We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coral Bay | P.O. Box 62874, Paphos 8099, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 95 hotels in Paphos
north england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

absolutely great - a haven of peace & tranquility. Although compact the hotel offers luxury, calmness and elegance. Nothing was too much for the lovely multi lingual staff who wait on your every move. Rooms were spacious, extremely clean, huge beds, fruit, all balconies with beautiful sea views, free internet cafe, free dvd's to watch, wonderful breakfasts and fantastic spa pampering with inside pool & well equipped gym. We didn't use the restaurant or fish restaurant, preferring to go further afield but the beach bar was useful for mid day snacks.If you are looking for a peaceful break to chill out this is for you. We hired a car but didn't really use it however there is an excellent bus service along the coast and also a well stocked supermarket about 2 minutes walk away. Coral Bay beach is busy, noisy and disappointing but walk the opposite way along the beach to find a tiny marina, a quiet beach and then a lovely coastal walk with rugged terrain.

  • Liked — high standard of decor, cleanliness & service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    43
    24
    9
    11
See reviews for
18
176
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ramamt Hasharon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

My wife and myself just returned from our honeymoon at the Thalassa hotel and we had the best experience ever. I have been travelling for many years around the world and this hotel had the best service I have ever encoutered. It made our stay and honeymoon a great experience.

Ronnie Jaegermann
Israel

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

We have just returned from a week spent at this lovely hotel. Everything about it was excellent and met or exceeded our expectations.

We arrived at about 10 pm. We were met on arrival with a welcome drink whilst we booked in, and were asked if we wished to eat in the restaurant as it shut at 10.30 pm but they would keep it open for us if we wished. As we were on half board we chose to eat there, and the staff were quite happy to accommodate us.

Our room was on the top floor. The hotel is on a small penisula and all rooms overlook the sea. Rooms are either sunrise - with the morning sun and a view over the pool and then the beach, or sunset with the afternoon sun and a view over tennis court /car park and then the beach - you can also see the sister hotel (the Coral Beach) from this side. We had a sunrise room. I think our view was a bit better but then it would have been nice to have the sun in the afternoon/evening. I would have been happy with either room.

We had a standard double room. It was a good size with a massive bed, two chairs and table, TV/DVD/CD player, tea and coffee making facilitiies, mini bar etc. The bathroom was marble with lovely Korres toiletries. We had a good balcony with teak chairs (with cushions) and a coffee table. Bathrobes were provided as well as slippers.

The room was serviced twice a day, morning and evening.

The meals were good. Continental breakfast could be served in your room at no extra cost, or you could have a cooked (mostly buffet ) breakfast in the Ambrosia restaurant. We chose to eat on the terrace every morning. Nothing was too much trouble - the staff anticipated your every need. You could serve yourself or they would fetch whatever you wanted for you. Scrambled eggs were available at the hot buffet, but if you wanted your eggs any other way (eg an omelette) you could order from the kitchen.

We also ate in the Ambrosia restaurant in the evening and again the food and service were excellent although the menu was a bit limited as I don't eat fish! But the kitchen were happy to serve me any of the meals without the fish - eg I had pasta with tomato and basil sauce with cheese instead of with fish.

There is a lovely pool outside with sunloungers and an attentive pool boy - as soon as he saw us appearing he would rush and get sunlounger cushions, towels etc and turn the loungers to face the sun for us. The weather was good by British standards but not by Cyprus standards so the loungers weren't set out all the time.

There is also an indoor pool with loungers, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, and a small gym. We didn't sample the spa (too expensive) but it looked nice.

The hotel 'beach' is not suitable for swimming from - there are rocks - but walk another 100m and you come to public beaches with loungers, parasols, beach bars etc and activities like jet skis, banana boats, pedaloes etc.

The hotel is situated in a quieter area 20 km away from Paphos. There is another sister hotel next door (Coral Beach) which is large but still looked nice, and an apartment hotel a bit further along. There is a small supermarket, pub, ice cream parlour and spaghetti/pizzeria opposite the Coral Beach and the bus stop is also there. Coral Beach resort with more shops, clubs etc is 10-15 minutes walk away. It is much busier.

We caught the bus into Paphos a couple of times - the harbour area is nice but very touristy. The buses are every 15/20 minutes and it cost 1.40 euros one way. However the hotel was so lovely we spent most of our time there.

All in all a wonderful luxury five star hotel - we are already planning to go back there next year.

