We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, great food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sa - Buneri

Sa - Buneri
Simou | Evretou Dam, Paphos, Cyprus
+357 99 823615
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 428 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic view, great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We called in here for lunch, on the way to my brothers house, what an extremely pleasant surprise it was! the view over the reservoir is absolutely stunning, the food arrived quickly and for the price was much better than expected, the staff very friendly and helpful, overall a very enjoyable experience, which I shall repeat in the not too distant future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    5
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sublime home cooking, Perfect setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Have used Trip Advisor religiously when looking for good places to eat in Paphos, without exception I have been disappointed with the 5* reviews that are way too kind.
That is until we went to Sa Buneri. Just as I was about to give up on Cypriot food we walk into this place, and what a place it is. If you want to discover the food of Cyprus I really do recommend you go here. Its not fancy. Its rustic, honest home cooking. We all decided on the Meze (€14 per person for lunch) Every dish (Its pretty much a taste of everything on the menu) was good and despite ordering for 5 people (4 adults and 2 children) there was quite a lot to take home.
For me its all about the food. That comes first. Service etc is important but frankly I would eat this food in a wooden hut and still be pleased.
Sa Buneri is a wonderful, relaxed and picturesque place, the staff are wonderful, I just can't fault it. Ok maybe one thing, perhaps some food was a little salty, we drank bottles of water afterwards.

And last but no means least, this has been the best and the cheapest meal we have had all holiday. Go figure...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia
1 review
“A fabulous experience ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A beautiful place and an unforgettable experience. Great view with great people. The personnel was very helpful and friendly. We felt very comfortable and in general we had a very good time during our stay in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place, Wonderful View, Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We recently spent a fabulous holiday early June in Argaka with our daughter and her husband. One of the days was spent exploring the local villages up in the hills above Polis. On the way back to our villa we decided to stop at Sa Buneri as we had called the previous year and vowed to go back. As we arrived we were greeted by two delightful little puppies Rosie and her friend. Eleni was there on her own and made us very welcome and managed to make us a wonderful meal of souvlaki and kebabs which we ate whilst watching the sun go down. Everything was freshly prepared and cooked to perfection, never had chips that tasted so good. Eleni actually tried to teach us a little Greek but we failed miserably. If you are ever in the area of the Evratou Dam or Simou you must call at this tavern with a view, you won't be disappointed. We shall be back next year and visiting Eleni and the puppies.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm welcome, great food and terrific views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We sought out Sa-Buneri from the recommendation of our villa agent and were so glad we did. We ate here twice during a seven day stay and the meze was the finest I've tasted. Eleni is a wonderful host and it felt more like we were visiting friends than eating at a restaurant. This is a gem - don't miss out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sa - Buneri also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Sa - Buneri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sa - Buneri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.