We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great holiday/wedding/honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kefalonitis Hotel Apts. to your Saves list
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Pyramou Street, Paphos 8046, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Morden, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Had a great holiday/wedding/honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I cant understand the negative reports for the Kefalonatis. We arrived mid afternoon and as there were 2 couples to show to the rooms Niccos wife showed 1 couple and directed us to our room! Was easy to find. We had room 422 which was a 1 bed apt overlooking the pool on 1st floor. After getting Niccos in to show us how to use the aircon we were sorted. ( as you go in the door on the wall you will see 2 key holes and one key.For the aircon. Top was for bedroom and bottom for living area. Swap keys depending on what room the air con is needed) The rooms were big. Beds firm but was what we needed so comortable for us. Need more hangers though. I had my wedding dress and it hung perfectly in the wardrobe. Everything we needed in the rooms and kitchen. The rooms were spotless. The cleaners came in every day except Wed and Sun. Although I got married on the Wed and while my hair was being done we noticed ants on the beds. On the way out to get married I mentioned this to Niccos. When we returned the maids had been in and cleaned everywhere,changed the beds and left clean towels. Thank you so much. We spoke to Hellen alot and yes she makes a mean cocktail. Ted was nice too although we didnt see him till 3 days before leaving. Yes the day staff in the bar leave alot to be desired and having worked in a pub would not have had them working for me, but we didnt spend alot of time there, so it didnt bother us. Id like to say a very big thankyou to all the staff and guests staying at the appartments when we got married on 3rd Oct. Your kindness well wishes touched us both. If you like Karaoke pop along to AlfieTs as its on every night. Kaz and Joe own it. They do a great 3 course meal for 10euros each and its great. Cheese cake to dye for! Lidles is about 20min walk, not too bad when its not too hot. We went one day as got told 10min walk, yeah right.lol Anyway we got there did our shop and waited for the bus. 3 buses later, as full to capacity, we walked back. Stopped a few times, lol but glad we did or wed still be there. Ha ha.The best beach is Coral bay. Get the bus to coral bay and stay on til the bus terminal. Beach is great and sea is clear. Great for kids too. Sun bed and unbrella 2 euros each. We took a frozen bottle of water to the beach and it lasted all day. The Farm does fantastic ribs and steak. MMm .f you need any help on the area and bars etc ask, I will help if I can. Fantastic value. Not 5 star but its not 5 star price. Hope this has helped..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    148
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
102
203
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just returned from a stay at Kefalonites Apartments, where we stayed in a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool. On first view, the rooms looked quite dated and basic, however, they were clean and very spacious.

The bedroom was large with a balcony off and the livingroom was huge with 2 big sofas. The main balcony was enormous and overlooked much of the Kato Paphos area. There was free air con which you don't normally see.

We used the hotel as a base to visit local attractions and restaurants and we weren't disappointed. It was only a 20 minute walk to the harbour and a few minutes from local bars and restaurants.

We ate at Fat Mama's, Chloe's Chinese, Phuket Chinese, Harbourside amongst others - all were very nice.

Bad points about accommodation - Unfriendly Cypriot staff at reception - We asked for a spare pillow and it was provided with a real lack of grace (surely we didn't both want a 2nd pillow!!).
Hard beds were a bit of a complaint but we got used to them.

If you remember that this is a 3 star complex and use it as a base, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for an apartment block nearer the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Kef-our friends have been coming for years. As usual we had a fantastic holiday. We stayed in a studio this time although have also stayed in a 1 bed-both have always been huge and very clean. Ted and Helen always make you feel very welcome and Helen makes fab cocktails! The only negative this year was the miserable woman that works in the snack bar during the day-didn't see her crack a smile the whole 2 weeks that we stayed. Shame as we previously used to have lunch there but this year went elsewhere for lunch.

The area itself is great-walking distance to the harbour etc but enough restaurants locally to eat somewhere different every night..our favourites are Sisyfos and The Farmhouse for Greek food and we also love Duomo for lovely Italian food and the Mexican is nice too.

