We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issues with children in hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coral Bay | P.O. Box 62874, Paphos 8099, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Harlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Issues with children in hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a room with a sunset view. I had previously stayed for 1 night 4 years ago. The hotel does offer a relaxing stay in a lovely location overlooking Coral Bay on both sides of the hotel. Breakfast was nice with a good selection of hot and cold food. The pool area is nice and the beach is just 2 mins away. The rooms too are nice and as what you would expect from a good hotel.

However, what spoilt things was the hotel unable to enforce their policy on no guests under 12 being allowed. On the hotels website under FAQ’s the following is written:
Do you accept children?
Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa is pleased to welcome guests of age 12 and above only.
Clearly this rule does not apply to Russians. During our stay there was a Russian family with 1 child who was clearly under 12. From looking at previous posts this is a regular issue with the hotel allowing under 12’s, as there have been previous complaints on Tripadvisor about the same issues. This was the same Russian family who were given personal attention at breakfast, so I presume they are clearly important to be allowed children at the hotel. I specifically choose the Thalassa as it is a Spa hotel and no children are allowed, I do not know why the hotel management are incapable of upholding their own policies. There are so many other hotels in Coral Bay that welcome children such as the Coral Bay next door. On checkout I did raise this with reception who could not give me any explanation and I also asked if this Russian family with the children were the owners or important that they feel they could break the rules. I was told they were not, so cannot understand why the hotel allowed them to have children with them. After all, this is not just a one off event, as other guests have complained about it in the past. I left a comment card asking that the general manager contact me with an explanation. After 1 week I have not heard anything back which is poor. This situation is not really good enough for a 5 star hotel, regardless of whether you are English or Russian no children means no children. 5 years ago I asked if I could bring my child to the hotel and was firmly told no. Clearly this is not the case anymore.

Overall, the hotel itself is nice but I would not return again unless I knew the hotel was upholding their policy on children. I await an explanation from the general manager.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Richard,

We have read your review and would firstly like to thank you for once again choosing Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa and for sharing how lovely the hotel and its location is with others.

We would like to reassure you that we do not give special treatment to specific nationalities and the hotel aims to look after and meet the needs and preferences of all guests. We do understand your comments regarding the age policy of the hotel and these have been forwarded accordingly. Do note that previous comments regarding this issue was during our winter season when the sister family hotel closed unexpectedly and a very small number of guests with families had to be accommodated else where for a small period.

We hope that overall this did not affect your holiday with us and in Cyprus and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    56
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
18
212
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is nice luxurious and clean with perfect view. The breakfast is average to poor as to variety. The room was clean. It had mini bar and coffee making facilities. But they offer you an opened coffee box used most probably by the clients before. Unacceptable. Also the hair drier should be branded. The room service unlocked out room door without permission! Apart from these the hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa and we are pleased that you found the hotel luxurious and clean as cleanliness is a vital factor for us.

The buffet breakfast offers guests a choice of over 10 hot items and there are additional items that are available on request such as Eggs Benedict, further more the buffet has a wide choice of fresh seasonal fruit, 3-4 types of breads and cold items include a selection of cerials, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt and smoked salon, however we are always open to suggestions and would be happy for you to suggest other items that you would have liked to see at the buffet breakfast.

Indeed the rooms and suites offers a filter coffee machine and we like to ensure that guests are able to have a constant supply of coffee for their machines thus larger containers are provided in all rooms which of course means that these are only replaced once empty. Sorry to hear that room service entered your room without permission this will be looked into.

We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel and we do hope that you will choose us again when staying in Paphos again.

Kind regards,


Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

One of the best hotel in Paphos. the hotel is suitable for couples without children. Located between two beaches and not far from the city centre (30 min by bus). the hotel has a very relaxing atmosphere, very quiet and comfortable. the restaurant is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We feel honored that you call us "one of the Best hotels in Paphos", it gives us great pleasure to know that you loved your stay with us.

