We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely visit Brian H” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paphiessa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paphiessa Hotel to your Saves list
Paphiessa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Agios Filon Street, Paphos 8102, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“what a lovely visit Brian H”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This has been our third visit to tha Paphiessa , when we arrived we were made to feel like we were friends as Nikos and Michela welcomed us as we entered the bar on the evening we arrived . All though the hotel appeares a little dated we fined the rustic setting and the way the family run hotel opperates it feels like you are in a true cypriot way of living . The staff can't do enough for you any problems are soon sorted , the rooms are always clean , the food in the reaustrant is the true taste of cyprus .
The hotel is in a very good location ,its only a short walk to the Habour and all the fine bars and reaustrants

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    145
    101
    56
    80
See reviews for
97
232
61
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just arrived back from a wonderful holiday at the Paphiessa Hotel in Paphos. We read the reviews before we went and they were a mixed bunch of positives and negatives (kind of similar to all other hotel reviews.lol).
Anyway, we never saw a single cockroach or any ants at any time, this was due to the fact we did'nt leave any food, crumbs, or similar in our room!!. We did'nt hear any traffic as we asked for (and got), a room at the front of the hotel.
Its a large hotel set back from a main road and about a half mile from the main tourist area of Paphos. It is about a five to ten minute walk from the hotel to the harbour. Our room (102) was indeed slightly dated ...but very clean and the beds were comfortable. It had a TV. The free air conditioning worked perfectly and we had it on all night. The service was very good and the staff helpful and friendly....(its how you speak to them and how you treat them!). Linen was changed every day except Sunday.The pool was very clean and and the entertainment in the evening was varied (from boring to highly entertaining)... as with all other hotels around the world who don't have top names appearing. The bar staff were extremely friendly... and with the beers at 3 Euro's a pint, it was a reasonably cheap evening.
I noticed in some other reviews that the negative posts seemed to take pleasure in exaggerating their moans and dipping into almost disbelieving trivialities that beggared an answer. I say to these sad people....."The Paphiessa was by far the cheapest 3* hotel which came up in 'Google Search', So,... WHY PRETEND YOU WERE EXPECTING TO ARRIVE AT A 5* HOTEL!!??.
Accept that you get what you pay for, and don't harrass a perfectly good 3* hotel for what you really wanted!
If you want a 5* star.........go to a 5*!!
I supect a lot of the poor 'reviews' were fake, and the result of local jealous competition.
I would definately go back to the Paphiessa,. Have a good time...and save a lot of money!!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the Hotel if you want quietness. Having said that, ...it was'nt th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We travelled as a party of 9 and had 3 seperate apartments, all overlooking the pool.
The rooms were dated but extremely clean with regular towel/sheet changes.
We did not come expecting 5 star service.
However, when it came to the hospitality this was 6 star service, Nikos and his staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble, very family orientated, reasonable bar prices and good snack menu.
We would return and would recommend this, come with a no frillls attitude and you will be pleasantly suprised.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

just came back from the paphiessa it is very dated dark hotel but clean our rooms where ok and cleaned regular where adequate for what you do in your room, we stayed in the studios across the road wich i was pleased as the other side was near the dual carriage way wich could be very noisy.
The food was basic not a lot of choice but what i did eat was quite tasty if you are a fussy eater do not go half board.
location was about a 10-15 min to the harbour wich was fine
Overall you get what you paid for all this hotel needs is a refurbishment and a bit of tlc and it would be a lovely hotel.
Air con was 7euros a day wich can work out expensive on top of your hol so i bought a 10pound fan before i went and it done the trick i got more than my 10 pounds worth.

Room Tip: we stayed in studios 71 and 72 wich were great as you leave your door open to let cool air in and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Before my stay i read the reviews,some of which were negative about the paphiessa hotel.however,when i arrived i noticed the following.the rooms were outdated but clean and spacious.the breakfast was reasonable,with the evening meal giving variety and good quality food.i never wanted to eat out,as the food was delicious.the entertainment was excellent and the staff throughout my stay were helpful.the hotel was a short walk from the beach.overall a hotel providing great value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

paphiessa hotel is dated dark and disappointing. our room had wardrobe doors that swung open and drawers that slid out due to its slope the bath was narrow and somewhat grubby, paint on the door was flaking the floor sill was plastic covered but this was ripped and virtually non existant. a cleaned towel arrived with a hole in it. the balcolny was flaking its chairs were grey with age and cracked. the incredibly noisy karioke went on sometimes till 4am in the morning it filled the room making sleep near impossible, and the four lanes of high speed road immediately alongside the hotel made a constant very loud traffic roar filling the pool area and all road facing rooms. .meals were pretty awful breakfast especially so, lack of choice with few cooked vegetables. the staff were mostly pleasant and helpful. advice is dont go there. brian and b.

Room Tip: keep away from road or karioke facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Mucj better than expected from some of the Tripadvisor reports. A little dated in places but full of character. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. In the end you get what you pay for. We had the same sun; heat; shops etc. as those staying in the Hedonistic luxury hotels on the beach. Breakfast was basic but that was all that was promised and there was a good choice of options. Evening meals were much better in the first week when al a carte rather than buffet style in the second week. Though buffet style was all good food. As for those who complain about being on a dual carriage way, get a life! We crossed it at least 4 times a day and very rarely had to press the button at the pelican crossing. Even at peak times there wasn't much traffic passing.

A good enjoyable holiday. Thank you to Nico his wife and the staff of Paphiessa

Room Tip: My daughter and I were half-board but in the appartments across the road from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paphiessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paphiessa Hotel

Address: 2 Agios Filon Street, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paphiessa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paphiessa Hotel is a well established 3-star, family hotel located in the beautiful ancient town of Paphos, Cyprus. Within walking distance to the harbour and the many restaurants, bars, cafe's, shops, watersports, and historic attractions our hotel is a great base for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Paphiessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphiessa Hotel Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paphiessa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.