Would definitely go again-great for a good value holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for a week. Despite other bad reviews this was a nice place to stay; it was clean and spacious and had everything you needed for a self catering break (although I never cook). Imagine my suprise when all the plugs were 3 pin and there was a drinking water tap. The apartment was huge and although it was up about 18 steps (room 101!) it was near Reception and the pool but never noisy. Various shops and bars were within 5 mins walking distance but we ended up most nights for a quick one in the bar. Helen and Ted were very nice and there was always a cat to stroke. All in all a good holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a great week in sunny Cyprus, stayed in studio after reading how large they were. (true).
Good, clean studio, only complaint were the beds were hard! Did not use pool or bar at all only because we are beach people.
Hired a scooter and went to coral bay every day, lovely beach and very cheap sunbeds.
Have been to Cyprus lots of times, but never this side and not for 9 years, however forgotten how much i love it. Couldn't believe how cheap it was either, beer generally 2 euros and sunbeds 2 euros, very good 3 course deals in the restaurants too. I think AI hotels have killed local trade these days which is a shame.
Would i return, probably not, but only because i prefer the other side of the island as they have better beaches. I would recommend these apartments if you are after good, clean, basic apartments in a good location. They do exactly what they say on the tin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perthshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from these apartments and spent one of the most comfortable holidays we have ever had. We were in a one-bedroomed flat, clean, spacious, comfortable beds, good pillows, brilliant air conditioning. Towels, sheets changed regularly, excellent shower and bath, could not fault this place. Any one we spoke to had nothing but praise for Nicos who owns the place and Ted and his wife were very kindly spoken about. Would definitely return to these apartment and recommend them to others. Really relaxing holiday. Plenty of places to eat and things to do in Paphos. Beach not good so we didn't spend any time there.

Room Tip: We were in room 623 which was roomy, has a balcony and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I booked through First Choice to stay at the Kefalonitis apartments for two weeks from the 23rd Sept 2012 with my wife and 22 month old son. First impressions were basic, but on holidays with friends in the past have stayed in some terrible places so was not to bothered by this and had read the previous reviews.

Then things started going downhill. We arrived at around 1am and were greeted by a Scottish man on reception, the only person working there i might add that was ever pleasent or helpfull. Having booked a holiday with an infant and arrived with a pushchair, two cases and a bag we were taken to our apartment block to four flights of stairs, and no lift to be told our room was on the third floor. This was the start of a week of struggling up and down the stairs daily with a pushchair, also to see a young couple had been put on the identical room on the ground floor. The following day i asked to move rooms to be told this would cost me €140.

Getting breakfast the next morning we found the english woman working in the snack bar unfriendly and put out that she had to take our order. We went to the pool with my wife and son spending the majority of the time swimming. We found the area around the pool dirty. The drainage around the side was black and clearly had not been cleaned in a long time. That night both my wife and son became ill, vomiting heavily and heavy diahorrea. Through the night my son was sick on most of the sheets in the room. First thing in the morning i went to reception and asked the cypriot male there if our sheets could be changed. He was unhelpful, rude and just grunted at me. I asked initially at 8.30am then three more times through the day before they were finally changed.

Two days in the aprtment, no food anywhere else and we finally felt ready to go back to pool. This time i went in with my son. That night both me and him ill, heavy vomiting and diahorrea and both ended up at hospital that night. After this we paid €600 to move hotel, the first time i have ever done this.

Baring in mind we paid £1500 gor this holiday i would not say we got this cheap or as a bargain. Our second week at the Avanti hotel was in another league and thoroughly enjoyed. I would not recommend the kefalonotis to anyone. Bad customer service, not worth the money paid for the standard of accomodation and although cannot definately say the pool was at fault, after narrowing down what we did and where, i believe a possjble health hazard!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.

Address: 5 Pyramou Street, Paphos 8046, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Paphos
#29 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kefalonitis Hotel Apts. 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kefalonitis Hotel Apts. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalonitis Hotel Paphos
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kefalonitis Hotel Apts., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.