We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paphiessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paphiessa Hotel to your Saves list
Paphiessa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Agios Filon Street, Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Paphiessa Hotel from 11/11/12-18/11/12. we had a fantastic holiday, yes our room(self catering) was dated furniture and fixings wise, but the rooms were clean and cleaned daily, staff very friendly and helpful, beds comfy, and all in all can not fault it at all for the price we paid.
The owners even allowed our son to stay at short notice (he lives on Cyprus) which was gratefully appreciated! we will be back again.
Please dont expect a 5 star Hotel, when paying 3 star prices!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos M, Owner at Paphiessa Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello my friend, thank you very much for your very kind and true words. We do everything we can to make our guests' holiday an enjoyable and memorable experience and we were only too happy to accommodate your son. We hope you will consider the Paphiessa again the next time you visit our beautiful island. Best wishes, Nikos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    140
    101
    55
    79
See reviews for
94
225
57
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week thinking we are really gambling here after reading the reviews. This gamble paid off - simple as that. I will admit that some aspects are dated and some bits are old but we were only sleeping there. The staff are helpful and friendly. Lunch menu had a very good variety and the quality was delicious.We never ate there at night because there are so many varied restaurants in Paphos. We heard mixed comments and I will not repeat them here as it was never experienced first hand. Our apartment was fully functional, roomy and well equipped for self-catering, the beds were very comfortable allowing a good nights sleep (even though we were located very near the dual-carriageway). The cleaners were very diligent in their work, visiting 4 times during the week we were there. The pool is big enough to get a few lengths in and is kept in perfect condition, there are ample comfortable sunbeds to sunbathe on. This hotel is located about 1.5kms from the port and cost 6-8 euros for a taxi. There is a lift to accommodation in the main hotel area giving access for the elderly and disabled. I can't see much wrong with this hotel, we certainly got our moneys worth.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper don't book apartments 21 to 24 as they are very close to the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos M, Owner at Paphiessa Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello from the Paphiessa hotel! We are very grateful for your very kind comments of the hotel and for advising future guests of the local area. We would love to welcome you back to the Paphiessa, in the near future, where you will receive the same high level of hospitality. Kind regards, Nikos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at The Pathiessa Hotel for the second time and I was greeted like an old friend by all of the staff, which is nice as you arrive weary after travelling. This hotel is value for money and is within easy reach of the town, harbour and restaurants, approximately 10 minutes walk. All of the staff are very friendly, they work very hard, are cheerful and nothing is to much trouble you only have to ask. There is entertainment each night. The meals are buffet style with a varied choice of food. I had a very comfortable bed, which the maid made each day. The maids clean the rooms daily and do a good job. There is a good pool and plenty of sunbeds and shades. I plan on going back to the Pathiessa Hotel in April 2013 and possibly October 2013.

Margaret Wright

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor room 203. I think the second floor is possibly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos M, Owner at Paphiessa Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello my darling! What beautiful and true words you have kindly written for the Paphiessa hotel. You are correct, we do work very hard, we do provide nice clean comfortable accommodation and we feel very privileged when our guests return to us. So much so, we have now launched our own website where you can book with us direct and save your hard earned money which makes us even better value! I am really looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Paphiessa next year. With best regards, Nikos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we arrived at hotel to check in as we were stayng in the apartments across the road no one showed us where to go we had to go across the road in the dark try to find a light then whaen we got inside i was nearly coming home,the shower was shocking it leaked was repaired with a piece of blue tube ,you had to put a towel done in the bath to have a shower as it had no grip at all,the sheets were joined together and were a dirty greycolour there was mould in the bathroom,there was something spilled down the side of the bed furniture very dated would never go back there again ,cost us a lot of money which was totally wasted,you even had to pay for airconditioning which was 7euros a day and to have a electric kettle it was 10euros +5 deposit,wouldnt advise anyone to go there A.M.ELGIN,MORAYSHIRE

Room Tip: Dont go self catering no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos M, Owner at Paphiessa Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Annie, thank you for taking the time to comment on your time at the Paphiessa. I am very concerned with your comments as first of all we never charge anyone a lot of money to stay at our hotel. In fact we have now launched our own website where gusts can save even more money. With rooms from only €9 euros in winter, we are not an expensive hotel. With regards to your comments, we would have gladly assisted you to your room had you asked and the bathroom you speak of did have a temporary repair to the shower which has now been fixed. We could also have provided you with a bath mat if you felt unstable. We have a saying here at the Paphiessa, "if you don't ask, you don't get". This is why we have friendly staff all over the hotel who are empowered to assist guests whenever the need arises. Once again, thank you for staying with the Paphiessa and I hope you find more acceptable accommodation to your standards on your future travels. Kind wishes, Nikos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here. It was within easy reach of town, beach, restaurants. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we dad some great nights in the hotel being entertained by staff and other holdiay makers alike.

