We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Bianco Cafe

Mar Bianco Cafe
Pafinia 11-13 Poseidonos AV. | Kato Pafos, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
011 357 26953311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 428 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Refreshing drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After a walk along the sea front we stopped here for a drink. Along with the normal coffees and cold drinks they offer smoothies and juices. I opted for a mint and lime lemonade which was the most refreshing drink of the holiday.
The atmosphere was relaxed and we had a nice shaded seat overlooking the sea, a perfect way to end a walk in the heat.
We will certainly look at eating there when we return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had the sushi platter which was lovely. And then a wrap and pitta (part of the snacks) Both so fresh and delicious- couldn't finish them as they were big portions. Food made with care.
Relaxing and a lovely setting. Topped off with a fresh mint, lime and lemonade take out drink which put Starbucks to shame.
Would recommend and hope to visit again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Cafe, Lovely Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

While having a weeks holiday in Paphos I visited this cafe nearly everyday whether just for a quick coffee or lunch. The food is excellent and really good value. The portions are large so if you have a small appetite you may need to share. The staff are so lovely, really friendly and helpful.

Lovely to sit outside and watch the world walk by. Would definately recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Maybe ok for local drinks and food of the menus but beware of the specials...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Myself, my partner and our 1 year old daughter decided to have our evening meal at Mar Bianco for a change as we are holidaying on a self catering basis. We were enticed in by the specials set menu at €9.95 per person for starter, main and dessert off a set menu. Upon ordering, I asked if the chicken curry came with rice or chips. The waitress told me it came with rice so I ordered an extra portion of chips. My partner ordered peppered chicken. There was no childrens menu so we were told if we chose a pasta dish they would do a half portion for our little girl. we thought that was reasonable as the carbonara we chose was €8.95 so a half portion would cost a half of the main price. We then ordered a coke each that came in a long pint glass with lots of ice. It was so watered down it was more like fizzy water with a mild hint of flavouring! When our starters came they consisted of burnt garlic bread that was literally hard, dry and tasteless (the Cypriot couple next to us had lovely garlic bread cooked perfectly). We then waited 45 minutes for our main which ended up coming with chips even though we were told it came with rice. The waitress told us it came with chips not rice after we confronted her and eventually changed the extra portion of chips for rice. The meal itself was rubbish. The chips and rice were fine but the actual chicken was vile. Off cuts of poor meat from wings and legs with the occasional stringy piece of chicken skin thrown in for good measure. The curry sauce tasted like nothing either. I left most of it as did my other half who was equally unimpressed. Even my daughter left her tiny bowl of carbonara which was cold by the time it was brought to us. Finally our desserts came which was the best part of the meal (let's face it though its very hard to mess up a simple sponge cake). Then came the bill. €42 for two set menus and a child's portion. The biggest shock was the watered down pepsi's at €5 a pop! We only had one each!! Our daughters "half portion" of carbonara was charged at almost $7 ... So a half portion here does not cost half the price as it was €8.95 full price!! We had the pleasure of people smoking throughout our meal as well, along with the waitress/waiter seating people around us so we could barely move which with a one year old is a pain! Such a shame because it is a beautiful looking cafe bar in a stunning harbour side location. To add insult to injury I've been feeling unwell ever since!! My advice to anyone is do not eat here - it's cheaper, better and more enjoyable to go to one of the beautiful Indian or Italian restaurants on the island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Cafe in Paphos without a doubt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had to keep coming back for the wonderful food and the friendly staff who go the extra mile to ensure you have a fabulous visit. Whether it's for a drink, snack or something more substantial, there's something for everyone. The staff go out of their way to ensure everything is to your taste. The Vegetable Moussaka is the best in Cyprus! It's not on the menu, but it should be! Just one word from Mona and it was available the following evening to the delight of one very fussy vegetarian, who also went big time for the Halloumi in Pitta of a lunchtime. If only the staff at the other restaurants and bars in Paphos were as eager to please. We shall definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Bianco Cafe also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Mar Bianco Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Bianco Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.