We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Ledra Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Louis Ledra Beach to your Saves list
Louis Ledra Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 63003, Paphos 8210, Cyprus (Formerly Iberostar Ledra Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great holiday wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

we would like to say thank you to the staff and entertainment team for making our holiday such a good one we could not fault our room the staff food and the hotels position. the weather was nt very kind to us but the entertainment staff help make up from morning until late evening with all the activities they got people to join in. the staff from the front desk to the catering where always helpful and kind . it s a place i would recommend to anyone who either want to relax or walk hop on a bus to the harbour or get involve with the many things going on around the hotel its self i hope to come back in the near future thanks again to all at the ledra beach hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Ledra Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Louis Ledra Beach as your holiday destination and for writing such lovely words about our hotel.

It is very flattering to read your comment and we thank you for all your kind praise. We are very glad that our staff made you feel so welcome and that our enthusiastic entertainment team kept you amused with all their great shows and fun activities. We are also happy that you liked the hotel's superb location, tasty food and comfortable room.

Thank you very much for recommending the Louis Ledra Beach to other travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back as soon as you get a chance.

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    459
    154
    41
    24
See reviews for
710
850
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Louis Ledra Beach is a good hotel. The buildings are well maintained and the service provided first rate; all members of staff go out of their way to be friendly. Many of them have been there for years and deserve the patronage of their loyal returning visitors. If Tesco's provided a similar service, they would retain their long-standing customers just as well.
Yes it was an irritation to have no air conditioning in the bed room, indifferent fruit juices and an absence of butter. One senses the dread hand of penny-pinching Thomson accountants, whose cost-cutting exercises may ultimately damage the product on offer and undermine staff morale. However, apart from the "well-done" joints of meat, the quality of the food was excellent. With more attention, their standard could easily match that on offer at Marks & Spencer. For me the dry martinis got "drier and drier", and "better and better".

The deficiencies of Thomson's head office staff were more than made up for by Jeff, the local representative. He was helpful without being intrusive and an all-round "good egg".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Ledra Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Louis Ledra Beach and for writing a review about your holiday experience.

We are delighted to read all your kinds words in relation to our friendly staff and first-class service. We are very happy that you consider the Louis Ledra Beach a good hotel with a staff team that tries hard to accommodate every guest in the best possible way. We are pleased to read that you found the majority of the food on offer excellent but regret to hear that the fruit juice and meat did not quite match your taste. We value your feedback and it will help us in our work for continuous improvement.

We hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Louis Ledra Beach sometime in the near future.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Thank you so much for such a fab hotel. We had such a brilliant time. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was absolutely scrumptious. Chicco - we miss eating Girraffe/ Anaconda, etc on African nights!! The pastry and cakes chef made delicious desserts.

Yes, the heat could be a bit much, but we bought a fan, they available at most electrical shops, and what a difference it made. It also dried the washing quite quickly. The housekeeping staff were friendly and did such a good job at cleaning - thank you. The bar staff were once again very friendly and helpful - always had smiles on their faces and nothing was too much trouble - very nice people. My partner liked his brandy sours - and the staff all made good ones, but according to my partner - Andreas made the best!!!! I like Calypso coffees and they were delicious.

The reception staff were very nice and helpful. If have difficulties with your mobile phones/ kindles/ ipads/ or even just logging in and out of Wifi - speak to Viktor, he was very knowledgeable and helpful.

We had requested ahead of time for a quiet room, and the Manager were kindly fulfilled our request - super quiet room - thank you for that!!!!

My partner was disabled, and he managed the rooms and steps fine, he also managed showering without any difficulties.

There were some folk who hired mobility scooters to get around the place, and they parked them up on the 1st floor to get the battery charged - appeared to be no problems at all.

The mini bars were stocked with soft drinks only. I thought this a good idea, because it meant folk would not party in their rooms and become rowdy and keep other guests awake. So that was fine by us.

