We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, service, ambience and value A1!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avlida Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avlida Hotel to your Saves list
Avlida Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tombs of Kings Rd, Paphos 60257, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Paphos
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Location, service, ambience and value A1!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Very simply a great hotel to stay in. Value for money, clean and tidy, welcoming and helpful staff, top shelf buffet breakfast and dinner, oh and that pool! We couldn't keep the kids away! Above all supremely located. We have stayed at many hotels in Kato Paphos many over promise and under deliver. Avlida - pleasantly surprised! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avlida, Manager at Avlida Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. we are very glad that you found our hotel suitable for your needs and that your children enjoyed it as well. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    149
    89
    104
    110
See reviews for
215
312
36
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Short weekend plus at this hotel we booked off the CTO catalogue as summer was basically and paying for a sea front hotel seemed a bit pointless.

Rooms
Quite large, very clean. The hotel is not renovated but the room equipment is in full working order. Our maid must have been new because she left 2 euro we left for her on the bed, twice. Good views of paphos

Food:
We had breakfast three times there and dinner two (paid extra). The food was very good, variety for breakfast and for dinner we got to have a look at what was on the buffet before deciding to pay for it (we had booked Bed and Breakfast). Not unhappy about our choice either time.

Staff
Polite and gently, smiling always. Bar staff mostly men and restaurant mostly women for some unknown reason. Not many cypriot staff, all spoke english but very few spoke any greek at all. Service was quick enough for drinks. Entertainment run by two russian girls but they told us that there was an english man that stopped work a few days ago. Good show Saturday night.

Location

Excellent location, we had a car but the area is now busy with a lot of restaurants and bars right outside the hotel. Appears to have a bus service at the entrance. A 3 minute drive to the busier harbour and saint antonios street.

various

Must make a special mention about the pool area, it is lovely. it is in the back so can't see it from the street, we have travelled to paphos many times and past this hotel, but we never realised that it was that big stretching to the back.

Generally pretty good considering the price we paid.

Room Tip: towards the back if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avlida, Manager at Avlida Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. we hope that your experience here will lead you to booking another, longer holiday with us next time you will have a break from work.

kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Unfortunately we didn't read the reviews until after we had booked.... We have just returned from a 6 night stay and our experience of the hotel worsened as the week went on. The hotel is situated between Paphos town and Coral Bay - but is too far from either and not part of any community. Some local restaurants are accessible by foot - limited choice especially at the end of the season as this was. Many buildings closed down and/or vacant owing to the greek economy - area looked run down.
We arrived on thurs 25th october and had booked bed and breakfast only. We had a twin room with sea view - but in front of the distant sea was a really busy main road which meant you couldn't sit out because of the traffic noise.
We had air conditioning for 2 nights only - when we asked for it to be sorted the receptionists said they would contact the engineer. However, nothing ever happened and we realised from talking to other guests that the air con had been switched off by the hotel.Sleeping at night was unbearable - and yes, we couldn't open the door because of the traffic noise!
We asked to move to another room and were offered a double with couch which was much bigger and meant more circulation of the warm air. However, the mattress sank in the middle - and I had to sleep on the couch. The reception staff arranged for a replacement mattress to be installed which was more comfy - although we had to pull the bed to the middle of the room to take advantage of the moving warm air.
By this time there were only 30 guests left in the hotel as it was shutting for Winter the day we left.
One delighful guest was a cockroach strolling across the foyer from the sauna into the bar....
Downstairs facilities were spacious and probably attractive in 1985. Lots of choice for breakfast. However, bedrooms were shabby and tired and needed updating, and the beds needed replacing.
One day we heard a loud crash - and one of the hall doors had fallen off its hinges, smashing the glass. We assume no one was hurt.
The staff were all very helpful and pleasant - all that is except the man we assume to be the owner or manager. The day we left we heard him shouting at staff in the kitchen - followed by his massive tantrum which included displays of aggression, crockery smashing, pulling the contents off the tables and leaving a bloodied mess all over the floor. Fortunately it was his blood - which he left for one of the frightened girls to clean up.
This little shop of horrors needs new owners and lots of money. However cheap your deal it is not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avlida, Manager at Avlida Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please note that the exact location of our hotel is available publicly via any travel agent, tour operator and our own hotel website. We are not walking distance from coral bay, nor do we claim to be anywhere. However we are walking distance from paphos town and harbour and have many restaurants and bars along the way to either.

Please note that at the end of October there was no need for airconditioning as the weather was getting quite cold. May I remind you that all evening entertainment took place indoors, so did lunch meals that are normally served by the pool. Most of the guests needed long sleeves and a few guests asked for extra blanckets to sleep at night. The fact that at a later point you state "we had to pull the bed to the middle of the room to take advantage of the moving warm air" leaves readers quite puzzled whether or not you wanted warm air or not.

