We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just booked for this year after such a great holiday last year.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aliathon Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aliathon Holiday Village to your Saves list
Aliathon Holiday Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8063, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just booked for this year after such a great holiday last year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Bit late writing this review as we visited the 1st week in may 2012. Check in was quick and luggage delivered too our room with us, so no waiting round to unpack. All pools are fantastic and the kid’s pool is perfect for little ones. Activities happening all the time and all the staff are fantastic at getting you involved without being pushy. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant are lovely and always found loads to eat. My two year old loved the I5live shows and is super excited about returning again in May 2013.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    474
    147
    39
    19
See reviews for
1,109
216
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at the Aliathlon for 2 weeks in September and this is just a amazing hotel if you have children. Check in was nice and quick and the staff were very friendly. Hotel it's self is nice and big with a variety of swimming pools (whether you want kids pool, loud pool, adults only, quite pool) e visited the all and they were all lovely for different reasons. The kids splash pool is massive and has loads of different things to keep the children entertained. We used the kids club.. What I liked especially about this is all the staff were English and trained in child care so I felt comfortable leaving my sons. They were always doing something different with the kids so for 2 hours a day they would get out of the sun have some fun and we could relax.. Perfect. The food is nice and varied, once a week they had a BBQ around the main pool and this was lovely... Great touch. The evening entertainment is quite bad... But this wouldn't put me off returning again as the resort itself is worth returning for. We were told it was about 20 mins walk to the harbour but it took us about 50 mins. But the walk is lovely and all the way along the beach, (or you can catch a bus right outside the hotel). The supermarket which is just in front of the hotel is great and has loads of stuff however this can be quite expensive so make sure you remember everything especially if its baby stuff. Overall fantastic hotel, would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old part which I was a bit worried about because of the reviews.. But don't wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A stay at the Aliathon is superb, far enough from the nightlife 'strip' to be peaceful and close enough to be accessible.

Decor is nice and staff are ultra helpful. I always stop off at the Aliathon on lay overs

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed at the aliathon 4 times first time we stayed we were a large group of 18,June 09 the first year the holiday village opened,half stayed in the older part an rest stayed in holiday village,wasn't a problem,we all had the most fantastic time,direct transfer,not far from airport,apartments an studios in both parts were good quality,clean and spacious,not one of us had a single complaint,food fantastic each an every time we've stayed,entertainment,day an night fine there if u want it but if u wanted a bit of quiet for a chat you could sit around the other bar,staff very friendly and helpful,
We loved it that much that 2009 we returned a group of 11 of us and stayed for a week over new year this was the only year that firstchoice did this,shame really,as yet again fantastic,the new year gala meal was fantastic,we were all looked after very well,an we all stayed at the holiday village end,very chilled out week,
Third visit was for a week in November 2010 we stayed in the older part but we had the biggest most amazing room down there overlooking the pool,two bedrooms two bathrooms,massive lounge,kitchen even had a dishwasher,lovely balcony,food an snacks fantastic,had lovely weather for the week,an as its cooler this time of year it's a nice walk down to the harbour,looked after very well yet again by all,firstchoice reps always about if u need them,
Fourth an last visit was for a week in November 2011,we stayed in the holiday village area,massive ground floor room,big kitchen lounge area,two bedrooms,bathroom,always kept nice an clean,the whole area at the aliathon is a always looked after beautifully,food still fantastic,we had a lot of stormy rainey weather that week so it's always a bit of a pain getting about in the rain but its that time of year,all staff helpful as ever an the firstchoice gang did there best with the weather,we had a delay at the airport,as we turned up 2 go home the staff at the airport decided 2 go on strike,we had a long wait in the airport before being told the problem wouldn't be resolved that night,we were given a sandwich and water while waiting,we then all got transferred 2 hotels for the night,and returned 2 the airport the next day,by this time the problem had been resolved,firstchoice done there best to deal with the problem,and I for 1 though they done a marvellous job,well done,
I hope I will return 2 the aliathon again in the not 2 distant future,it's a really lovely place 2 stay,we stayed at the holiday village turkey an that's not a patch on the aliathon,and would never want a return visit there,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we went as a group back in august 2012 for a friends wedding and I am still gutted to be back 5 months later. it was our kids 1st holiday abroad and boy did they love it. Our apartment was right by the pool so the kids could come and go as they liked. we were hardly out of the pools including one night at 2am after the wedding ( our apologies for any sleep lost) the hotel rightly got us out due to too much noise. apartment was lovely and clean, and the maids were fantastic. the pools were great, we used the same part of the pool and soon turned it into a mini water polo area. when we were not in the pool we were eating and the food was excellent,in fact to keep us all happy for 2 weeks was a great feat and the kids loved going up and choosing their own food. the wedding was fantastic( bit hot to be wearing a suit though) venue was lovely and although the reception was not held at the Aliathon it was still a magical time for Lee and Claire. I cant recommend this hotel highly enough and will go back one day when finances allow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very nice stay, nicely laid out food average, staff very pleasant 3 swimming pools, large restaurant self service.20 min drive from airport, busses very frequent 1 euro 1 way 3 euro any where any bus. Town center approx 2-2.5 miles by bus or along the sea front on promenade

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Based on a recommendation from a colleague, we took our first all-inclusive family holiday here with a 1 year old and a 3 year old.