We thank you for sharing this with others on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,

Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are mid way through a super holiday at the Thalassa... The staff are extremely friendly and helpful...nothing is too much trouble, even though they have been hugely busy accommodating a contingent of French soldiers on their way home after serving in Afghanistan. What a wonderful way to end their tour of duty. The soldiers were very polite and respectful to the rest of the hotel guests.. They left for home today and I for one will miss them!

We have an attractive sunset facing room on the 7th floor with a large and very comfortable bed... The room is scrupulously clean and very quiet... The shower is particularly powerful and the rest of the room and bathroom amenities first class...

We came on a half board basis and the food has been particularly good... We have and will eat most evenings in the hotel but are also able to use the half board facility for lunch, enabling us to pop out for supper elsewhere should we so wish.

Many of the people we have spoken with return time and again to the Thalassa (always a good sign) and I suspect we will be here again later in the year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Katie,

We are in receipt of your review and are delighted to hear that you are having a wonderful stay at Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa.

Cuisine is one of the main focuses at the hotel so it is very important for us to hear that you are enjoying all your meals and are very happy with the Half Board set up which allows guests flexibility.

All rooms and suite at the hotel offers stunning views but to be on the 7th floor is of course all the more magical. It is pleasing to know that cleanliness and facilities are top class.

We wish you an enjoyable stay and thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Kind regards,

Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We regularly stay in 5* hotels and try to choose those that are members of small luxury hotels to have guaranteed quality and excellent level of service. It is our first stay at Thalassa.

Food is excellent and some of staff members are excellent by being friendly and helpful others are rude and complete lack of care about their customers, doing upset faces when you ask them for simple things such as milk for coffee.

We have been upgraded to the suite on our arrival, but the quality of room is definitely not suite. It has been connected to another room giving extra space and second bathroom.

Conference is being held for the next 3 days with large number of attendees who although have been allocated seafood restaurant for their inclusive use they use swimming pool in the morning and occupying sofas areas and smoke lots of cigarettes around the non smokers genuine hotel guests.

If we would only been told on reservation that the conference will take place ...

We are staying 6 full days so 3 days out of our holiday is a lot for compromising peace and rest we expected from this holiday.

Overall hotel is not bad but the fact is advertised as 5* and SLH is very very wrong. If we would like to stay in 3 star hotel we would book different hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your review please note that Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa take their Small Luxury Hotel's of the World membership very seriously.

The One bedroom suite that you were upgraded to offers a bedroom, separate lounge with two bathrooms "one for him and one for her". This room is double the size of the room you requested, we do have rooms that our more spacious and luxurious details which may be found on our web site should this interest you. We are delighted that you enjoyed the meals at the hotel and do thank you for sharing this.

Indeed at the moment we have a conference in the hotel, which means that the hotel is busy, however this is the hotel's high season and of course public areas of the hotel such as the swimming pool, lobby and bar terraces are free for all hotel residents to use. We maintain a strict no smoking policy in all indoor areas, any guests that wish to smoke can do so outside which is always the case.

Finally we thank you for bringing certain matters to our attention, all your points have been noted and relevant action taken were needed. Furthermore, the members of our management team have met with you in person as as we want all our guests to enjoy their stay and for Thalassa to be a home away from home.

We hope that you will consider Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa again perhaps in the more quiet hotel season.