  • Liked — The excellent service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Fantastic luxury small hotel with excellent facilities and staff who could not be more attentive. Superb rooms, balconies & loungers the most comfortable ever! Dining experience a bit rich for every night so was glad we did B&B option. Surrounding area a bit too British with sports bars & english breakfasts on every corner so a car is needed to look for the " real Cyprus". If you work hard and want a real pampering break. Book this one.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

wanted a week getaway with daughter, adults only and wanted spa. the hotel is lovely, pool wonderful and poolboy brilliant always helpful and looked after us well, towels changed twice daily if needed, pool waiters were great although couple day had different ones and had to keep going to bar for juices etc.... food ok not 5* and quite repetative, the fish restaurant isnt worth the money, infact the prices for drinks are way over the top, we had 2 bottles water daily and our bar bill was horrendous along with iced baileys coffee which was amazing!!!!! by pool. the room was a suite although was two rooms with doorway made through, 2 bathrooms, the towels were like sandpaper, we had pool view which was lovely, and the bar area at night was candlelite which was great and relaxing. a very chilled out place, the spa treatments were great we had whole package and loved it. I would go again but just watch bar tab!!!!!! I do feel rating should be changed to 4*.

  • Liked — pool and chiiled atmosphere no kids!!!!!
  • Disliked — prices over the top
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

Staying at the Thalassa Boutique hotel was a great experience. It is situated in a great location and in our case we had a room on the top floor at the southern end of the building with a view of some wonderful sunsets. Stavros, the Cypriot with an English accent, was always attentive and anxious to please. The room was clean and bright and there was a good sized balcony. I have a couple of complaints though - there were no cushions on the wooden chairs on the balcony for our room and secondly there was a musty smell in the room emanating from the bathroom, probably from mildew. The location was close to Coral Bay village where there were a number of good value restaurants. Unfortunately I cannot recommend eating in the hotel restaurant. We did this one night and found it expensive and the food mediocre. We had a car but there was a good bus service from close to the hotel with good access to Paphos town and the habour at Kato Paphos. Geerally we were very pleased with our experience.

  • Liked — Location, staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Musty smell in room, restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

We booked this hotel for the last week of our honeymoon having toured around Europe and stayed in some fabulous hotels for the first two weeks. The hotel staff were all lovely and keen to make our stay enjoyable unfortunately the location was poor. The beach is dirty and crowded and the party boats are not conducive with a honeymoon! If you like good food local food you will be disappointed. We walked to the local restaurants described as 'the strip' there was nothing local about them! Plenty of neon and karaoke if you’re into that kind of thing and unfortunately there is nowhere else to eat except the hotel restaurant. The spa facilities were very nice but not really adequate to warrant the description of 'spa hotel' we were told that they could not fit us in for a massage for four days!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Coral Bay | P.O. Box 62874, Paphos 8099, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#20 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#36 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa. A definitive landmark among Europe’s finest Hotels and a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the world, Thalassa is distinguished as the ultimate destination for an intimate, luxurious escape immersed in relaxation and rejuvenation. Location: Quietly nestled on the Maa Peninsula, an ancient Greek archeological site and surrounded by the crystal waters of the Mediterranean, Thalassa overlooks the beautiful golden beach of the Coral Bay where the radiance of the setting sun has mesmerized guests with majestic beauty and tranquility. The property borders the Akamas National Park, an area of outstanding natural beauty, and ecological significance, which is protected by UNESCO and also encompasses the endangered turtle breeding site of Lara Bay. Lobby: The moment one enters the gracefully designed Lobby with breathtaking views, the mood set for a never to be forgotten experience. The Sunset Lounge: Enjoy light fare, or traditional afternoon tea amid the splendor of a lovely sitting room atmosphere in our Sunset Lounge. Gaze past the balcony doors and enjoy the sun setting over the colorful horizon. Accommodation: All guests are pampered and offered personalized service from attentive staff in beautifully designed elegant accommodations, all with sea view. Every room is as chic as it appears and includes; full marble bathroom, certain suites even include Whirlpools and personal saunas, lavish bathroom amenities, balcony, IDD cordless telephone set, internet access, satellite TV, Hi FI- DVD system, mini bar, and electronic safe to name a few. The deluxe one-bedroom suite goes as far as to offer his & hers bathrooms with his & hers exclusive amenities. Anagenisis Spa (Salus per Aquam – Healing Through Water): Anagenisis Spa at Thalassa is the first holistic spa in Cyprus. The spa features an array of signature treatments inspired by the four corners of the earth and from the past of ancient Greece. The spa reflects our philosophy of complete serenity and relaxation while highly qualified therapists offer personalized service focusing on the guests' individual wants and needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Boutique Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Boutique Hotel And Spa
Thalassa Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Resort Paphos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Thalassa Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.