We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kissos kiss it goodbye” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kissos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kissos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kissos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Verenikis St | P.O. Box 60355, Paphos 8045, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 95 hotels in Paphos
north yorkshire
1 review
“kissos kiss it goodbye”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

on arrival friendly reception,would you like to join the all inclusive club 35 euros each per day goodbye 1000 euros oh dont forget the fridge,kettle and safe are extra as well.the food is a joke,tuesday night is b.b.q night i would throw away what they where offering if i was b .b.q.ing at home.entertainment during the day is nil .on a night what ever is on starts about 10 pm.the leaves in the over grown car park are swept every morning but behind the sun beds around the swimming pool is never swept. the owner wanders around all day checking to see if every thing is ok .moving chairs sun beds ash trays etc .then straight into the food area where he moves plates and soup bowls around goes behind the serving counters without proper hygiene concern. drinks in the hotel are very expensive and can be obtained outside for alot less .the no frills rooms look out to the high unkept trees. and the saying swing a cat applies here.the good points are the location ,and of cause the sun .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    195
    111
    46
    23
See reviews for
147
250
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

My Husband & I booked a two week holiday in Cyprus and stayed at this hotel - Big Mistake. Firstly, all the pictures on the website and brochures show the superior rooms, and not the standard rooms. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. When we got to the room, I was sooo disappointed. The rooms are very basic, and in desperate need of modernising. Beware - The Kissos Charge for EVERYTHING. There was no tea and coffee facilities in the room. If you want this, you are charged 2.50 euros PER DAY, and if you want to use the fridge they charge 3.50 euros PER DAY. They had a gym in the basement, which had very very old equipment. Also, down there was a steam room and a sauna which you had to pay for. I'm not being funny, but I consider a kettle and a fridge a basic in a hotel room. The rooms were cleaned daily, but they have brown towels. I always thought hotels have nice white fluffy towels - not here. They were disgusting and didn't smell fresh or clean. The breakfast room was dated, and the breakfast was absolutey DISGUSTING - thank god we were only bed and breakfast. I've never seen omlettes cooked like the way they cook it, the toaster was old, and did not work, the orange juice from the machine was like undiluted orange squash, they used cheap baked beans, and I don't know what kind of sausages they use - but they were cheap and nasty. We only had breakfast once, and never went back again. This hotel is probably one of the worst I have ever stayed in and the Premier Inn back in the UK are much much better than this dump.

The only positive thing about the Kissos, is that it is a fantastic location, and the Kings Road Bar which is next door is excellent. The hotel is well situated for the bus stop.

To finish this review, if anyone is thinking about booking this hotel - DON'T. This hotel is old, shabby, tatty and dated, and I don't know how they manage to get a 3* rating. In my opinion it is more like a 2*.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We have been visiting the Kissos regularly for over 20 years, and are welcomed back like good friends by everyone from the owner to the cleaners. The hotel is suited mainly to couples as there is very little entertainment or activities for children. The pool area is generally very peaceful and very relaxing the ideal place to chill out.

The rooms could do with a bit of an update but they are very clean and contain everything you need. I agree that the fridge and in room safe are a bit pricey but it is after all only a 3 star hotel. We can't comment on the food as we normally stay B&B but the breakfasts are adequate and the lunches are good. There are several excellent restaurants within walking distance and if you do need lively entainment this can be found also.

We will keep staying at this hotel as long as it remains a peaceful and relaxing place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Arrived at the kissos at 11.50pm no food available on arrival the bar was only open for 10 minutes so we were able to get a drink, we had an all inclusive package deal drinks included are soft drinks and local achololic drinks these were fine, you could also have cocktails and after dinner coffee's in the AI price.
Room basic but fine very disty under the bed but clean elsewhere they only change the towels every 3 days and they ar of thin qulaity, bed's are quite hard we had a pool view room with a small balcony very nice view if you want to use the fridge safe or have tea/coffee facilities in your room this is all charged as extra, air contioning works well.
Food Breakfast very basic not enough choice really yogurts fruit bread and cooked breakfast that was often only just warmlunch best meal of the day toasted sandwiches omlette's burgers salad etc you eat this on the sun terrace very nice, Dinner average and is 3 star quality BBQ night is very good, they advertise english cake and cookies at 4pm never saw this and when i asked they told me to ask at reception they looked bemused?staff are really friendly and make you feel welcomeentertainment the hotel advertises 6 nights out of 7 for entertainment the only entertainment we saw was BBQ night and two quiz evenings it can be very quiet at night, however less than five minutes walk is bar street with a selection of bars restaurants etc, the hotel is propbalby more for the mature guest, gym facilities very poor all the equipment is dated inside pool looks good and pool area's are fine all public arera are very clean.
We hired a car and went to Lara beach very of road but lovely, we also went to the troodos mountains and local villages, the harbour is about a 30 minute walk away and well worth a visit, the tombs are less than 5 minutes walk coral bay is also a very nice beach.
My one concern the AI package finishes at 12 middday on the day you leave so you will than have to pay for anything you have, in our case our fight was not until 11.30pm that evening and as we arrived so late on our arrival i felt that AI should have remained until we checked out that evening, if you want a late check out it will cost you 35 euro's however a complimentary room is available to have a shower and a luggage room is provided.