Thanks to the ktichen staff who made sesame seeds/ almonds/ honey things for breakfast and the baclava - absolutely delicous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh yes forgot to mention the mattresses are firm but you get used to them after the 2nd night and they become very comfortable, the pillows were thick and comfy.

We will be back next year - can't wait!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Ledra Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Ledra Beach we thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination and for taking the time to write a review.

It gives us great joy to read that you had a brilliant holiday here at the Louis Ledra Beach and we thank you for all your kind admiration. We are delighted to hear that our friendly and helpful staff played an important part in making your stay here so special and we are glad that you acknowledged all the employees’ good work and dedication. It is also wonderful to know that you deeply appreciated the high quality of all the food, desserts and beverages we have the pleasure of offering our guests. Furthermore, we are pleased to hear that you felt very happy and comfortable in your peaceful room. Regarding the fan and firmness of the beds; we only wish you had informed us while you were here as we would have been happy to supply you with an electrical fan and extra mattress pads free of charge. However, we are relieved that these minor issues did not prevent you from enjoying your holiday.

We are delighted to hear that you will come back to the Louis Ledra Beach next year and it will be an absolute pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the second year running just my daughter (13 years) and I have been to this hotel on a 'girls trip' (due to differing half term holidays in our family) and it couldn't have been more successful both years. This hotel has something about it that makes you want to return. The hotel is so friendly and our first mention must go to the entertainment team. Luci, Andrei, Cosmin, Lizzy, Jenna and Alex (hi guys !) work so hard, are so friendly to guests from every age group but never pushy. On our first trip we had no intention of even getting involved in the hotel entertainment (never have before) but got sort of sucked in by the staff's friendliness and then enjoyed ourselves so much that we ended up booking again for this year. If you are after big budget shows this isn't for you but if you want a bunch of talented youngsters who put personality and energy into everything, this is the place. The evenings are relatively long at this time of year due to the time the sun goes down, so it is nice to have something fun for the evening. The lobby, bar and lounge area is also arranged in such a way that you find you naturally talk to other guests. This makes for a pleasant stay if you are on holiday in a small group, couple or even on your own. As many of the guests are on all inclusive, it is natural for people to congregate in these areas before and after dinner, not just disappear straight back to their rooms and this helps to contribute to the friendly atmosphere.

We are also very praise worthy of the food at this hotel. The dining room is run by the charming Herodotos Herodotou (what a great name !) who manages it with great efficiency. The food is always hot, plentiful, and the clearance of the tables is swift so that the dining room always looks tidy and you never have to search for forks, napkins etc, everything is available. The food is buffet service and the evening meal has a theme each night, Cypriot, Asian, Italian, Gourmet night etc. Whilst the food certainly has these themes, it is always to British taste for example Asian night offers egg fried rice, lemon chicken, sweet and sour pork, prawn crackers, duck pancakes, noodles and stir fried vegetables amongst other things. As a starter varying salads are offered and there is a good range of tempting deserts plus cheese or ice cream. There is also a kids separate hot plate with a few simpler options for them should it be required. There is often a pasta, a child friendly vegetable, maybe some nuggets and some croquettes or fries. Breakfast is equally good. Even if you turn up towards the end of a meal time, you never feel you are eating the remnants, everything is topped up and fresh right to the end. The food here is a reason to pick this hotel, I can't imagine you would be disappointed unless you prefer waiter service or your taste is for very fine cuisine more akin to a five star hotel.

The outdoor areas at this hotel are tidy, well maintained and pleasant. This is one of the only hotels in this stretch south of Paphos to have it's own bit of beach. It isn't huge but is very adequate and is far more than the other hotels seem to have. The sun loungers are very comfortable with nice thick toppers. The outdoor pool is clean although is a tad chilly. There is a small but nice indoor pool set in a conservatory construction which gets plenty of sun and has loungers. It makes a good refuge should you get some rain.

