the beach is awesome and the beach itself is absolutely stunning. We were the only people on the beach, which I was surprised with. Although, it may get a lot busier in the peak season.
There were some turtle nests there which were sectioned off to protect the eggs.

The pub overlooking the beach is well positioned with great views. Lots of seating both in and out of the shade. We didn't eat there, but the food looked great. There's lots of information on the walls, with pictures of local wildlife and turtles.
There's plenty of parking and toilet facilities. The steps from the pub to the beach were quiet steep (but not long) so not great for those with disabilities.

When I go back to Cyprus I will definitely go here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank starflowershel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lara bay is a beautiful place . Well off the beaten track and you will need a jeep to get there. It is very quiet which suits the turtles who lay there eggs there. There is a small hut with lots of interesting facts on the turtles and what the conservationists are trying to do. Try and get here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katrina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lara Bay Turtle Conservation Station also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Lara Bay Turtle Conservation Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing