We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment considering the other reviews! NOT A 4 STAR!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avlida Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avlida Hotel to your Saves list
Avlida Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tombs of Kings Rd, Paphos 60257, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Big disappointment considering the other reviews! NOT A 4 STAR!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Let me first start off by saying considering the other reviews on this site I had big expectations of this hotel. I expect some stroppy response to the criticism I give, having read all the other reviews and attacks on the guests who deem it anything but perfect!

This hotel has such potential but sadly does not live up to its so called 4 star......it is a 3 at best. Like other reviews the rooms are pretty basic with dated decor. The pool is awesome, however none of the water features were switched on as it was the beginning of the season and it seems you do not get the full experience if you go then! The staff at the bar and reception are fantastic, very polite and helpful. The entertainment guy was absolutely fantastic. The management however are a completely different story. We stayed for a week in April.

We arrived early hours of the morning and were immediately greeted with the massive road works outside the resort and all the way along the road.....it would have been nice to have been informed of this before. All the businesses along the road were closed as a result with a few exceptions. The receptionist gave us a roll and a carton of orange juice on our arrival (news flash Avlida after people travel they are thirsty and would like water!) and then explained that if we wanted wifi in our room it was 10 euros for the week (what we didn't know was this was per person as only one person can log in at a time! - I pay less than that for a whole month at home!) there was free wifi in the reception, however this regularly dropped out and gave no reception. If we wanted the mini bar in the room it was extra - I think they wanted 3 euros a day for this....even the fridge in the room was not on so you couldn't even keep your water cool - which by the way they do not provide, as an all inclusive you would expect water to be provided! We got to our room which we paid extra for a sea view....we got a view of the road works and the esso petrol station, however the beds in that room were comfy and the room was clean. The shower was luke warm. The air con was working fine. The next day we went to reception and asked to move rooms as we paid extra for a nice view but didn't have it. The receptionist was very helpful and moved us straight away....we had to wait for the room to be made up but within the hour it was all sorted. We went to the new room where we faced the pool and could see the sea over the top of some of the nearby buildings. The beds in this room were much harder and could do with being replaced. It was clean however and again the shower was luke warm. The air con we put on worked for about half an hour before the unit started making a noise and then stopped working all together. We went back to reception and informed them the air con was broken and the receptionist said she would get maintenance on it. Later on that day we went back to the room and discovered the air con was still broken. We rang down to the reception where they said they would send up maintenance. A man turned up shortly after that who was extremely rude.....he informed us that due to it being winter for them they have switched it off and it was due a refurb! He did however say that he would provide us a fan. Despite it being their winter I might add that it was in the mid twenties most days. We were a bit disappointed with this however the fan was brought up. My friend went down to reception to speak to the manager (who we later found out was the owners son) who was very rude to her and made her feel like she was a stupid woman! There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room and you have to pay extra for that.....(everything is extra at this hotel which you do not expect from a 4 star all inclusive!) The maintenance man put the fan on the luggage table which over night fell over and broke. We reported this to reception the next day. As we were doing so we were approached by the female manager who asked to have a word. We sat down and she asked us to express our issues. She took notes and tried to help. We explained we were disappointed with the service so far and the tea and coffee and the wifi.....she gave us free tea and coffee for the rest of the week and gave us another wifi code so we could both go on the internet. She did however explain that the air con was switched off and would not be switched back on as it was their winter and some people might get cold (there are individual controls in each room!). We did explain that it was the mid twenties and most of the guests were British and that that is our summer. We also expressed that the air con worked in the other room. However she wouldn't budge on that one. Off we went.

We spent most days by the pool which was lovely....the weather was glorious and warm. The cocktails were very sweet made with squash instead of juice. The bar staff were very good. There is only 1 restaurant.....not 2.....what they do is for lunch they put out the buffet in the pool area and count that as the second restaurant......its not! There is 1. The next day we went to our spot by the pool and the female manager came over again with a look of thunder on her face.....she came up to us and asked us to leave the hotel!!! My jaw literally dropped to the floor. I have never experienced such poor customer service. She was very aggressive and angry. She informed us that she had had reports from her staff that we were still unhappy.....actually other people had complained to the staff and they had reported it back to her and we got the blame! We explained that complaining about a few items did not warrant being asked to leave the hotel and that that was very bad customer service. Both my friend and I are in management roles and do not expect to be treated with such disrespect. The manager eventually calmed down and explained that it was low season and things were not as they would be in high season.

So all in all a pretty poor experience! I told the manager that we would not be leaving, we had paid for our week and why should leave for complaining! We also had some friends coming on the following day who reside on the island. That night however the owner arrived and was in the bar when we were there. Some of the lovely people we met there were talking to us and one was a little upset about something and was telling us (completely nothing to do with the hotel!) and the barman pointed at us whilst talking to the owner who was looking at me and my friend. This was very intimidating. The owner then came over on the pretense of cleaning some glasses to listen to what we were saying. VERY INTIMIDATING! I cant help but feel that if we had a man in our party this would not have happened! And being an independent woman this did not sit well with me.

My friends arrived and things seemed to settle down....thankfully. In the end all we wanted was to be left alone. I also felt quite relieved that my friends had a guy in their party.

The food was pretty good most of the time. Although towards the end of the week it deteriorated as it got busier, it seemed as though the quality of the food dropped with the increase in clientele almost like the kitchen could not cope, we went from home made soup to packet made which you could taste. The Cypriot night was by far the best. They did great calamari which was delicious. I will however say that they had pork chops on the menu every day lunch and dinner.....roast joints every day....I wanted to taste more Cypriot food and was a little disappointed at the lack of variety. The breakfast was ok, full fat boy breakfast available but the sausages were like mini frankfurters....pancakes on only one day. Some more fresh fruit would have been nice as well as a bigger variety of baked goods....the bread they put out was very dry every day. It would be a big improvement if they had an area where you could help yourself to tea coffee and cold drinks throughout the day rather than have to ask the bar all the time, particularly for water. My friend got told off for filling up her water bottle in the restaurant, that said we saw the owner washing his hands in the water dispenser....yes washing his hands! (EWWW!)

Not the relaxing holiday I wanted. Not 4 star. Very disappointing. Would not stay again. The hotel is known locally as a 2 - 3 star and not the 4 star it advertises. I look forward to the condescending and aggressive response from the management!

Room Tip: Beware of the roadworks view! Go for the pool room view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    39
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
52
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Among standards in Cyprus the hotel is quite good. Not the best location but fair prices. Service and food can be better but still acceptable. Nice swimming pool. Staff is quite helpful (if speak english) rooms also ok. We were most of the time travelling so we did not spend so much time there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just came back from a few days holidays from the Avlida hotel in Pathos. We liked it very much, I and my friend had a cool small break in the Avlida. Best thing was the drinks and best food was the chinese food night, it was mixed with indian and some Thai also. We saw fire show, very scary, good experience. We had all inclusive and used it to 100% all day and all night. No regrets. Only problem was with wifi in room, it is not free and is 2 euro for each mobile. Management should see this.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel with great staff. Only a few minutes walk to Tomb of the Kings and easy access to the harbour by bus. Our only grouse is the lack of hot water. At the most it was just tepid, Despite reporting this 3 times in the week nothing was done. Apart from this we had a good time here.

Room Tip: sea view rooms have a lovely view of sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First the positives: the staff here are great - really friendly and helpful - Gabriela on reception was lovely and let us use the computer in her office to print off our boarding passes for our return flight. I forget her name, but the tall Russian lady on reception was very helpful on a number of occasions. You can't complain about the value for money, with a good range of food and drink options. We didn't go in peak season so there were lots of sunbeds available and the pool was icy and refreshing. This place is right next to the Tomb of the Kings and easy bus connections are available to Coral Beach and the harbour area of Paphos.

Now the downsides: the rooms are desperately in need of refurbishment. The decor is very early 1990s and it's really not what you want from a modern beachside hotel - think flouncy lamp covers, busy carpets and tired wallpaper. The location isn't the most beautiful, with lots of roadworks out front and surrounded by other blocky buildings. The food varied in quality - Greek style food was the tastiest, but Chinese food night was not good - also I don't want Chinese food when in holiday in Greece! In theory, there is free wifi in public areas, but in reality it didn't always work. We also witnessed the manager of the hotel telling off the staff a few times, which was quite unprofessional and in our opinion uncalled for, as the staff are the best thing about this hotel!