The hotel is close to the bus stop into Paphos. The service is excellent and is very cheap at €1 per ride or €3 for an all day ticket allowing unlimited rides. The hotel is opposite a very convenient supermarket should you wish purchase any extra drinks, crisps, snacks etc but also the hotel shop is very reasonable with big bottles of water being sold for €1 for anyone not on all inclusive.

The coastal path runs close to the Ledra's beach and you can walk all the way into Paphos, or bus one way and walk the other. It is totally flat apart from a couple of steps along it's route and provides a well used exercise route to wear off all the lovely hotel food ! People jog along it, walk along it etc and it's accessibility makes it popular for guest of all ages. It takes around 35 to 40 min to walk one way.

My only negatives about this hotel would be that the rooms aren't huge although to be honest with the friendly bar and lounge areas we didn't spend an excessive amount if time in it. They have been refurbished to a nice standard and the wardrobe and storage space is good. The only other thing is that the beds are rather firm, however upon request the hotel can provide a mattress topper. These are quite thick and do make a difference, even for someone with a bad back like me. if you need it, make sure you just ask at reception and it will be provided by reception. I do agree with other guest about the air conditioning, turning it off at the end of October is too early for Brutish people unused to high temperatures. Unfortunately it appears to be something common to a lot of the hotels but the tour companies do need to consider this when they renegotiate their contracts with the hotels. It isn't a problem if the day temperature is around 21 to 24 in my view but f you are lucky enough to get it hotter than that, in the upper 20's the rooms do get a bit toastie. We had an upper floor room and solved it by keeping the balcony door open for a while when in the room before going down for dinner. I didn't get bitten by any insects as a result of this.

In summary we really like the Louis Ledra, had a great holiday and would definitely return. If you have a party with a sense of fun you will enjoy the entertainment, the friendliness of the hotel, the food and the outdoor areas including the beach, all of which are it's best assets. Many thanks to all the staff especially the lovely entertainment team, Lizzy, Luci, Jenna, Alex, Andrei and Cosmin for making it a really fun week.

Alison and Isabel Carter

Room Tip: We paid the extra for a sea view this trip and found we used the balcony a lot more because we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Ledra Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear loyal guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Louis Ledra Beach as your holiday destination for the second consecutive year. We also thank you dearly for taking the time to write such a lovely, long review.

It is a sheer joy reading your words as you and your daughter once again had an amazing holiday at the Louis Ledra Beach. We are pleased to read that you think that there is a warm and friendly atmosphere in the hotel that makes everyone comfortable. It is absolutely wonderful to hear of all your admiration for our fantastic entertainment team, and we are glad that they kept you amused and that they played a big part in making your holiday here so special. It is delightful to see that you like our fresh, tasty food and that you appreciate the theme nights that ensure a great variety of flavours on our buffets. We are also glad that you acknowledge the efficient and friendly service in our restaurant. Furthermore, we are pleased to read that you appreciate the hotel's well-maintained facilities and grounds, and that you find our beachfront location in Paphos superb. It also makes us happy that you think that our recently refurbished rooms keep a high standard and that there is plenty of storage space.

We are truly delighted that you consider our hotel's delicious food, friendly staff and atmosphere, excellent entertainment and wonderful facilities and location as good reasons for returning to the Louis Ledra Beach. Thank you again for being a loyal guest and it will be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Louis Ledra Beach on your next holiday.

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went over to the louis ledra during the october half term for my dads wedding as he wanted somewhere abroad and hot. We had great service on the day, with wedding planners within the hotel sorting everything out for my dad, right down to the bouquets. The staff were all really friendly, and the animation team were absolutely hilarious, they couldn't be faulted. The food was really nice all week, and there was constantly a massive range of things to eat, with a theme night every night, we barely felt the need to leave the hotel. Overall, it really was a top hotel and a really good week away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Ledra Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you and your family for choosing the Louis Ledra Beach as the venue for such a special occasion. We also thank you for writing a comment about your positive experience.