The resort was superb, having everything required for 2 energetic young kids. The pools were great, we spent our time between the large pool (swimming with armbands and playing with an inflatable tiger) and the kids splash pool (with slides and pirate ships). There was a small park for when they wanted to be out of the water.

The eldest enjoyed a few of the kids events – the Shrek and Chocolate parties in particular still get mentioned! And the staff looking after these were excellent.

The evening entertainment was a little wasted on us as a bit late for the kids, but we did make the start of a couple of shows and these were really well done and thought out.

Food was of a decent quality, plentiful and a wide choice, so much so that we stayed in the main restaurant and didn’t bother with the a la carte ones….

We had a family room which had a separate bedroom for the children, kitchen area (fridge, cooker, microwave) and was located near the splash pool. It was well kitted out (the DVD player and PlayStation were very useful!), spacious and clean.

The first choice reps on site were excellent too – helpful, friendly but not intrusive.

Only a really a couple of downsides:

• Why can’t First Choice put TV / movie screens on the flights as a long (4 to 5 hour) flight for kids? TIP - take a portable DVD player or iPad.
• The reps meeting was too long for our children – why not do 2 different ones, a shorter one for families with young children and the normal one for older families?

And a couple of points / suggestions:

• The beaches nearby are not very good, not a problem if you are happy with the resort but if you want to get out I recommend talking to the reps, they arranged a taxi return to a brilliant beach up the coast (you can get there by bus VERY cheaply and they can sort that too)
• The Pirate Boat trip we went on (again arranged by the reps) was brilliant, both kids loved it, and although a little pricey if well worth it
• Pathos airport is a nightmare – we queued for over 90 mins to drop off our cases, not easy with 2 young children
• There is a shop just outside the resort, it has pretty much everything you could need – food, drink, toiletries, baby stuff, inflatables, clothes etc etc if you need anything

Room Tip: We had a family suite (this seemed to get called different things in different places) but it has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aliathon Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliathon Holiday Village

Address: Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#13 Family Hotel in Paphos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#22 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aliathon Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aliathon Holiday Village in Paphos, Cyprus is an oasis of beauty and tranquillity oriented towards families and couples interested in high quality holidays. The Aliathon Holiday Village comprises of two themed villages, the Aegean and the Fishing Village, set in an estate of 14 hectares, as well as the Aliathon Plaza collection of restaurants and bars. We are very proud of taking care of our guests in an exceptional way and we are the winners of the Gold Choice Award by TUI/First Choice UK for the best Holiday Village in the world in our category. The Aliathon Holiday Village is ideally situated in the resort of Kato Paphos, Cyprus, just 15 minutes from the Paphos International Airport and only 150 meters from the beach. The picturesque fishing harbour and the historical fort of Paphos are within a short stroll from the Aliathon Holiday Village. During your stay at the Aliathon you will be hosted in one of the 287 elegant apartments consisting of studios, one-bedroom and two-bedroom independent apartments designed using traditional Greek island architecture offering a total capacity of about 1000 guests. The rooms include amenities such as air conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, private terraces and balconies, Wi-Fi internet connection and secure parking. The rooms are set among gardens planted with orange, lemon, olive and palm trees, as well as roses, bougainvilleas, lilies and other Cyprus plantings. The Aliathon Holiday Village distinguishes itself in terms of the quality of its recreational and leisure facilities. Guests can swim in four outdoor pools, including the largest pool in Cyprus sized at 3,000 m2, and a mini waterpark (splash pool) featuring a variety of water slides which is always a great hit with the younger visitors. They also have available kids club, creche and Teenagers Club with different activities and animations. The athletic facilities at the Aliathon include two Bowling Green courts, floodlit tennis court, mini-football court, archery range, on site scuba diving, table tennis and game rooms. A unique feature of the hotel is the High Rope Park, the only one in Cyprus--where guests can try their hand at rope climbing and acrobatics, under trained supervision. The Faros Spa offers intense relaxation with a fully-equipped fitness centre that includes a steam bath, sauna, hair salon, three spa treatment rooms and an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi (whirlpool). The Aliathon Holiday Village provides a full range of dining options. The Holiday Village include two restaurants-a main Pantheon Buffet Restaurant and The Karnayio Snack Bar - as well as four pool bars offering a variety of snacks, drinks and cocktails. Three night bars are also available. The Aliathon Plaza located at the front of the Holiday Village and operates four of the best restaurants in Paphos, including the Aegeon Greek Restaurant, the Mezedogonia Cypriot Taverna, the Poco Loco Mexican Cantina and the "Mare e Monti" Italian Restaurant. It also offers two pubs and two bar-clubs where the Aliathon Holiday Village guests and local residents are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Aliathon Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aliathon Holiday Village Hotel Paphos
Aliathon Village Paphos
Holiday Village Aliathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aliathon Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.