We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty towers of Cyprus!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kissos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kissos Hotel to your Saves list
Kissos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Verenikis St | P.O. Box 60355, Paphos 8045, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Sunderland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Faulty towers of Cyprus!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

First impressions of the Kissos Hotel when we pulled up were good as it seemed like a nice hotel, however things quickly descended once we opened the door to the room. After a 5 hour flight the first thing we wanted when we got there was a cup of tea, however there was no tea making facilities in the room and when we enquired at reception we were told that you had to hire the kettle for 2.50 euro's a day per person. Then came the fridge which had a lock on it which we were informed we could use for 3.50 euro's a day.
The room was like something out of the 60's with a radio built into the headboard of the bed however needless to say this never worked either. There is a tv in the room but the only English channel you can get is BBC world service ie news 24/7.

After 3 days we asked if we could be upgraded to the superior rooms which are the ones they show you in the brochure, we were told it would cost us an extra 22 euro's a day to upgrade and the receptionist gave us the wink and said I'd advise you to have a look at the room first. We found that it was exactly the same as the rooms in the main complex but with a bit of extra floor space (and you still had to pay for tea making facilities and the fridge). We decided that we would stay where we were as it just wasn't worth the extra money!!!

Thankfully we only went B&B but after the first day I was wishing we could have gone self catering as the food is disgusting, unfortunately this is not an option with this hotel.
We met several people who were full board and were eating out after 2 days as the food was so bad.

Entertainment = non existent

This hotel has absolutely no life whatsoever and me and my wife nicknamed it "gods waiting room" as it had no atmosphere what so ever, even the pool area was so quiet you could hear a pin drop.

Once you leave the hotel beware of anyone on scooters with scratch cards , they will tell you that you've won the top prize then whisk you off in a taxi to look at a newly built hotel. It is a time-share scam and they want to hit you up for £3.500 for 3 weeks holiday over a 3 year period. In the space of 2 weeks we must have been approached by them at least 30 times, they really start to get on your nerves after a while. Best thing to tell them is that you live there and they will leave you alone.

Good points: (yes there was a couple)

Rooms cleaned every day
Friendly reception staff (especially the English woman)

TIP: If you need to charge something up and you haven't hired the fridge use the socket it's plugged into as it remains on even after you remove the key fob from the room.

Paphos is a lovely place and we will be returning soon but it will not be at the Kissos I can assure you.

Outside the Kissos is the Kings Road bar which is fantastic and has really friendly staff, especially Sue and Dave who do the Karaoke in there 4 nights a week, this became our local for the duration of our holiday.

Personal Opinion: If your under 50 avoid this place at all costs otherwise you'll think your in a nursing home!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    235
    134
    49
    36
See reviews for
176
292
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at the Kissos Hotel for 10 days returning 26th August. Definitely recommend the Superior Rooms as they are much bigger and the balconies look over the 'river' style pool. There were quite a few ants around the hotel but generally they stayed outside and were too tiny to worry about. Food selection was not as wide as some hotels we've been to but that available (soup, salad bar, about 5 hot dishes and desserts) was always of a good standard. The cakes were the best I have EVER tasted! Grab a few! The beach we found nearby had strange dark yellow sand that made a coating on our hands - a bit odd so we were happy by the lovely pool. Some days sunbeds hard to get but mostly no problem if you're up for breakfast (7-9.30am) or are coming to the pool later on. Maids brilliant- room was visited whatever time we left. Right next door to Tombs of the Kings - (WARNING - TAKE YOUR OWN WATER-NONE AVAILABLE ON VERY HOT AND VAST SITE). Had a brilliant time exploring here. We walked to the Harbour in about 20 mins and again the Archaelogical site was brilliant in Paphos- you can climb the old lighthouse for a fantastic view. Lots of old Roman sites and caves around to find on the way to and in Paphos. Bar street is near the Harbour area. Overall a great location for this hotel and we would recommend the Outback bar near the hotel for hospitality and some fun singing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

First stayed at the Kissos 21 years ago and have returned there about 6 times. We were there in April for 3 weeks on half board. The food was good and there was plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner. The wine is reasonably priced. The staff are very pleasant and always remember and welcome returning guests. The rooms are kept very clean and linen and towels are changed very regularly. It would be nice if the fridge was included in the rates. The outdoor pools are lovely and kept very clean. We used the indoor pool which was supposed to be heated but was very cold. There are lots of bars and restaurants around the Kissos if needed. They have recently made a walkway along the sea front which has made a big difference for getting to the harbour during the daytime. There are no lights for the night time which is a pity. We always enjoy our stay at the Kissos and will return again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield derbyshire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

The rooms are clean and "ant-free". The pool area is great, eccept for the loud music. Pool should be for relaxing. Most of the staff are friendly, if a bit abrupt.
The only downside was the evening meal. The food was diabolical. Even though I was half-board, after the second day, I ate out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

i have only just arrived back and i want to go back because i enjoyed the hotel espically the entertainment by zac, zac did activities at night and day which i enjoyed very much espically the big quiz i took part in before i left, the food was brilliant, the room was fantastic to sleep in, the pool area was crowded with people sunbathing or swimming and i would certainly go back soon

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed here for just one night. We were impressed by the lobby and were expecting a bit more from our room, but it was just fine. Nothing wrong with it - it was clean and ready for us when we checked in. There is lots of parking outside of the hotel. The breakfast was plentiful with a decent amount of choice. The pool area that is shown in most photos is the nicest outdoor area - there is another pool area that is not so picturesque but again, it's fine. We found the place to be very quiet at night. As for location, there is a very nice Italian restaurant right beside it. There are many other places to eat nearby. We tended to drive to the harbourfront, but you could easily walk there, too, if you have time. Overall, we did enjoy our one-night stay and if we had more time in Paphos, I suspect that we would have been happy to stay at Kissos again.

Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We love the Kissos hotel. Have stayed there twice now once in Easter the other May Half term. Both times it was a friendly relaxed hotel, with good pools, helpful staff, nice rooms, good buffet meals (even our picky children aged 7 and 11 were happy). There are a large number of returnees, the staff turnover is low and the elderly gent who owns the place is constantly on the prowl to make sure standards are kept up. Quiet and relaxed. If you are in your 20's and want to hit the night clubs, you are probably better off elsewhere (unless you want to spend the day recovering) but for families with young children and perhaps OAP's I couldn't recomend it more highly!.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kissos Hotel

Address: 3 Verenikis St | P.O. Box 60355, Paphos 8045, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kissos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the heart of Paphos in between the two main tourist areas, Kissos hotel is the ideal property for families, couples and individuals. Located only 200 meters from the beach, the hotel is within walking distance from restaurants, bars and nightlife. Its location just few meters off the main road makes it the perfect place to relax and have everything at the holidaymakers feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Kissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kissos Hotel Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kissos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.