We are delighted to hear that the wedding of your father was such a successful event and that you felt warmly welcomed from the moment you arrived. We are glad that your family felt well taken care of by our attentive wedding planners and that you overall experienced our staff as being extremely friendly. It is also great to hear that our excellent animation team entertained you and that you greatly appreciated our abundant buffet and lovely theme nights.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Louis Ledra Beach in the near future.

Warm regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Travelled as 2 couples, both of us said the staff all over the hotel were excellent, the entertainment was great and the night shows- we have never laughed so much, so a big thank you to you all.the only thing that maybe they could do, is to keep the air con for a bit longer, it was still very hot and they turned it off as it was winter!!!!! So sleeping was rather restless, if we get the chance we will be back. A Hugh thank you to you all again

Room Tip: Rooms over looking pool and sea view as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Ledra Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Louis Ledra Beach and for writing a few words about your wonderful holiday.

We are overjoyed to read that that the Louis Ledra Beach is the best hotel you have stayed in for a long time. It is a great delight knowing that you recognized the excellent service from all our friendly and attentive staff. At the Louis Ledra Beach we always do our best to make guests feel welcome so it is very nice for us to hear that we have succeeded in doing so. We are glad to hear that you particularly appreciated our amazing entertainment team and that their evening shows put a smile on your face. According to our current agreements with our tour operators we are obligated to switch off the AC the 31st October and instead provide heating, and unfortunately we cannot supply both simultaneously. This year we have had an exceptionally hot November and we deeply regret to hear that your sleep suffered because of it. We will try our best to find a reasonable solution to prevent any other guest from experiencing anything similar if November is equally hot next year. However, we a relieved and happy that you still had an excellent holiday at the Louis Ledra Beach and that you are already thinking about returning for a second visit.

We look forward to seeing you here at the Louis Ledra Beach for another lovely holiday as soon as you get a chance.