Kind regards,


Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel building has little character from the outside although is much improved within, with modern amenities, an attentive and superior staff and all that you might wish for a quiet, relaxing and 'chill out' week's leisure activities. Whilst there was the odd under twelve year old whilst we stayed, their inconvenience was minimal, and mostly irritating that their Russian parents should have ignored the Hotel's guidance. The staff were most accommodating, with a sense of humour, respect and willingness to please that cannot be under under played. Euan, a previous Scot, although now very much Cypriot was a fount of knowledge and with the patience of Jobe. Popi (Penelope) a French Teacher by profession and a delight by vocation when nothing was too challenging. Andreas, in command of his restaurant with George, omnipresent, witty, supportive, flexible and, a great fisherman by all his personal accounts, albeit that we never saw the evidence. Then there was Olga and Olga, Flora and Valeria, waiting on table and dealing with every peculiar need and with decorum and style. Finally, just in case one could ever dream of being bored, there was the occasional Russian who considered it appropriate to bring his IPad into the 5* restaurant to watch a Russian soccer game on TV - please Thalassa, review and revise your policies and ask for no shorts in the restaurant and no football! Overall, a delightful hotel and even more so the staff - by the time we left, they felt like family....... and the right sort of family. We will be back.

Room Tip: Be prepared for an honest and worthwhile upgrade to a suite and take the sunset side - much the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Andy,

Thank you for your delightful review of Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa and for sharing your stay with others on TripAdvisor.

Indeed from the outside Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa is a gift wrapped box that promises many pleasant surprises once opened! Thank you for your kind comments for each of the members of our team and we will be sure to pass these onto them.

Guest comments are very important to us and we will take your suggestions into consideration and action.

Thank you again for your time and interest and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,


Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Thalassa is a very good 5 star Spa hotel bit it has a superb restaurant and a hidden treasure of a small, exclusive Beach Bar, open to non-guests of the hotel.

The food is beautifully prepared, good sized delicious portions of fresh fish and seafood. A good selection of wines, and desserts to die for......

With excellent service by a professional staff....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeptosCalypsoHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Department at Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are delighted that you have discovered Ipokampos the Beach Bar of Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa which is indeed a perfect choice during the summer months.

Located steps away from the natural sandy beach of Coral Bay and serving a selection of delicious dishes and refreshments. All of Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa's facilities such as restaurants, bars and spa is open to non resident guests, please try our other restaurants and we would love to hear your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to write about our Beach Bar facilities and we look forward to seeing you regularly over the next few months.

Wishing you a lovely summer.

Kind regards,

Group Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Coral Bay | P.O. Box 62874, Paphos 8099, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#11 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#38 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa. A definitive landmark among Europe’s finest Hotels and a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the world, Thalassa is distinguished as the ultimate destination for an intimate, luxurious escape immersed in relaxation and rejuvenation. Location: Quietly nestled on the Maa Peninsula, an ancient Greek archeological site and surrounded by the crystal waters of the Mediterranean, Thalassa overlooks the beautiful golden beach of the Coral Bay where the radiance of the setting sun has mesmerized guests with majestic beauty and tranquility. The property borders the Akamas National Park, an area of outstanding natural beauty, and ecological significance, which is protected by UNESCO and also encompasses the endangered turtle breeding site of Lara Bay. Lobby: The moment one enters the gracefully designed Lobby with breathtaking views, the mood set for a never to be forgotten experience. The Sunset Lounge: Enjoy light fare, or traditional afternoon tea amid the splendor of a lovely sitting room atmosphere in our Sunset Lounge. Gaze past the balcony doors and enjoy the sun setting over the colorful horizon. Accommodation: All guests are pampered and offered personalized service from attentive staff in beautifully designed elegant accommodations, all with sea view. Every room is as chic as it appears and includes; full marble bathroom, certain suites even include Whirlpools and personal saunas, lavish bathroom amenities, balcony, IDD cordless telephone set, internet access, satellite TV, Hi FI- DVD system, mini bar, and electronic safe to name a few. The deluxe one-bedroom suite goes as far as to offer his & hers bathrooms with his & hers exclusive amenities. Anagenisis Spa (Salus per Aquam – Healing Through Water): Anagenisis Spa at Thalassa is the first holistic spa in Cyprus. The spa features an array of signature treatments inspired by the four corners of the earth and from the past of ancient Greece. The spa reflects our philosophy of complete serenity and relaxation while highly qualified therapists offer personalized service focusing on the guests' individual wants and needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Boutique Hotel And Spa
Thalassa Boutique Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Resort Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.