We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lara Bay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lara Bay Turtle Conservation Station

Lara Bay Turtle Conservation Station
Akamas, Paphos, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 47 Attractions in Paphos
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lara Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Unspoiled by cafes, restaurants, lilos etc. Not really much to see, apart from fenced off areas where eggs have been layer.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    77
    35
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great to drive around the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is not so much what you see once you reach the conservation area, as the drive offroad to those beautiful views and deserted beaches

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Bit Bumpy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Bit of a bumpy journey if not in a 4 x 4 but after a 20 minute journey we made it to turtle beach. There is no bar/resturants or toilets. A nice beach

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Good information about the work they do for the turtles. Very importent to have and thank you guys for a great job!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, great views from the pub overlooking the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Went here as part of a quad bike safari, therefore the 'road' to get there was not a problem, indeed it was exceptionally good fun! This sort of fun would never be allowed in the UK!
Although I would not like to drive a hire car down the track, it would take a long time at approx. 5 miles an hour in second gear trying to avoid the ruts and rocks!

The scenery on the way to the beach is awesome and the beach itself is absolutely stunning. We were the only people on the beach, which I was surprised with. Although, it may get a lot busier in the peak season.
There were some turtle nests there which were sectioned off to protect the eggs.

The pub overlooking the beach is well positioned with great views. Lots of seating both in and out of the shade. We didn't eat there, but the food looked great. There's lots of information on the walls, with pictures of local wildlife and turtles.
There's plenty of parking and toilet facilities. The steps from the pub to the beach were quiet steep (but not long) so not great for those with disabilities.

When I go back to Cyprus I will definitely go here again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lara Bay Turtle Conservation Station also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Lara Bay Turtle Conservation Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lara Bay Turtle Conservation Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.