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Don't use Luis Hotels for your holidays - they may have all the facilities to warrant a 4 star rating but they make sure that none of them are available for their guests and you are treated as though you are in prison. I went to Cyprus this year for the first time. On arrival at Paphos airport we took a taxi to the Luis Ledra Beach Hotel - being disabled I was unable to use the tour coach transfer. Our greeting by our tour operator went fine until we were taken to our rooms. Yes, the hotel has had its rooms refurbished and yes they are very clean (and were kept that way for the whole duration of our stay - congratulations to the cleaning team). DO NOT though ever consider a holiday in one of the Luis Hotels if it incorporates the 1st November. Although the temperatures were still in the top 20's and even reached 30 degrees the hotel switched off their air conditioning - company policy - and no amount of complaints from the guests, which I understand from speaking to them were numerous, were taken into account. Our tour representatives actually argued the point with the hotel management and were told 'its winter' - which became the hotels excuse for absolutely anything and everything that they had decided that they couldn't be bothered to provide and when challenged about this claimed that it was 'in the contract' even though they couldn't provide a copy of this so-called 'contract'. Even local people were saying just how hot it still was and yet the management team decided that because the date suggested that it was 'winter' in Cyprus then the air conditioning had to be switched off and the heating put on. This meant that we had to leave balcony doors open all night in order to drop the room temperatures and make it bearable overnight which in turn gave easy access to insects and being bitten. Our holiday was absolutely ruined by the overbearing attitude of the majority of staff and was only slightly redeemed by the Animation team - who were also trying to help wherever they could even though it was not their job. On arrival in the rooms a leaflet had been placed on the dressing table unit which had over 20 instructions listed and more or less every item was a 'Do not do' this or that. I reported a non working TV set to Reception on the first night and it took 3 telephone calls to them before any action was taken. The so called basket of complimentary toiletries contained a shower cap and sewing kit ..... there was a hand soap dispenser on the wall by the washbasin and a soap dispenser on the wall at the back of the bath. Even though we had advised the hotels (via tour operator) that I am disabled, I was still given a room which had an overbath shower. I was unable to take a shower without having one of my daughters (both with their partners in their own rooms) come in and try to help me in and out. The bottom of the bath was so slippery that I had to hang on to the shower rail just to stay upright. The shower screen didn't fit properly which meant that the floor in the bathroom got drenched which on a tiled floor made this too slippery and on numerous occasions I injured myself. There was no face towel, sponge or similar provided for washing, The family room allocated to my daughter, her husband and 5 year old son was supposedly a 'family' room but this consisted of a standard 'twin' room with a 'camp bed' (which collapsed on numerous occasions upsetting my grandson by him hitting the floor in the middle of the night). The only available space in the room for the camp bed was by the balcony door which meant that they could not have this open overnight and their room was unbearably hot and after having to sleep in such high temperatures my grandson ended up with heatstroke and was really quite ill. The mini bars in the rooms were advertised as including local beers etc but only contained soft drinks and water. Again the room my eldest daughter, husband and grandson had was being occupied by 3 people but until they complained only two bottles of drinks were being provided in the mini bar. In this modern day, this cheapskate hotel wanted 15 euro's for 24 hours to use wifi. Two of the three rooms we had had only one chair for seating instead of two (although fitting two chairs into the room where my grandson had his camp bed would have been impossible). There were no UK TV channels available and no DVD player and yet there was a 'Russian' channel. Without any notification to guests the Pool Bar was closed which meant that children could no longer get ice cream without going into the main restaurant - this in turn meant that they had to be accompanied, could not take the ice cream back to wherever they were sitting by the pool and worst of all had, according to restaurant staff, get dressed or 'cover up'. The bar staff were as unhelpful as they could possibly be, when approached one morning at 5 minutes to 10 (official opening 10:00 a.m.) with regard to the possibility of obtaining a bottle of water for my grandson to take out on a trip we were told sorry no you'll have to buy one from the shop. We had gone to the Luis Ledra Beach Hotel as 'All Inclusive' guests but quite frankly we might as well have been just 'bed, breakfast and evening meal'. In the restaurant we had one 'waiter' (not really waiting on tables just directing people to and from tables) who was really nice but if he wasn't on shift then it would have taken a chisel to obtain so much as a smile from any of the other staff. Reception desk staff were so unhelpful over anything at all (apart from Sandra who tried her best) I even nicknamed one of them 'evil' because of her constant glowering expression. Another family who had their three year old there had been at the pool one day and their son had left behind his inflatable toy, the following day this had disappeared and when reception were asked about this they claimed to know nothing about it but then later a member of the animation team was told that all the childrens inflatables had been collected up at 7:30 in the morning and put in the bin regardless of whether these had only been left out by families overnight. Apparently one of the lifts broke down on four occasions during the time of our stay - luckily not whilst we were in it but others were. The toilets on Reception level were filthy and unventilated except by a 'fan' on the wall which just recirculated smelly air. The bars in the entertainment rooms were not open which meant that people had to walk from the main bar across the full length of reception, down stairs with drinks in glasses! On the bright side, we hired a car from Horizon whilst we were in Cyprus which was not only brilliant value for money but one morning my youngest daughter noticed that the vehicle had a flat tyre and when we reported this to Horizon the guy who answered the phone had actually just pulled up by the side of our car and was in the process of changing the tyre... now thats what I call service. Anyway, thanks to the Luis Ledra's 'winter' policy, I spent the entire week unable to walk, the inflammation caused by my arthritis becoming unbearable, unable to take a shower without assistance, and having to hire a wheelchair which one or other member of my family had to push me about in because of the pain and swelling caused by the heat. I wasn't able to visit any of the ancient sites which was the sole purpose of the holiday from my point of view because I couldn't walk at all so apart from anything visible from our car (with air conditioning) I missed everything else. You may realise that prior to booking the holiday one of my main requirements was that whatever hotel I stayed in it had to have air conditioning to enable me to cool down overnight .... well thanks to Luis Hotels they managed to ruin what should have been a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the 'sea view' rooms they are way overpriced and get the sun all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Ledra Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Louis Ledra Beach and for sharing your views of the hotel with us.