So to summarise, I would say if you're looking for a value for money beach holiday with good service, and not too bothered about your surroundings, go for it. But this hotel could be so much more with a good decor update throughout.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently returned from a 10 day hotel in Cyprus and we stayed in the Avlida Hotel. From start to finish this was a wonderful holiday. The staff on reception from the manager down were so friendly and made us feel like good friends. The hotel had just opened for the season so there were not many guests but they still provided entertainment every night hosted by the wonderful Cosmin. Cosmin worked hard to ensure we all had a great holiday both during the day and on an evening. The Fire show on a Sunday should not be missed. Soteris the barman was very friendly and kept the drinks coming, thank you my friend. The food was good and although it wasn't the biggest buffet there was a good choice and it was always plentiful, the carvery was delicious. There are roadworks outside of the hotel but this did not inconvenience us. It took us about 40 minutes to walk to the harbour but there is a bus stop close to the hotel. It's 1.50 Euros to the harbour. A taxi was 8 Euros. We booked a car for 5 days and saw a lot of the island. We paid 25 Euros a day but we're told it's only 5 pound a day from the airport of course I can't confirm that. We paid a deposit for pool towels which we exchanged everyday and got our money back when we left. Thank you to all of the staff at this clean and hospitable hotel. We can't wait to return xx

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not long ago we went together with my girlfriend in this hotel for a small break, actually less than a week. For the time we were there all things were good for us. We had good food but did not taste the greek night because we had no time. We liked the drinks from the bar, especially at night. Many thanks to animation team, we had a great time. Wish we could stay there more. We stayed only in the hotel because we just wanted to relax, next time maybe we see some of Cyprus as well.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avlida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avlida Hotel

Address: Tombs of Kings Rd, Paphos 60257, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#26 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avlida Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avlida Hotel in Pafos, Cyprus is a four star hotel where you will have a very pleasant holiday. This spacious 200 room hotel has been renovated in 2013. It combines excellent service, comfort, hospitality and luxury providing the perfect setting for an enjoyable holiday. There are many facilities and amenities offered so you need not ever venture far, also a sandy beach is just two minutes walk away (two hundred fifty meters). The archeological site of "Tombs of the Kings" is just opposite the hotel (between the hotel and the sea). Many shops, pubs, bars, restaurants are just next to the hotel. Pafos harbour area with its exciting nightlife featuring many restaurants, pubs, bars, and clubs and the local market are approximately ten minutes walk from the hotel (1.5 Km). The friendly staff will ensure you a warm welcome. The Avlida Hotel Paphos has 200 well-appointed rooms. Located on the Pafos seafront just across the road from the famous Tomb of the Kings, the hotel provides quality resort accommodation at the most competitive prices among 4* hotels in Paphos. Accommodation: Twin & double bedded rooms with bath, shower, WC, individually controlled air conditioning & heating, direct dial telephone, four channel radio, satellite TV, mini bar , hairdryer, balcony with inland, pool view, side sea & sea view. Family rooms with sea view, interconnected rooms and Family studios up to six persons available. Guest Room Amenities: Private balcony with either inland, pool, side sea view or full sea view, private shower, bath & WC, satellite TV, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, individually controlled air-conditioning/heating, Cribs (baby cots) available. Whether you're looking for a relaxing family vacation or you are a business traveler, we are sure our hotel will provide you with everything you need. We offer a wide range of in-hotel facilities: from family dining to checking your email and using the Internet.Our services and facilities are what makes the Avlida Hotel the only choice for the wise traveler. Besides general facilities like reception, souvenir shop, 16 hours room service, safe deposit boxes, laundry service and ironing room, Avlida Hotel offers extensive Leisure & Sports, Conference and Children's facilities.*Reception* Two restaurants* Four Bars - George lounge bar (with daily entertainment including live fire show, karaoke, bingo, live music, fun kazino night and various other types of entertainment), the Terrace bar, our Wooden Cosy bar and the Pool Snack bar* Three Conference rooms with Banqueting facilities. Avlida Hotel we aim to provide entertainment for all our guests, young and old, whatever their preferences may be. For this, we offer the following pleasant facilities, activities and shows:* Extensive lounge area* TV lounge with the latest home cinema showing most of the premiership matches* Safe deposit boxes. Large free shaped outdoor Swimming Pool (330sq.M.) With six waterfalls and Jacuzzi ● Sun terrace (1000 sq.M.) With 100m long water channel (lazy river) and ten waterfalls around it● Large heated * indoor pool (70 sq.M.) Floodlit tennis court ● The Avlida health club with Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam bath, Massage room ● Table tennis ● Games area ● Water sports (available on the beach) ● Diving facilities, booking arrangements for horse riding, golf and mountain bike rentals at hotel.* Sixteen hours Room Service* Air-conditioning* Laundry Service* Ironing room* Satellite TV in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Avlida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avlida Hotel Paphos
Avlida Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avlida Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.