All in all a nice pleasant stay, but the hotel needs to think its AI policy through

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

First impressions of the Kissos Hotel when we pulled up were good as it seemed like a nice hotel, however things quickly descended once we opened the door to the room. After a 5 hour flight the first thing we wanted when we got there was a cup of tea, however there was no tea making facilities in the room and when we enquired at reception we were told that you had to hire the kettle for 2.50 euro's a day per person. Then came the fridge which had a lock on it which we were informed we could use for 3.50 euro's a day.
The room was like something out of the 60's with a radio built into the headboard of the bed however needless to say this never worked either. There is a tv in the room but the only English channel you can get is BBC world service ie news 24/7.

After 3 days we asked if we could be upgraded to the superior rooms which are the ones they show you in the brochure, we were told it would cost us an extra 22 euro's a day to upgrade and the receptionist gave us the wink and said I'd advise you to have a look at the room first. We found that it was exactly the same as the rooms in the main complex but with a bit of extra floor space (and you still had to pay for tea making facilities and the fridge). We decided that we would stay where we were as it just wasn't worth the extra money!!!

Thankfully we only went B&B but after the first day I was wishing we could have gone self catering as the food is disgusting, unfortunately this is not an option with this hotel.
We met several people who were full board and were eating out after 2 days as the food was so bad.

Entertainment = non existent

This hotel has absolutely no life whatsoever and me and my wife nicknamed it "gods waiting room" as it had no atmosphere what so ever, even the pool area was so quiet you could hear a pin drop.

Once you leave the hotel beware of anyone on scooters with scratch cards , they will tell you that you've won the top prize then whisk you off in a taxi to look at a newly built hotel. It is a time-share scam and they want to hit you up for £3.500 for 3 weeks holiday over a 3 year period. In the space of 2 weeks we must have been approached by them at least 30 times, they really start to get on your nerves after a while. Best thing to tell them is that you live there and they will leave you alone.

Good points: (yes there was a couple)

Rooms cleaned every day
Friendly reception staff (especially the English woman)

TIP: If you need to charge something up and you haven't hired the fridge use the socket it's plugged into as it remains on even after you remove the key fob from the room.

Paphos is a lovely place and we will be returning soon but it will not be at the Kissos I can assure you.

Outside the Kissos is the Kings Road bar which is fantastic and has really friendly staff, especially Sue and Dave who do the Karaoke in there 4 nights a week, this became our local for the duration of our holiday.

Personal Opinion: If your under 50 avoid this place at all costs otherwise you'll think your in a nursing home!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at the Kissos Hotel for 10 days returning 26th August. Definitely recommend the Superior Rooms as they are much bigger and the balconies look over the 'river' style pool. There were quite a few ants around the hotel but generally they stayed outside and were too tiny to worry about. Food selection was not as wide as some hotels we've been to but that available (soup, salad bar, about 5 hot dishes and desserts) was always of a good standard. The cakes were the best I have EVER tasted! Grab a few! The beach we found nearby had strange dark yellow sand that made a coating on our hands - a bit odd so we were happy by the lovely pool. Some days sunbeds hard to get but mostly no problem if you're up for breakfast (7-9.30am) or are coming to the pool later on. Maids brilliant- room was visited whatever time we left. Right next door to Tombs of the Kings - (WARNING - TAKE YOUR OWN WATER-NONE AVAILABLE ON VERY HOT AND VAST SITE). Had a brilliant time exploring here. We walked to the Harbour in about 20 mins and again the Archaelogical site was brilliant in Paphos- you can climb the old lighthouse for a fantastic view. Lots of old Roman sites and caves around to find on the way to and in Paphos. Bar street is near the Harbour area. Overall a great location for this hotel and we would recommend the Outback bar near the hotel for hospitality and some fun singing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

First stayed at the Kissos 21 years ago and have returned there about 6 times. We were there in April for 3 weeks on half board. The food was good and there was plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner. The wine is reasonably priced. The staff are very pleasant and always remember and welcome returning guests. The rooms are kept very clean and linen and towels are changed very regularly. It would be nice if the fridge was included in the rates. The outdoor pools are lovely and kept very clean. We used the indoor pool which was supposed to be heated but was very cold. There are lots of bars and restaurants around the Kissos if needed. They have recently made a walkway along the sea front which has made a big difference for getting to the harbour during the daytime. There are no lights for the night time which is a pity. We always enjoy our stay at the Kissos and will return again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kissos Hotel

Address: 3 Verenikis St | P.O. Box 60355, Paphos 8045, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kissos Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the heart of Paphos in between the two main tourist areas, Kissos hotel is the ideal property for families, couples and individuals. Located only 200 meters from the beach, the hotel is within walking distance from restaurants, bars and nightlife. Its location just few meters off the main road makes it the perfect place to relax and have everything at the holidaymakers feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kissos Hotel Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kissos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.