We were happy to read that you were left satisfied with the hotel's cleaning standards as well as the hotel's entertainment team. At the same time, it was extremely disappointing to read about the rest of your experience.

With regards to the air conditioning being switched off on the 1st of November, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Indeed, the agreement/contract we have with all tour operators we work with, is to provide air conditioning in all rooms from 1st of May to the 31st of October and heating in rooms and heated indoor pool from 1st of November to the 30th of April. Unfortunately we cannot provide both systems at the same time as our climate control system is central rather than individual. For your kind information, air conditioning is always provided in the summer period (May to October) every year, and heating in the winter period, and this information is known to all tour operators/travel agents we collaborate with.

We were very surprised to read that you were left dissatisfied with our employees' attitude including the receptionists & bar waiters when we are normally praised for their friendliness and customer service. Please be advised that we are already looking into this matter as we speak since staff attitude and friendliness is a top priority for all. We are happy though that you have appreciated the entertainment team's friendliness.

With regards to the delay in repairing the TV set in your room, please accept our apologies for the same. However we do not agree with your comments regarding the wifi and DVD players, because we have never advertised that these are provided free of charge. Guests are informed beforehand of the charges involved and no customer is forced to consume them against their will. Had we known that a DVD player is so important to you, we would have made sure to provide you with one, but again, we reiterate that no such service is advertised anywhere.

Please note that we were also not aware of your request for a room with a walk in shower; had this come to our attention either before your arrival or whilst in resort, we would certainly allocate you in such room so as to make your stay easier as we always do our utmost to satisfy such requests for our guests. Checking your booking/rooming list received, no such request was mentioned.

With regards to your family's booking, we believe prior to your arrival, e-mails were exchanged explaining the room types/view and bedding in each room. Please be advised that the three rooms you have actually booked were all 'twin rooms' with extra bed in one of them. We are sorry to read that your grandson has experienced such an incident and hope he is well.

You are mentioning that we advertise alcohol refill in the rooms' mini bars. Please be advised that in no brochure or any website do we advertise such service as mini bars, for all inclusive guests, are stocked daily with mineral water and soft drinks only. As for closing the Beach Bar and Pool Restaurant, please be advised that a notice was actually given to our guests a few days before with posters located in hotel's lifts as well as on notice boards found around the hotel.

With reference to your comment over the faulty lift, this has indeed occurred during your stay on two occasions, and on both occasions we would shut down the particular lift by putting up 'out of order signs' until the Lifts Service Company we work with would come and fully service the particular lift. At the same time the other three lifts were in full operation. In addition we would like to take this opportunity to explain that, the DO and DON'Ts you saw upon arrival were simply safety instructions for the well being of our guests. Finally regarding your claims about the amenities, please be informed that we do not provide any, as part of our environmental efforts. Individual shampoos and shower gels create a lot of solid waste and we are trying to reduce this for environmental reasons.

In conclusion we are very sorry we did not meet up with your expected standards and wish that had we known about your concern regarding air conditioning whilst we were exchanging emails. We would have been able to inform you accordingly before arrival even though such information could have been given to your kind selves by the travel agent if requested.

Wishing to you and your family all the very best and hope to welcome you back to any Louis Hotel in the future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Louis Ledra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Ledra Beach

Address: PO Box 63003, Paphos 8210, Cyprus (Formerly Iberostar Ledra Beach)
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#6 Family Hotel in Paphos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Ledra Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel is situated on the Paphos beachfront overlooking the Paphos castle. Treat yourself to the premier setting of our hotel. Only steps from major historic attractions, shops and entertainment, our Family hotel let you easily explore the entire Paphos area and all the beauties it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Louis Ledra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Ledra Beach Hotel Paphos
Iberostar Hotel Paphos
Iberostar Hotel Ledra Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Ledra Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.