Please be made aware that our downstairs facilities have been renovated in 2003-04 season, whereas part of the restaurant has been renovated during the winter of 2013.

The incident that you desribe, is a bit exagerrated with all due respect. What happened was that the general manager slipped and fell on a restaurant table that was stacked up with some plates and glasses. I am sure that everyone understands that slitting ones skin with sharp pieces of glass and plates is a painful and agonising experience. He did injur himself and was in pain which we are sure that everyone can understand.

Kind regards,
the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

this hotel was booked through sunsave who stated it was a 4* in my opinion it was only a 2* very poor food choices no fresh fruit except green bananas and tiny apples. Broken tiles surrounded the pool, segregated from all inclusive customers, whilst dining, not recommended

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avlida, Manager at Avlida Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion of Avlida hotel. Unfortunately, you seem to be part of the large group that came to our hotel in late September and October that insisted on not keeping the regulations of our hotel. We simply cannot accept All Inclusive guests “buying” drinks for non-all inclusive guests. The booking terms are very clear about this.

You may not pass your drink to a non all inclusive guest at any point and you may not have more than one drink at a time. The segregation as you so call it was done so that all customers can be served quicker. However your goal was to be drinking for free. Members of your group of friends and possibly yourself as well attempted this numerous times, every day and every night. This was and still is against the conditions of all inclusive bookings. We had tried to talk to members of your group about this, we have had meetings almost every day, only to be met with the reply that you felt like you should be able to help yourselves to drinks because someone from your group was all inclusive. Your persistence did eventually get one of our staff resigning as he could not take the pressure you enforced on him. Your entire group did indeed warn us about posting negative comments on tripadvisor. We thank you for doing this. This has given us the opportunity to explain to readers what the major issue was. We are sure that holidaymakers in their vast majority understand that if two guests pay for all inclusive, only they are entitled to what the package offers, and not their group of friends as well.
We would like to remind you again through this website that there is an option to upgrade to All Inclusive from the hotel reception at very attractive rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Having travelled extensively in Asia, Australasia and Europe this was by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. It is advertised as 4* but in our opinion would struggle to achieve even 2* under current ownership. The hotel requires massive renovation, many of the staff had obviously never heard of customer care as they were rude and unhelpful. By far the worst problem was the food which on numerous occasions was inedible. We were all inclusive for one week but were forced to abandon the hotel dining and at our own expense enjoyed fabulous meals at local restaurants.
The only plus point was a good pool area.

Room Tip: If at all facing pool but AC very noisy, beds uncomfortable and room and en suite in need of urgent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avlida, Manager at Avlida Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest,
It comes as no surprise to us that you have posted this review as you had repeatedly warned us that you and your group would post such reviews if we did not let your friends have dinner with you free of charge every day, including drinks.
Our hotel has booking terms for All Inclusive customers that you did not want to keep, you simply cannot offer other guests that are not all inclusive neither drinks nor food from yourself. Other tourists have paid for this priveledge and booked All Inclusive. After trying this several times you opted to have a few meals with your friends out of the hotel. We do not agree that our staff are unfriendly nor unhelpful, in fact many reviewers on this site would disagree with you. But you persisted on them serving members of your group of friends, non-All inclusive guests and their polite denial was met with argumentative attitude from you.
Despite our best efforts and our most sincere desire to serve you better, our staff still needs to follow the terms under which you booked. We are sorry that this has been a negative factor for you, however we are sure that the majority of tourists understand the booking conditions specify that All Inclusive menu is available only to those who book this, and does not include their group of friends.
Kindest regards,
Avlida Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having just returned from this hotel with my husband I can only confirm the reviews posted already. I have little to add.
The only positive for me is the location of the hotel which is on a busy bus route or a pleasant walk into the harbour so you can escape!!!!
Also the food choice is poor. I am vegetarian and had a disagreement with one of the chefs about the lack of any food for me. However following this I had a meal prepared for me each evening which was very well presented and very tasty. Thank you Chef if you read this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avlida, Manager at Avlida Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your opinion of our hotel. Your opinion of Avlida hotel is shared amongst your group of friends that visited out hotel in late September to early October. You fail to write your main concern and problem which was that yourself and the majority of the members of your group booked either Half Board or Bed and Breakfast and wanted to have All Inclusive meals and drinks which cost more. We were warned about a negative review, but we had to respect the guests that paid for All Inclusive and not allow your friends to pass on to you drinks and meals that you had not paid for.
We thank you for the kind comments to our chef, we have passed on your message. Despite having a separate meal prepared for you every evening which you yourself say was very tasted and well presented, you have opted to give us a bad review in sight of the above factors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I spent a week at this hotel with my friend and although we had a lovely lovely holiday this was due to having eachother only! I don't want to bore you too much so I will just pin point the highlights or should I say lowlights :

- Smells
- Outdated
- Dirty
- BAD BAD Food
- Rude staff
- Poor entertainment

Worst all inclusive holiday I have ever been on!!!!!