Very welcoming atmosphere, I would recommend it and would stay there again too. It is a 3* hotel which is reasonably priced, some people like to complain for the sake of it, perhaps not realising they're potentially affecting someone's livelihood.

Thank you Paphiessa staff, had a great time!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos M, Owner at Paphiessa Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Trudy, my darling! Thanks you for your lovely words and we remember from your time with
us you had a very enjoyable stay at the Paphiessa. We hope you will consider returning to our hotel when you plan your next trip. You can be assured of our very warm Cypriot hospitality once again. Kindest regards, Nikos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Like so many others on here, I took note of previous reviews, but as always, decided to book a week's stay on half board basis and make a decision for myself. Well, sadly, I returned home greatly disappointed and horrified that such an establishment is still running.
The rooms are dated (indifferent to this fact!), but the cleanliness of them was something to be desired. Not only did we NOT receive housekeeping each day (even to just make up our beds!), but the shower curtain was brown with mould, the bath, black with scum and the drains of the bath & basin were blocked too. On a positive note, the bed was comfortable.
The staff were inhospitable, unhelpful, rude & unwilling to do anything other than the bare minimum. We had locked ourselves out one day & so went to reception to ask for a spare key. We were met by a surly attitudinal woman who said WE need to find the housekeeping lady & ask her to let us in. She returned to her office. We then spent the next 15mins scouring the lengths of the property to find housekeeping.
Dining was unlike I've ever experienced before. In fact, I wouldnt wish it upon my worst enemy! I wouldn't feed the food to my dog! Breakfast's were disgraceful and dinner's were substandard, overcooked, uninteresting slop. Needless to say we ate out almost every day. At the few sittings we did brave, not once were we offered anything to drink! Astounding!
The bar each day is overrun by English old-timers who laze about the pool and drink themselves into a drunken stupor and at night it belts out an annoying host's voice adding insult to the terrible karaoke sessions.
The only good thing about this hotel, is its pool, which was refreshing in the heat.
Do yourselves a favour and avoid this hotel at all costs!!! They're lucky to have received a single star-rating from me - if there was a half-star rating, they'd get that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos M, Owner at Paphiessa Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
I thank you for taking your time to review us on trip advisor but I am scratching my head as to why, when many our other guests love our hotel, we got it so wrong for you? We never employ surly staff and we take pride in the levels of service we provide to all guests. As you can read on other reviews we do have very clean rooms, never with black scum anywhere. Had you found the accommodation not to be to your standard then a polite word at reception would have had your room cleaned again for you. All rooms are attended to on a daily basis and we take pride in the levels of comfort and cleanliness of our guest accommodation. On the matter of our food, we prepare a choice of both Cypriot and European cuisine daily but we never pretend that our kitchen is manned by Gordon Ramsay. To call our food 'slop' is not only personally offensive to me but also incredibly disrespectful to the hard working staff in our kitchen. I trust you will look for alternative accommodation on your next travels. Kind regards, Nikos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived, we were nervous about seeing the room due to bad reviews...yeh it woz dated but clean and shower was brill, we overlooked pool. The staff were really friendly and room was cleaned every day, pool area good and we found a spot that had sun all day.
We booked on a half board basis, breakfast was very basic, choice of boiled eggs, cheeses, some days warm ham ( ergh ) or cut up frankfurters, cold beans n jams...toaster, lovely juices and coffee, not much choice of cereal. The evening meals were very poor, not much choice and everything over cooked, we ate out a few times.
Some reviews have said that hotel on busy by pass but not a lot of traffic noise and crossing not a prob. The hotel is bout a 10 min walk from bar street n on tomb of king road, plenty ov bars offering buy 1 get 1 free on local shorts. Lovely walk along the front to the harbour and plenty of bars n shops along the way. We had a brill holiday and weather was fab...iv I did consider going back to this hotel, would def be on a self catering basis. We are going back to same area next year but dif hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paphiessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paphiessa Hotel

Address: 2 Agios Filon Street, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paphiessa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paphiessa Hotel is a well established 3-star, family hotel located in the beautiful ancient town of Paphos, Cyprus. Within walking distance to the harbour and the many restaurants, bars, cafe's, shops, watersports, and historic attractions our hotel is a great base for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Paphiessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphiessa Hotel Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paphiessa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.