The end ......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avlida, Manager at Avlida Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Your non specific comments about the smells, outdated, dirty, bad food and rude staff only lead us to conclude that you are another member of the big group that visited out hotel in late September – October.
You fail to mention anything specific about smells, outdated, dirty and why exactly the food was bad or how the staff were rude. We believe that the reasons for this are that, exactly the same as some reviews before and after yours: Because our staff insisted on enforcing the booking regulations that you agreed to when you make the booking. We cannot accept the passing on of drinks and food from all inclusive customers to non-all inclusive customers. Our staff were in no way rude in explaining this time and time again, and neither was management in any of the numerous meetings we had with members of your group. You have posted this negative review as a realisation of the threat you put forward in almost all of our meetings. You clearly stated that if we do not let you pass on drinks and food to non all inclusive guests as you desired you would of posted a negative review of our hotel. Which you have indeed done. Unfortunately for you a sequence of bad reviews is quite obvious in tripadvisor in which common things are mentioned, all written by members of your group.
Other comments on this website and others are positive and hold highly our staff for its manners as well as our cuisine and hygiene. We would like to inform you that we have regular checks from UK tour operators about certain issues that you address as well as regular checks from government departments, all of which find us to be keeping to the required standards and regulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avlida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avlida Hotel

Address: Tombs of Kings Rd, Paphos 60257, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paphos
#20 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avlida Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avlida Hotel in Pafos, Cyprus is a four star hotel where you will have a very pleasant holiday. This spacious 200 room hotel has been completely renovated and enlarged in 2003. It combines excellent service, comfort, hospitality and luxury providing the perfect setting for an enjoyable holiday. There are many facilities and amenities offered so you need not ever venture far, also a sandy beach is just two minutes walk away (two hundred fifty meters). The archeological site of "Tombs of the Kings" is just opposite the hotel (between the hotel and the sea). Many shops, pubs, bars, restaurants are just next to the hotel. Pafos harbour area with its exciting nightlife featuring many restaurants, pubs, bars, and clubs and the local market are approximately ten minutes walk from the hotel (1.5 km). The friendly staff will ensure you a warm welcome. The Avlida Hotel Paphos has 200 well-appointed rooms. Located on the Pafos seafront just across the road from the famous Tomb of the Kings, the hotel provides quality resort accommodation at the most competitive prices among 4* hotels in Paphos. Accommodation: Twin & double bedded rooms with bath, shower, WC, individually controlled air conditioning & heating, direct dial telephone, four channel radio, satellite TV, mini bar , hairdryer, balcony with inland, pool view, side sea & sea view. Family rooms with sea view, interconnected rooms and Family studios up to six persons available. Guest Room Amenities: Private balcony with either inland, pool, side sea view or full sea view, private shower, bath & WC, satellite TV, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, individually controlled air-conditioning/heating, Cribs (baby cots) available. Whether you're looking for a relaxing family vacation or you are a business traveler, we are sure our hotel will provide you with everything you need. We offer a wide range of in-hotel facilities: from family dining to checking your email and using the Internet.Our services and facilities are what makes the Avlida Hotel the only choice for the wise traveler. Besides general facilities like reception, souvenir shop, 16 hours room service, safe deposit boxes, laundry service and ironing room, Avlida Hotel offers extensive Leisure & Sports, Conference and Children's facilities.*Reception* Two restaurants* Four Bars – George lounge bar (with daily entertainment including live fire show, karaoke, bingo, live music, fun kazino night and various other types of entertainment), the Terrace bar, our Wooden Cosy bar and the Pool Snack bar* Three Conference rooms with Banqueting facilities. Avlida Hotel we aim to provide entertainment for all our guests, young and old, whatever their preferences may be. For this, we offer the following pleasant facilities, activities and shows:* Extensive lounge area* TV lounge with the latest home cinema showing most of the premiership matches* Safe deposit boxes. Large free shaped outdoor Swimming Pool (330sq.m.) with six waterfalls and Jacuzzi ● Sun terrace (1000 sq.m.) with 100m long water channel (lazy river) and ten waterfalls around it● Large heated * indoor pool (70 sq.m.) Floodlit tennis court ● The Avlida health club with Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam bath, Massage room ● Table tennis ● Games area ● Water sports (available on the beach) ● Diving facilities, booking arrangements for horse riding, golf and mountain bike rentals at hotel.* Sixteen hours Room Service* Air-conditioning* Laundry Service* Ironing room* Satellite TV in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avlida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avlida Hotel Paphos
Avlida Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avlida Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.